24" Widescreen CRT (FW900) From Ebay arrived,Comments.

Discussion in 'Displays' started by mathesar, Sep 13, 2005.

  1. Strat_84

    Strat_84 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Nice troll. :LOL:

    Note that if you dig into the specs of the monitor he displays in his signature (Eizo S2433WFS-BK), it's also an "oven" for a LCD (95W), and it gets crushed by a FW900 on almost any aspect except the bulk and power consumption.:p
     
  2. jbltecnicspro

    jbltecnicspro [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,620
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    I know this is probably a troll post, but there is no monitor that does everything better than the FW900. Sorry. Even the highest end displays cannot completely surmount every advantage that CRT can bring to the table. Those areas in which CRT falls behind (in terms of image quality), are so close it's almost negligible.
     
    Stryker7314 and Meeho like this.
  3. 3dfan

    3dfan n00bie

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016

    hi, can you please recommend me a modern monitor with the following features that so far, i have only been able to find in the fw900?



    1. life like realistic motion clarity at any refresh rates and resolutions (no blurry motion) without sacrificing brightness, no double image effect. From 55 to 120hz would be fine for me, ficker would not be a issue to me on the lower refreshes as long as the flicker is like a crt flicker.

    2. no angle viewing distortion image (no glow, no gamma shifting no color distortion)

    4. excellent accurate color quality.

    3. blacks that look like blacks in both dark or iluminated enviroments, at day or night.

    4. optimal latency close to 0ms regardless of the Hz being used (from 55 to 120hz would be fine for me,)

    5. widescreen resolution, like the fw900 at least, which has 22.5 inches viewable area and can do resolutions such 1920 x 1200@ 55 to 96hz, 2560 x 1600@55to 68hz and also that allow me to use lower resolutions such 1680x1050@55 to 109hz 1200x750@ 55 to 144hz or lower without image being blurry scaled

    6. excellent picture quality even on non native resolution (no blurry scaling).

    7. very good clear text and static image quality



    sadly in 2017 after a lot of waiting and researching i cannot seem to find a monitor with all these features in one monitor like the more than a decade old fw900, from my personal testing unfortunatelly not even 144hz modern gaming monitors (and of course working at 144hz) i have seen can produce such realistic motion clarity the fw900 can at even lower refresh rates.

    also i know there are modern monitors that try to mimic crt life like motion clarity using strobing techniques.
    i have only seen one strobing gaming modern monitor working with my eyes with "blur reduction" setting on, but the brightness was so drastically reduced and the image became double while in motion that i found it totally worthelss.

    also from what i have read in the blurbusters site which covers modern strobing monitors, those still have issues such added input lag, others reduced monitor brighntess, others mediocre color quality, others screen glow issues, poor blacks, strobing rate stuck at 100hz, double image effect, more notable flicker than crt, all those non existant issues on the fw900.

    also i see the fw900 can work at 160hz at 1024x640 144hz at 1200x750 and despite those lower resolutions, image does not look so ugly blurry on those resolutions from what i see comparing to modern gaming monitors using lower than native resolutions, the fw900 displays non native resolutions much better that any modern monitor i have seen so you dont feel you are using such low resolutions on the crt as you feel on a modern monitor.



    so if its true that such a complete modern monitor exists, please let me know a model, thanks.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2017
    Stryker7314 and spacediver like this.
  4. Xavious7

    Xavious7 n00bie

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    I have an HP A7217A located in Geneva, NY, been sitting in a closet for over a year. Contact me if you want it, pretty sure it still works. Was working when I used it last. Have a pair of VGA <-> BNC cables, HD fury (1st gen used for ps3), and the WinDAS? connector?, been a while since I've used it. All is free to good home.
     
    Stryker7314, Strat_84, Mumble and 2 others like this.
  5. Mumble

    Mumble [H]Lite

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015

    Yea but can you place speakers next to your monitor:ROFLMAO: , and honestly the only one I knows come close is a $5,000 1920x1200 LAB monitor. even then it still doesnt have some features.
     
    jbltecnicspro likes this.
  6. jbltecnicspro

    jbltecnicspro [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,620
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Noticed my F520's black levels aren't super black at BRIGHT = 50. I have to take it down to 46 now to beat my VA panel. Must be time for the yearly calibration to commence. Yeah, I could probably do it every six months or so like Vito's customers do, but I'm not doing any graphics work with my computer (I'm strictly gaming on it) so white balance accuracy isn't super important. :)
     
  7. ZeosPantera

    ZeosPantera Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    476
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Had no idea this thread was still going. I still own three FW900's (well one SGi) and use the SGi here in my new apartment to play my console fighters. The other two sit in a storage room with their future's uncertain, not started up in 2 years.

    I will have to go back and read if there is any success getting these beasts to run on modern hardware. Ive moved my main PC to a Samsung 40" 4k and while it has its obvious quality limitations compared to the milky color magic of the Sony's.. It has all the real-estate that I need to work. Still want to see that beautiful bastard kick on windows one more time.
     
  8. Strat_84

    Strat_84 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Well, to sum up things quickly, we managed to have a company manufacture a Displayport->VGA adapter good enough to run a 1920x1200@96hz resolution, but they did shit themselves on the production model (quality issue with the displayport connector and/or wires connected to it).

    We're now waiting for a reaction from them.
     
  9. ZeosPantera

    ZeosPantera Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    476
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    That is a far better answer then I was expecting.. Now I get to on-board with the waiting like the rest of you...
     
  10. Strat_84

    Strat_84 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Well, that's the optimistic part. If they're serious enough they'll surely react, but they might as well not react at all.

    In such case, one could buy the faulty adapter and replace the bad part like etienne51 did (that's a solution really fit only for people a bit used to play with electronics and a solder iron), or look/wait for other possibilities.
     
  11. danny_discus

    danny_discus Gawd

    Messages:
    589
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Delock DP adapter inbound either today/tomorrow, I'll keep everyone updated with my results.
     
  12. Derupter

    Derupter [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Me too,jacob.de lost a week just to ship,in the next days i will test two samples.
    For those who don't want to wait there is the USB-C version adapter with the PCI Express card,i wrote all the details on the previous page.
     
  13. jbltecnicspro

    jbltecnicspro [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,620
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    If etienne51 wants, he can contribute to the community by offering a service (for pay of course) to modify the part so that it works correctly?
     
  14. Strat_84

    Strat_84 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    I can't speak for him, but the modification takes some time. I'm pretty sure he has other things to do than chain modifying adapters and sending them all over the world.

    It is much less hassle, and much more affordable to have Delock fix their product themselves. ;)
     
    jbltecnicspro likes this.
  15. danny_discus

    danny_discus Gawd

    Messages:
    589
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Received the DeLOCK 62967 today and am having the same issues as everyone else has had so far. However I was able to mate different DP cable to the board like etienne51 has done and am running 2304x1440 @ 70Hz. Thanks again etienne51 for doing the dirty work on this adapter.

    I don't know if its me but at this resolution it seems to be a lot easier to read text with this adapter but its more than likely me.
     
  16. Derupter

    Derupter [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Well done,max pixel clock?
    Did you connect the GND associated with the 3 data lanes in use like etienne51 did(pin 2-5-16),or only the pin 5 like original design?
    Before the mod,what resolution was stable? (1920x1080 60Hz?)
     
  17. danny_discus

    danny_discus Gawd

    Messages:
    589
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Didn't really attempt a max pixel clock as it was late.

    Nope that was one thing I forgot to mention on the ground. Hooked it back up as designed and it's working great, no extra ground wires.

    Before the mod, if it turned on, was 1280x1024 stable. Anything higher it would either not turn the monitor on or the image would randomly flicker/move vertically.
     
  18. lm92

    lm92 n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017

    Zeos from Z Reviews, I assume? I'd love to see one of those FW900's in a video after this adapter mess is sorted :p

    Off Topic: I'd love to see you review a vintage Marantz amp/receiver, like a 2265B or 2238B!
     
  19. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    I just bought a new laptop, and it has a couple thunderbolt 3 ports. There are thunderbolt 3 docks out there that have VGA ports. Wonder what the pixel clocks are like...
     
  20. Ashratt

    Ashratt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    I really wouldn't get my hopes up. Nowadays VGA is only a mere fallback for old 1024x768 beamers or cheap full hd monitors. Maybe 200mhz pixel clock?
     
  21. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
  22. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    just ordered it. Should arrive on Friday. Will test with my laptop, which has a GTX 1050 Ti.
     
    jbltecnicspro likes this.
  23. Derupter

    Derupter [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    I tested the two adapters bought from jacob.de,first on nvidia 1070,first sample 347 MHz,second sample 345 MHz,both perfectly stable.
    Second test on AMD 7950,the card has only mini DP so i use an adapter between the Delock and the card,here i tested only the second sample and it didn't work correctly past 180 MHz,the prototype here works perfect at 340 MHz.
    On AMD 5850 they work both well but the card with two lanes is limited to 180 MHz because connector is DP 1.1
    Now i need to find why it works so bad with my 7950 when on GTX 1070 it is perfect at 345 MHz,but probably it's the bad connector and the mini DP adapter makes things worse.
    The connector is not that bad,but comparing it to that of the DP cable i have,there is more space between the rows of pins,the row of pins 2 to 20 is too far from the center and in this row there is the second data lane.
    Soon i will try some things and if nothing works i will change only the connector,i don't think the cable has any problems,otherwise it wouldn't work so well on GTX 1070.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  24. igsux3

    igsux3 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Could you please post a link? They were supposed to be available in Poland some time ago but still can't find them in any shop.
     
  25. Derupter

    Derupter [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Use this https://geizhals.eu/1186365303 and choose the shop,jacob.de has good shipping costs out of Germany.
    Are you aware of the problems of this final version?
    Have you read the previous discussions?
    The GTX 1070 of my brother is the only positive result for now (it's a MSI Gaming X),etienne51 has a GTX 1080 and the adapter worked badly with that.
    Three others report with AMD and Nvidia are all negative.
     
  26. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    So my adaptor arrived today. Tried testing it out, but here's the rub. My laptop has onboard Intel HD 630, and an Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti, but apparently it's impossible to get the Nvidia GPU as the primary GPU to control the display.

    So I was limited to using intel's custom resolution stuff, which doesn't work properly at all (for one thing, the vertical front porch, vertical back porch, and vertical sync width don't add up to the total vertical pixels). And it wouldn't reliably make the CRT click when i tried hitting apply.

    However, I was able to get the default resolution of my laptop to show on the CRT (1920x1080 and at 85 hz). When I hit the OSD button on the CRT, it said 85 hz and a horizontal frequency of 96.4 KHz, which if I'm not mistaken corresponds to a pixel clock of 252.9 MHz. The image looked stable and fine.

    So my guess is that this adaptor might actually work. The issue is getting it connected to a thunderbolt / USB-C port through a decent GPU (i.e. not Intel).
     
    jbltecnicspro likes this.
  27. jbltecnicspro

    jbltecnicspro [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,620
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Sounds kind of promising. Dumb question though - are video cards coming out with USB-C and/or thunderbolt?
     
  28. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    just looked into that. This one does.

    But I don't think you need a GPU with USB-C or Thunderbolt 3, just a motherboard that has the port. And you can get add on USB-C cards for regular motherboards, I believe. So it may easier than expected :)
     
  29. Meeho

    Meeho 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,810
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    How to best transport a bare FW900, without a box, in a car? Face/screen down or upside-down?
     
  30. Strat_84

    Strat_84 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    I'd say face down but stick a clean sheet of paper or soft plastic on the bezel to protect the AR film. A little stone laying around might do some damage there when the screen moves.
     
  31. danny_discus

    danny_discus Gawd

    Messages:
    589
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Like strat said face down but I'd put a clean towel down first
     
  32. Meeho

    Meeho 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,810
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Yeah, I have to protect the seats from that beast as well :)
     
  33. Derupter

    Derupter [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Did CRU work with your laptop?

    Did you see my reply on previous page about USB-C adapters?
    With the Sunix card you can connect that adapter wherever you want.
    Motherboards with USB-C in most cases works only in USB mode,sometimes the chip is connected with the Displayport lanes of the integrated GPU,but it will never work for output from your dedicated video card.
    Displayport alternate mode from USB-C works only if the USB chip can access the displayport lanes of your video card,and it is what Sunix and Delock cards do.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2017
  34. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Was gonna try, but then read that CRU only works with Nvidia and AMD GPUs, not Intel. I may try just to see what happens.


    hah, missed that (or more likely, it didn't register since I didn't understand at that time what USB-C is). Just read it now. Looks like we both went down the same rabbit hole, though you somewhat deeper :)

    Nice :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2017
  35. igsux3

    igsux3 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Obviously yes, but after all you were able to achieve stable 343 MHz. You never know if they wouldn't stop shipments or for whatever reason they wouldn't be available. It's better having one that has potential to work correctly rather than having none, especially that they are quite cheap.

    Not that I really need it urgently because 980Ti is most often enough for 1920x1200 that I use, but there is always room to improve (like using DSR).
     
  36. Derupter

    Derupter [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    This is on first page of CRU forum:
    Requirements:
    On some laptop there is the possibility to render a game with the dedicated GPU and output through the integrated one which is connected to the USB-C port,example the Razer Blade,in these cases USB-C adapters works good for output to a CRT.

    Yes 345 MHz and 347 MHz the two samples,but only on GTX 1070,on AMD 7950 only the prototype works good.
    You are right,better to have one or two to fix than nothing,especially considering the low cost.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2017
  37. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    ah missed that too! Ok, I'll try CRU on laptop and report back later
     
  38. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    holy shit, it worked!!!!

    Image looked fine as far as I could tell, and OSD reported 85 hz, 107.1 KHz :D

    1920x1200 @ 85 hz is indeed possible with this adaptor. When I have time, I'll see whether I can get 10 bit LUT precision.
     
  39. Derupter

    Derupter [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Nice,try to see if it goes over 330 MHz,between a stable image and black screen usually there are 2,max 3 MHz and in the middle there is noise.
     
  40. spacediver

    spacediver 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    I'll try 2304x1440 at various refresh rates tomorrow, won't be able to tonight. What do you mean by stable and black screen and 2 or 3 MHz?