2080ti 2080 Ownership Club

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by Comixbooks, Oct 5, 2018.

  1. Gamer237

    Gamer237 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    In with the gang :)
     

    Attached Files:

    sk3tch, Sprayingmango and Dayaks like this.
  2. sk3tch

    sk3tch [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Yeah, builds like yours are why blower cards exist. I see no need for you to do watercooling (nevermind the space that takes) as long as you get some serious air movement going in the case. Perhaps a 120mm fan blowing on your card and an add'l fan helping pull exhaust out by the external slots. Not like you have room to mount them...ha.

    If I were you, I'd seriously consider buying a blower 2080 Ti. Even if they're the jankiest ones. It will help your performance.

    Also, you could get an AIO cooler if you have room and watercool that CPU to add more airflow capability.
     
  3. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,303
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Gsync does not mean any performance hit, the reason why the score are lower than others is because people tend to put a framerate limit at Gsync at or a bit below owner maximun Gsync range to avoid desynchronization issues..
     
    sk3tch likes this.
  4. Diverge

    Diverge Gawd

    Messages:
    537
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    I also started to re-play the Witcher 3 over the weekend, and also noticed the weird random flashes of light. you can see it often in the tavern of the beginning part of the story, where you follow the other guy to the town, and then the tavern. The spot were I saw it often was by the table that the main characters buddy sits at. It's likely related to the sun coming in from the window in that portion of the tavern. If you pan around in that area you'll see it.

    I figured it was just a glitch with the game and the new cards/drivers... and since you're also seeing it, I guess it's safe to assume that is what it is.
     
    Neon01 likes this.
  5. iamjanco

    iamjanco Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    This might help explain some of the artifacts unrelated to normal operation (e.g., like screen tears; normal operation might be considered how the card is actually supposed to process information).
     
  6. Nytegard

    Nytegard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,373
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Well, my cards arrived, and had issues from the start.

    The first time, one of the fans was rattling. I immediately turned it off. I reseated the cards. The second time, nothing displayed. I reseated them once again, and this time things booted (albeit the bottom card wouldn't display anything, only the top card, but the system did notice that there were two cards). I ran TimeSpy, and the system locked up. From that point onward, the system wouldn't display anything if two or more displays were plugged in. I put back my Titan Xps, and everything works fine. Not sure if it's the motherboard or the cards, as when I checked on 3D Mark results, there were only 6 people who had the same processor and video cards, and neither had the same MB nor same video cards.

    AMD 2950x
    Gigabyte Aurous Extreme
    2x 2080TI Founder Editions
     
  7. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    8,005
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001

    The odds of both cards being bad is pretty small. Did you try one card at a time by any chance? I'd do that first to rule out a bad card.

    What kind of PSU are you running?
     
    CoreStoffer and Gamer237 like this.
  8. Nytegard

    Nytegard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,373
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Yes. And both cards had the same issue. If I plugged in more than one display, nothing would display at all. And I also thought it may be a power supply issue, but using an EVGA 1200W, and could understand if both didn't work, but with only one plugged in at a time, that should be more than enough. Like I said, the Titan Xps work fine. But I can't find anyone with the same MB and FE cards. (All 4 displays are filled).
     
  9. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    8,005
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Do they not even show a post screen? Also, do you have a friend that would let you try the cards in his system?
     
  10. Gamer237

    Gamer237 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Sounds like a bad case of bad luck lol. In all honesty try a different mobo.
     
  11. Nytegard

    Nytegard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,373
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    No post screen. Even the one time it worked, it took 45 seconds to just display anything. If I only use 1 display and 1 card, I get the post screen. At the moment, don’t have another system to test with.
     
  12. Gamer237

    Gamer237 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    test both cards one by one, if they post and are stable with the latest drivers its your motherboard.
     
  13. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Stock, Asus Dual, not a bad card. Hit 68C.

    Untitled.png
     
    sk3tch, cybereality and Gamer237 like this.
  14. Gamer237

    Gamer237 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    mpgxsvcd, Dayaks and Maddness like this.
  15. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I am going to put my efforts towards my waterloop ;)

    The benchmark maxed around 103% stock and 1950 Mhz max (avg around 1900).

    If nVidia sent the card two weeks ago when the wife was working until 10PM every night this would have been way easier....
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018
    Maddness and Gamer237 like this.
  16. Gamer237

    Gamer237 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    I have mine running in a loop. Card capped out at 2130 MHz on core and 1000 on memory before benchmark scores started to decrease. Mine is a FE though so maybe that extra 7% of power limit will give you extra Hz.
     
  17. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I am adding some solder to a shunt while I have it apart ... heh... it can run for a few days while I setup the rest of the loop / before I void the warranty.

    Are there any RTX demos? I did a quick search and could not find any.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018
    Gamer237 likes this.
  18. Gamer237

    Gamer237 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Not yet, I think bf5 will be the first RTX enabled game out in the wild. If only square Could patch ffxv with DLSS that would be awesome.
     
    Dayaks likes this.
  19. xorbe

    xorbe [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,023
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    There's some source code I saw from Reddit today.
    https://devblogs.nvidia.com/my-first-ray-tracing-demo/
     
    cybereality likes this.
  20. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018
  21. sk3tch

    sk3tch [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Thanks for posting! Any chance that you uploaded the result online? I'd like to take a look at it in detail. This is good validation that my 5960X @ 4GHz can still hang - I'm not far off of your 2700X mark with my stock non-OC'd 2080 Ti FE.

    Time Spy 1.0 - 12,473
    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4620669
     
  22. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,600
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    The second card shouldn't be used for video out. You have to use only the primary card (you can also use a third non-SLI card or integrated for more monitors). This is normal.

    configuration_options.jpg

    I was getting lock-ups and crashing with 3dmark as well at first. I had to use the MSI Afterburner Beta to set an aggressive fan profile, which appeared to help (it was likely overheating). I also changed my PSU to single rail mode following a post on Reddit. And did a DDU safe mode uninstall and reinstalled latest Nvidia driver. After I did those things, it's been smooth sailing, though I understand the concern of spending this kind of money and not having it work out of box. Also try enabling "Above 4G Decoding" in BIOS options. Not sure if it's needed, but it can't hurt to try.
     
  23. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,600
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    I would remove 1 card, do the DDU safe mode uninstall, install latest Nvidia, and then make sure everything is working with the single card and all your monitors. Then swap out the cards and make sure it's still working. Then try with 2.
     
    Maddness likes this.
  24. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/29209738?

    It tells me I nailing am the power limit even though it's only going up to ~115%. Shunt mod here I come... but yeah, OC'd 5960x should be faster than a 2700x IIRC. I think the GPU has a lower PL than the slider suggests.

    So that was stock offsets (0/0) but max PL and a custom fan curve (100% at 75C).
     
  25. sk3tch

    sk3tch [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Awesome - thank you. This really puts it in perspective: https://www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/4620669/spy/4640126 - even with those small tweaks your card pulled a decent bit harder (5%). I had mine stock/stock. I was worried the 5960X would be a bottleneck but at 3440x1440 I should be good. Not sure if I will bother with the i9 9900K! Maybe wait for the next X series or go team red. Seems like Ryzen is the choice of gamers these days!

    No OC on your 2700X?
     
  26. Nytegard

    Nytegard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,373
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    No, I mean, even before I used the NVLink, I wanted to treat them as separate cards, and it wasn't outputting anything.

    Anyway, I think I just got one bad card. I managed to get another system (my old Intel 5960x), and with both cards, it was constantly blue screening and the system was freezing. It also refused to allow SLI, even though the NVLink was on, and the system recognized both cards.

    And, I also found out the cards refused to even see my display port monitors, and only saw the HDMI port (which was originally used for audio only on my old system). And I wasn't able to successfully reinstall both cards multiple times, nor one card multiple times. The other seems fine though.

    And, solo card:

    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4640336

    SLI:

    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4635094

    Both stock results. 14719 for SLI vs 12466 for single. Middle of the road for the single card against similar systems, which isn't too surprising with zero overclocking, vs absolutely bottom of the results for SLI.

    Ran a few games. Most things seem to be working well, except for The Witcher 3. There's a lot of flickering going on in that game, that didn't exist with the Titan Xp. Hopefully it's just the drivers.
     
    cybereality likes this.
  27. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,600
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    The 5960X was a great chip, I was running that for a while and it still has some life.

    In my case, I decided to swap it out for an 8700K and I've been happy with the switch. Granted, the CPU benchmarks are less, but I think the added clock speed ends up with an improvement in games.

    If you're already overclocked, though, you should be good for now. I never had too much luck with overclocking, so I mostly stick with stock clocks for the greatest stability.
     
  28. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,600
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
  29. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I did not OC the 2700x. They don’t OC well enough to bother.
     
  30. sk3tch

    sk3tch [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,449
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Nice - yeah I went with 4GHz for the 5960X after extensive, extensive stability testing. I could not hit the 4.5GHz/etc. that "others" were able to get but I need maximum stability. 4GHz has been dialed in since 2015.

    I have the upgrade itch but GPUs and monitors have helped that. :)

    Cool - thank you. I see you boost to 4.2Ghz?
     
    cybereality likes this.
  31. Nytegard

    Nytegard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,373
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Not quite sure. Ran time spy extreme https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/29214186? and it never hit more than half the cores being used. Core for core, yours is going to be faster.

    Anyway, only using this one card, the stability seems fine. No crashes, and everything works as expected (at least on stock). And apparently The Witcher issue was resolved switching from SSAO to HBAO+. Now I just need to wait for a replacement card for the broken one.
     
  32. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,600
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Too bad, but it happens. My Titan X Pascal came with artifacts and I had to RMA. Hopefully the replacement will come quick.
     
    Nytegard likes this.
  33. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Briefly hits 4.2. I have a waterblock coming for my cpu since I am setting up the loop for the GPU anyways. I’ve been using the stock cooler which works great except for the highest loads. Throttles back to 4Ghz during the CPU test. The CPU block is more to dump the heat into my pool in the summer than performance reasons tbh.
     
  34. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,952
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    For those of us with 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra pre-orders... they were supposed to ship last week but it looks like they found something up with the hardware and caught it before any made it out the door. They fixed them and they’re supposed to ship next week. Fingers crossed. The wait is killing me. Jacob @ EVGA has been giving a few sparse updates on the EVGA forums.
     
    Maddness, Comixbooks and Dayaks like this.
  35. Neon01

    Neon01 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,023
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Thanks for posting this - that sounds exactly like what I'm experiencing. I also have an small white blob flicking off and on at the upper right hand corner of my inventory screen.

    I did start getting worried when I couldn't get the issue to go away even after reverting to stock clocks, rebooting, and disabling afterburner. Thought maybe I had a defective GPU, but everything else plays fine, so I don't think that's it. I assume you're correct - it seems like a slight driver issue for the Turing cards and TW3. Hopefully they'll get around to fixing it.
     
  36. NukeDukem

    NukeDukem 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,215
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    I too get the flashing in taverns in W3. Definitely something driver related. I'm sure it will be sorted out.
     
    Neon01 and Gamer237 like this.
  37. Gamer237

    Gamer237 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Haven’t tried w3 probably gonna fire it up after work and see what the fuss is all about.
     
  38. mpgxsvcd

    mpgxsvcd n00bie

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Received the Gigabyte 2080 TI OC card from Amazon yesterday. The card is for a computer my son and I built. I lucked out and got the card for $1080 from Amazon because they were late shipping it. Card worked great and seemed to overclock well. For $1080 I think it is well worth the money. My son is gaming at 1440p @ 144 FPS and 4K @ 60 FPS.

    https://pcpartpicker.com/b/bkRJ7P
     
  39. Supraman321

    Supraman321 n00bie

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Here are my two founders edition cards (just installed last night). CPU is a 7900x @4.7Ghz on all cores. Fun stuff, so far, so good.
    A53vvCSptAOQfpkGWcQJX2RDtkJoNU1rMP3caEhKT8HSoZKKcCbda_2mSARY7xFuLnCTXGWCtsqSeKfao=w1986-h1489-no.jpg
     
    sk3tch, Maddness, cybereality and 5 others like this.
  40. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Gawd

    Messages:
    891
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    That kid probably doesn't realize how spoiled he is, lol.