2016 Vizio P Series

illram

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
1,473
That person must have linked to the old rtings review. The updated review notes that 4:4:4 does not work properly, echoing the others here and people in the massive Vizio thread who confirmed it also not working. (The ones who did the test properly, anyway).

It does something close, but not totally. It's weird. It's really too bad because this display checks off a lot of other boxes...FALD, 120hz, ability to do 1440p... on paper it's a great TV monitor. The 4:4:4 thing is annoying. But if you don't notice it, don't sweat it.

From further testing we have concluded that all current Vizio TVs that we have reviewed do not display 4:4:4, but something quite close.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
15
That person must have linked to the old rtings review. The updated review notes that 4:4:4 does not work properly, echoing the others here and people in the massive Vizio thread who confirmed it also not working. (The ones who did the test properly, anyway).

It does something close, but not totally. It's weird. It's really too bad because this display checks off a lot of other boxes...FALD, 120hz, ability to do 1440p... on paper it's a great TV monitor. The 4:4:4 thing is annoying. But if you don't notice it, don't sweat it.
It's a different TV, I was referring to the Macro shots and if they help explain anything.

I did a quick test, and it does not appear to be 4:4:4 but the image does improve a lot over other chroma settings. Curious to see a comparison in real world scenarios now. I see everyone dismisses any excuses about why the images would not work properly but could the color gamut along with chroma subsampling have any chance of effecting the image? Don't think they would lie about something so irrelevant to 99% of the people who would buy this. "From further testing we have concluded that all current Vizio TVs that we have reviewed do not display 4:4:4, but something quite close." They wouldn't source some weird nonstandard color format, so something seems weird here.

Also thought I would mention if I'm running in anything other than 4:4:4 it results in graphic glitches on my cursor when using full screen in gaming.(http://i.imgur.com/qmxJqnm.jpg) Which did not occur with my 290x.

4:4:4 Here's two tests I tried anyways. Tested by just switching chroma subsampling on and off from my phone, which turns on 4:4:4(checked in the nvidia control panel)

Edit: Ruunning latest HDR10 firmware.
 
Last edited:

tntsniper

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
84
I'm wondering if a firmware update will fix this or if this is a hardware limitation. It's really odd that Vizio would state its 4:4:4 and in all reality it's not.
 

tntsniper

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
84
It's a different TV, I was referring to the Macro shots and if they help explain anything.

I did a quick test, and it does not appear to be 4:4:4 but the image does improve a lot over other chroma settings. Curious to see a comparison in real world scenarios now. I see everyone dismisses any excuses about why the images would not work properly but could the color gamut along with chroma subsampling have any chance of effecting the image? Don't think they would lie about something so irrelevant to 99% of the people who would buy this. "From further testing we have concluded that all current Vizio TVs that we have reviewed do not display 4:4:4, but something quite close." They wouldn't source some weird nonstandard color format, so something seems weird here.

Also thought I would mention if I'm running in anything other than 4:4:4 it results in graphic glitches on my cursor when using full screen in gaming.(http://i.imgur.com/qmxJqnm.jpg) Which did not occur with my 290x.

4:4:4 Here's two tests I tried anyways. Tested by just switching chroma subsampling on and off from my phone, which turns on 4:4:4(checked in the nvidia control panel)

Thanks for the tests.. I hope they fix this, I really love my p65. I don't think I'll swap it out either way because it truly is an all around great monitor for the price.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
15
Thanks for the tests.. I hope they fix this, I really love my p65. I don't think I'll swap it out either way because it truly is an all around great monitor for the price.
Same here, I love the TV for the most part and a free tablet didn't hurt either,
 

illram

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
1,473
It's a different TV, I was referring to the Macro shots and if they help explain anything.

I did a quick test, and it does not appear to be 4:4:4 but the image does improve a lot over other chroma settings. Curious to see a comparison in real world scenarios now. I see everyone dismisses any excuses about why the images would not work properly but could the color gamut along with chroma subsampling have any chance of effecting the image? Don't think they would lie about something so irrelevant to 99% of the people who would buy this. "From further testing we have concluded that all current Vizio TVs that we have reviewed do not display 4:4:4, but something quite close." They wouldn't source some weird nonstandard color format, so something seems weird here.

Also thought I would mention if I'm running in anything other than 4:4:4 it results in graphic glitches on my cursor when using full screen in gaming.(http://i.imgur.com/qmxJqnm.jpg) Which did not occur with my 290x.

4:4:4 Here's two tests I tried anyways. Tested by just switching chroma subsampling on and off from my phone, which turns on 4:4:4(checked in the nvidia control panel)

Edit: Ruunning latest HDR10 firmware.

Yes those pics look like the typical P series result, i.e. not 4:4:4.

You can also try this image from Aluminum's post earlier in the thread. Same rule, do not scale the image, i.e. "view actual size." Folks have also confirmed with this image that the Vizio P is not displaying 4:4:4.

I totally forgot about the other test image, it has a clever subpixel layout and a lot easier to quickly check. Be sure to open it in an image viewer at 100% no scaling. I feel like an idiot forgetting this since I've been using madvr for years.

I'd really like to nail down exactly what vizios can do before I decide what to do on my warranty.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
15
Has anyone tried it with a active displayport to hdmi convertor. Thinking about trying it if I can get my hands on one.
 

ForgedReality

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
129
I'm also having issues with my image flickering in and out at 4:4:4 setting on this TV, which iis hopefully just my GPU which is being RMAed soon.

Sounds to me like bandwidth issues. So, not the card, but the cable. I could be wrong though. But if it's not flickering at lower bandwidth settings (4:2:2, 30hz, etc.) then it's probably just a lower capacity cable.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
15
Sounds to me like bandwidth issues. So, not the card, but the cable. I could be wrong though. But if it's not flickering at lower bandwidth settings (4:2:2, 30hz, etc.) then it's probably just a lower capacity cable.
Not the cable, I've tried multiple and the one included with the tv.
 

realworld

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
388
I'm wondering if a firmware update will fix this or if this is a hardware limitation. It's really odd that Vizio would state its 4:4:4 and in all reality it's not.
They said it was due to the chemistry that allow the display to have wide color gamut.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
652
can anyone tell me if the P & M series do real 120hz over HDMI (Not motion smoothing BS, real actual 120hz like an Asus Rog monitor)
 

tntsniper

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
84
Believe it or not, I actually just returned my Vizio P65. It had really bad banding issues and I called vizio and they sent a replacement and assured me they would make sure this one was perfect. The delivery guys stopped yesterday and we turned it on and the one guy said "Wow what's that Shadow in the middle of the screen". This was before I even had a chance to look. My heart sank and BOOM the replacement had it worse. My wife first noticed the banding a week or so ago and once I knew about it I couldn't take my eyes off it. It was a line through the center of the screen. Needless to say, my return period ends in 2 days so I had to take it back. After doing more research, I'm finding this is a common issue on Vizio TV's. I'm tempted to go to a 55" OLED from LG, but may save up a little and go with a 65" LG OLED.
 

kabobi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
271
Believe it or not, I actually just returned my Vizio P65. It had really bad banding issues and I called vizio and they sent a replacement and assured me they would make sure this one was perfect. The delivery guys stopped yesterday and we turned it on and the one guy said "Wow what's that Shadow in the middle of the screen". This was before I even had a chance to look. My heart sank and BOOM the replacement had it worse. My wife first noticed the banding a week or so ago and once I knew about it I couldn't take my eyes off it. It was a line through the center of the screen. Needless to say, my return period ends in 2 days so I had to take it back. After doing more research, I'm finding this is a common issue on Vizio TV's. I'm tempted to go to a 55" OLED from LG, but may save up a little and go with a 65" LG OLED.

Per the AVS thread, the 65" seems to be more often a victim of banding issues compared to the other sizes. You could always try for a third.

I recommend you read the massive thread on the new LG OLEDs on AVS as well. They do have some drawbacks, which depending on your values and usage scenarios, may be dealbreakers for a $4000+ TV. Granted, if I had the money, I would have bought a B6 instead of a P50.
 

Snowknight26

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,386
Thanks to yours truly I am told that the updated scheduled for Q4 is most likely going include software changes to improve 4:4:4 picture quality. Hopefully it'll be perfect after this.
 

MatthewK

n00b
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
48
Thanks to yours truly I am told that the updated scheduled for Q4 is most likely going include software changes to improve 4:4:4 picture quality. Hopefully it'll be perfect after this.

I hope this is true!! I've been talking to them and they still insist there are no 4:4:4 issues. This is the only issue that is preventing me from buying it, I absolutely require 4K@60hz with true 4:4:4 since I'll be using it as a PC monitor and doing various photography work on it (I plan on getting the 55" with the IPS panel). I'll also be using it for web browsing, gaming, and movie watching.
 

ForgedReality

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
129
I hope this is true!! I've been talking to them and they still insist there are no 4:4:4 issues. This is the only issue that is preventing me from buying it, I absolutely require 4K@60hz with true 4:4:4 since I'll be using it as a PC monitor and doing various photography work on it (I plan on getting the 55" with the IPS panel). I'll also be using it for web browsing, gaming, and movie watching.

Never gonna happen. That would mean they'd have to admit to there having been a problem in the first place. Plus, it's a hardware limitation, I can almost guarantee.
 

illram

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2011
Messages
1,473
That's pretty cool that the CTO engages people like that. If all those updates really happen this TVs functionality will be greatly improved for PC use.
 

delita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,815
I hope this is true!! I've been talking to them and they still insist there are no 4:4:4 issues. This is the only issue that is preventing me from buying it, I absolutely require 4K@60hz with true 4:4:4 since I'll be using it as a PC monitor and doing various photography work on it (I plan on getting the 55" with the IPS panel). I'll also be using it for web browsing, gaming, and movie watching.

I have this panel. I love it as my main TV, and if they fix it so that it works @ 4:4:4 as intended it will be a best buy in the TV world right now. The screen itself is amazing, my only complaint with the set was with the SmartCast android device. I would have almost rather had integrated apps in the TV because the android device has caused me so many annoyances.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
2
I have this panel. I love it as my main TV, and if they fix it so that it works @ 4:4:4 as intended it will be a best buy in the TV world right now. The screen itself is amazing, my only complaint with the set was with the SmartCast android device. I would have almost rather had integrated apps in the TV because the android device has caused me so many annoyances.
What kinds of problems? I'm Planning on buying the TV but i have various devices i could use with it. If you are an iphone user I assume you have downoaded the smartcast app for it?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2016
Messages
2
Vizio CTO stated the 4:4:4 issues will be resolved very soon.
Guess he either reread the post or gave up. But it's very cool how the CTO (if really him) is answering questions on AVS. At least it lets people know they are working on it.
 

delita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,815
What kinds of problems? I'm Planning on buying the TV but i have various devices i could use with it. If you are an iphone user I assume you have downoaded the smartcast app for it?
No I used the device the TV comes with, which is an android Smartcast device. It's a lot larger than my iPhone, but sometimes the apps just hang up and crash, minor stuff, but it's annoying because it happens pretty regularly.
 

delita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,815
Guess he either reread the post or gave up. But it's very cool how the CTO (if really him) is answering questions on AVS. At least it lets people know they are working on it.
Did the issues get fixed or no?
 

MrBonk

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
142
I wish they would fix this for their other TVs this year too. Like the other 4k series and the 1080p D series.(Which would be a great recommendation for a 1080p set for those not wanting to jump to 4k just yet. If only it supported 4:4:4)
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
15
I'll have to try to get and get a hold of a decent camera.

Seems that I still get a black screen at random moments when using subsampling though, they're supposed to still be working on it for the next update though.

Seems to be a few problems with other things also so it might be best to wait.
 
Top