2 x SSD SAS drives in homePC

_network

n00b
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
5
Hi All,

I have a idea to upgrade my home dsktop ( i5 , AsRock z97 pro, 16 GB ram ). I know that it will be much too much for that hardware and for my need but I have two unused SSD SAS drives ST800FM0403.

Looking for the SAS controller that allows me to install these two SSDs inside my home PC, and cables for that.

If I buy these :

https://www.broadcom.com/products/storage/raid-controllers/megaraid-sas-9361-8i#overview

should everything be OK and works ?

Thank you for any advice and suggestions :)
 

Blue Fox

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
11,813
You're much better off selling them and buying a consumer SSD. It's not worth buying such a high end HBA for what you're proposing.
 

wareyore

Gawd
Joined
Jan 1, 2014
Messages
581
I have that card. It works great. Should work for your drives as long as you have the right cables.

Enjoy playing with that hardware.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
3,222
You can pick up an IBM M1015 or Dell H200/H310 for $30-40 on ebay and flash it to regular LSI HBA - there are plenty of guides online on how to do this. Combine that with an SFF-8087 to SFF-8482 (should be SAS connectors) breakout cable and you should be golden.
 

_network

n00b
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
5
Hi Guys,

I got card controller from link, first post - the price was good so I bought it.
I have Asrock z87 extreme4 motherboard and when intall Controller card into PCIE , I see code error 15 on motherboard led screen.
only card is installed ( no drives ) . When remove card - everything is fine.

Do you have any idea what is wrong ? some hardware issue ?
 

likeman

Gawd
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
799
Hi Guys,

I got card controller from link, first post - the price was good so I bought it.
I have Asrock z87 extreme4 motherboard and when intall Controller card into PCIE , I see code error 15 on motherboard led screen.
only card is installed ( no drives ) . When remove card - everything is fine.

Do you have any idea what is wrong ? some hardware issue ?

try different slot (make sure optional roms are enabled in bios and disable UEFI mode, set to CMS/Legacy only)
 

zer0gravity

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,104
You can do the "tape" trick to block a pin on the card. IDK if its needed as I have 4x 9361/9460 cards and they work fine.
 

_network

n00b
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
5
likeman

done like you said and still the same.
Secure boot is disabled. CMS set as Legacy only.


zer0gravity

Do you know details what pins should be covered ?
 
Last edited:

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,343
Is the card in the primary PCIe slot, slot 2 or did you put it in 4 or 5? I'd try it in slot 2 first just to make sure it's negotiating PCIe 3.0 x8 like it needs. I've always had good luck with Asrock boards and LSI cards.
 

_network

n00b
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
5
I tested it with all PCIExpress slots . my Mobo has three PCIE - all of them shows the same.
 

cdabc123

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
3,583
They're only SAS-2 6 Gbit/s and his drives are SAS-3 12 Gbit/s.

I cant imagine those drives will ever be able to saturate a 12Gbit/s interface or even a 6Gbit/s interface during home use. the perc should be just fine
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,343
I cant imagine those drives will ever be able to saturate a 12Gbit/s interface or even a 6Gbit/s interface during home use. the perc should be just fine

HP's 12G SAS SSDs are rated for sequential reads of 1000 MB/s, even the value endurance ones. For $2500 a pop, you should get some benefit to moving to SAS 12Gb/s.
 

cdabc123

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
3,583
HP's 12G SAS SSDs are rated for sequential reads of 1000 MB/s, even the value endurance ones. For $2500 a pop, you should get some benefit to moving to SAS 12Gb/s.

I pull right over 1000mb/s on my sad ssds and the controller never really felt like a bottle neck. The only case I would agree would be raid 5/6 where the more powerful controller would be far superior
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,343
I pull right over 1000mb/s on my sad ssds and the controller never really felt like a bottle neck. The only case I would agree would be raid 5/6 where the more powerful controller would be far superior

They're 1000MB/s (8Gb/s) not 1000Mb/s.
 
Top