2 x SSD SAS drives in homePC

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by _network, Sep 8, 2018.

  1. _network

    _network n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Hi All,

    I have a idea to upgrade my home dsktop ( i5 , AsRock z97 pro, 16 GB ram ). I know that it will be much too much for that hardware and for my need but I have two unused SSD SAS drives ST800FM0403.

    Looking for the SAS controller that allows me to install these two SSDs inside my home PC, and cables for that.

    If I buy these :

    https://www.broadcom.com/products/storage/raid-controllers/megaraid-sas-9361-8i#overview

    should everything be OK and works ?

    Thank you for any advice and suggestions :)
     
  2. Blue Fox

    Blue Fox [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,643
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    You're much better off selling them and buying a consumer SSD. It's not worth buying such a high end HBA for what you're proposing.
     
  3. wareyore

    wareyore Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    294
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    I have that card. It works great. Should work for your drives as long as you have the right cables.

    Enjoy playing with that hardware.
     
  4. workingnonstop

    workingnonstop 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    You can pick up an IBM M1015 or Dell H200/H310 for $30-40 on ebay and flash it to regular LSI HBA - there are plenty of guides online on how to do this. Combine that with an SFF-8087 to SFF-8482 (should be SAS connectors) breakout cable and you should be golden.
     
  5. _network

    _network n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Hi Guys,

    I got card controller from link, first post - the price was good so I bought it.
    I have Asrock z87 extreme4 motherboard and when intall Controller card into PCIE , I see code error 15 on motherboard led screen.
    only card is installed ( no drives ) . When remove card - everything is fine.

    Do you have any idea what is wrong ? some hardware issue ?
     
  6. likeman

    likeman Gawd

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    try different slot (make sure optional roms are enabled in bios and disable UEFI mode, set to CMS/Legacy only)
     
  7. zer0gravity

    zer0gravity Gawd

    Messages:
    976
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    You can do the "tape" trick to block a pin on the card. IDK if its needed as I have 4x 9361/9460 cards and they work fine.
     
  8. _network

    _network n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    likeman

    done like you said and still the same.
    Secure boot is disabled. CMS set as Legacy only.


    zer0gravity

    Do you know details what pins should be covered ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2018
  9. _network

    _network n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
  10. rmd3003

    rmd3003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    292
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    +1 here. Sell, and buy consumer SSDs. Why do you need this headache?
     
  11. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,933
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Is the card in the primary PCIe slot, slot 2 or did you put it in 4 or 5? I'd try it in slot 2 first just to make sure it's negotiating PCIe 3.0 x8 like it needs. I've always had good luck with Asrock boards and LSI cards.
     
  12. _network

    _network n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    I tested it with all PCIExpress slots . my Mobo has three PCIE - all of them shows the same.
     
  13. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,933
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    What CPU are you using and are you on the latest bios?
     
  14. cdabc123

    cdabc123 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    a stock dell perc 6i would work and thise are stupid cheap
     
  15. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,933
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    They're only SAS-2 6 Gbit/s and his drives are SAS-3 12 Gbit/s.
     
  16. cdabc123

    cdabc123 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    I cant imagine those drives will ever be able to saturate a 12Gbit/s interface or even a 6Gbit/s interface during home use. the perc should be just fine
     
  17. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,933
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    HP's 12G SAS SSDs are rated for sequential reads of 1000 MB/s, even the value endurance ones. For $2500 a pop, you should get some benefit to moving to SAS 12Gb/s.
     
  18. cdabc123

    cdabc123 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    I pull right over 1000mb/s on my sad ssds and the controller never really felt like a bottle neck. The only case I would agree would be raid 5/6 where the more powerful controller would be far superior
     
  19. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,933
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    They're 1000MB/s (8Gb/s) not 1000Mb/s.