2.4GHz Overclocked to 3.63GHz, And Climbing

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Napalm_Fire, Sep 4, 2004.

  1. PopCorn

    PopCorn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
  2. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Come on dude....push it one more MHz.....I realise that mobo's can tend to round up and/or down and so does CPU-Z and Sandra sometimes.....but 3599 doesn't look NEARLY as cool as 3600. ;)
     
  3. PopCorn

    PopCorn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    lol tough crowd!

    I have a screenie of my FX-53 at nice even, round and exact 2700.0 MHz, would that make you feel better Corny? ;) It's just not quite as sexy as a 1200 MHz overclock though.
     
  4. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    yeah, I know...I'm picky. :p

    Hehe, think you could boot into windows for 5 minutes at 1fsb higher just for the pic? :p

    What kind of cooling you got on that 2.7GHz again? Round numbers like that are much nicer.....there may be next to no difference between 2.69Ghz and 2.7GHz, but 2.69 just ain't the same...I'm sure you feel the same. ;)
     
  5. PopCorn

    PopCorn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Actually, I tried to get it to screen @ 3600 even but it just won't do it, so I said what the heck. I guess it's just the way it rounds out the clock. Honestly, I didn't try for more because at a 1200 MHz overclock and with it stable, that's about as far as I feel comfortable going. It's a sweet chip (payed $168 for it a year ago from newegg) and I want it to be around for a while. :) It's water cooled, BTW.

    As far as my FX goes, I have a Koolance Exos AL Cooling System on it as well, with a 300 series water block. I can screen and do some benching @ 2700, but I wouldn't consider it 24/7 stable. My FX seems to like around 2.65 GHz maximum, if you're talking 24/7 stable in everything. 2700 MHz & up is a harder to achieve without more elaborate cooling methods.

    I have read that some newer FX's are doing a little better but 2.6 - 2.7 seems about average for Water. However, a 2.6 FX is about on par with a 4+ GHz P4, so I really haven't been tempted to push for more yet, as no games have pushed the CPU yet.

    When it starts straining, I'll probably grab a Vapochill LS and go for 3 GHz. :)
     
  6. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    I hear ya bro....I'm really gonna have to consider going to an FX53 once I get my Prometia next month......cus a 3GHz FX would be so much nicer then the 4GHz+ P4 that I'll end up with on the phasechange. :p
     
  7. PopCorn

    PopCorn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Yeah, I've always had Intels but I simply love the FX53/939 Platform. It's my first AMD system and I wasn't sure if I would be like it, but I was really surprised at how well it behaves and performs.

    Regarding your Phase Change system, considering that the A64's probably won't see 3 GHz in a retail box for a while, it's pretty good investment as it will see you through for quite a while. Good luck with your new setup bro, I think you'll really dig it.

    Ok, back on topic, sorry for rambling. Afterall, 1200 MHz overclocked P4's kick much ass as well. =)
     
  8. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Yeah, what I'd really like to do is hit 4.4GHz with my 3.2E that I'm picking up.....which would put me at 275fsb 1:1....perfect for some PC4400. Hopefully I'll be able to join the 1.2GHz club with my 3.2E.....not actually that out of reason.
     
  9. PopCorn

    PopCorn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    378
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    That would be a very healthy overclock and give you some nice bandwidth to boot. Good luck!

    Here's the screenie of my FX at a nice even 2700, just for you Corn. =) http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1026676540#post1026676540

    Towards the bottom of the page.
     
  10. chrisf6969

    chrisf6969 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,014
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    *COUGH* thats not a 1Ghz+ OC!! :p

    Get outta here with that wimpy 945Mhz OC! LOL :cool:

    I want an EE (or an FX) damn expensive processors! :(

    Cornholio, did you try benching Q3 wih my settings?
     
  11. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    I haven't yet....but I dont' remember you saying that you disabled sound in your 600fps run....something that isn't usually done in Q3 comparisons.....which is why i was doubtfull. I'll give it a run today though.
     
  12. Tenks

    Tenks n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    hey weld, since I have the same mobo as you, I was trying to find a waterblock to cool the NB, but, there is none that would would fit it. Have you found any? Mine gets pretty hot but I have a 80mm panaflo blowing directly at it. I searched up and down the web, but got nothing... :(
     
  13. chrisf6969

    chrisf6969 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,014
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Well, I use Quake3 as a CPU/memory/FSB benchmark at 640x480 every little memory tweak, extra Mhz, etc.. adds a few fps. SO you can really tell when you system is tweaked to the max. Changing videocards from a 5900nu to 6800GT I got the same 600fps.

    If you dont believe me.... you can come to my house & watch me run it. I live in New Orleans! :) Then after I show you, I might kick your ass for doubting me. lol j/k

    But you really shouldnt cry just b/c my system is faster in Q3 at 640x480. You cant win all the benchmarks.
     
  14. HardOCP News

    HardOCP News [H] News

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969

    [​IMG] *hangs head in shame*
     
  15. HardOCP News

    HardOCP News [H] News

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Don't worry about it bro, on my rig I can get over 600 consistantly with all settings low, everything turned off EXCEPT sound (sound is on) I just turned everything off in options, turned on simple items, cranked everything to low and benched it at the below resolutions:

    I installed Quake3 just for a few benchmarks / screenshots:

    800x600

    [​IMG]


    640x480

    [​IMG]
     
  16. chrisf6969

    chrisf6969 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,014
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Thats the CPU power kicking ass at 4+ Ghz. Still a weak ass 945Mhz OC! :) LOL

    You didnt put it to vertex (and/or 16-bit) huh? b/c thats "cheating" it makes the boards look like ass. I just asked b/c the screen looked a little blurry kinda what vertex looks like.
     
  17. HardOCP News

    HardOCP News [H] News

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969

    Heh...quit clownin' my OC...ya bastard!! (although it is pretty weak comparitively) :D
     
  18. Mankind121

    Mankind121 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    [​IMG]

    my 1.8OC from awhile ago, this was done on air, i only did it this high to run a bench mark and tone it down with that kind of voltage. I still have the CPU sitting right here, maybe one day ill invest in some decent cooling (and faster memory) and see how it can really go
     
  19. WeldZilla

    WeldZilla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    275
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Glad to hear you have a good board to work with. I have not even looked for a NB water block but, I will. Let you know what I find. In the mean time I will just have to be happy with my 1310 MHZ Overclock!!

    WZ
     
  20. Napalm_Fire

    Napalm_Fire [H]Lite

    Messages:
    88
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    you wanna know what sucks now?








    my board died.... Im sending it in for RMA sometime within the next 8 days. grrrr

    Im having that problem where it wont post, no matter what I do to try and fix it.
     
  21. Tenks

    Tenks n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    lmao@ napalm, :D


    sorry bro, just had too

    seriously, how high did u actually go to cause damage?
     
  22. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    No you didn't.....I dunno if you've ever lost/killed a peice of hardware like that, but it sux.....and I personally hate it when ppl laugh about it, even half joking.

    No hard feelings, but it's not something to kid around about.
     
  23. WeldZilla

    WeldZilla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    275
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    For somebody else to post up[ a screenie with at least sandra mem and cpu scores at 3700 and above. I love the view from up here but,it is kinda lonely.

    WZ
     
  24. MemoryInAGarden

    MemoryInAGarden 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,068
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    How did the AGP 8X fix go at 302+ FSB? I might be able to eek it out.
     
  25. Alex41290

    Alex41290 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,570
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    dude...you people have some kick@$$ OCs goin on here...i was wondering, though...

    would it be better (performance wise (as in benchies and games)) to get a 2600-M w/ my soon-2-b watercooling, or should I get a P4?

    I was thinking, for a p4, to get a 2.4 or a 2.8 and see how how i could take that...anybody have any ideas?

    sorry to thread hack, just seemed like it belonged here!

    again, sweet OCs, specially that FX-53, sorry if i missed this, but what are some benchmarks? AM3? 3dmark? i bet its sexy :p
     
  26. Tenks

    Tenks n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Sorry that you feel that way, but after reading and seeing soo much impressive OCs and then finally arriving to your post, it was just amusing, if only briefly. Either way, I found it funny, and I laughed. I even find it funnier when I fried my old MSI board. Good times.
     
  27. Jerunk

    Jerunk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    478
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    He lost the board because he overclocked it.
    On the internet everything is laughable, it's even funny that he's RMA'ing the board although he overclocked it, although I would have done the same thing haha.
     
  28. WeldZilla

    WeldZilla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    275
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    The agp slot was cool to 310fsb At 310 things got a little whack!! I still think it is all a matter of cpu volts and cooling. I was getting hot up that high at 304 everything worked as smooth as stock!! [​IMG]
    http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1289107750
    I ran PCmark04 at 3602mhz. I was just checking stability as I increased clock.
    [​IMG] turned out to be a hell of a score!! I can't tell anyone to run. you will have to decide that for yourself. It has been fun squeezing every drop out of this prossy. I am actually thinking about giving it over to my wife and start trying to break 4300 with a 3.0C chip.
     
  29. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Come on dude.....get that PCMark score up.....with that 1.1GHz overclock and the GT you have the potential to be ahead of me by a bit.....even though I am still clocked higher, your bus makes up for it in PCMark quite a bit. I'm JUST short of 5,800 myself.....and I still wanna hit 6k with this setup.
     
  30. HighwayAssassins

    HighwayAssassins [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,210
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    my voltage is 1.775 on the OC in my sig
     
  31. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Dude, that's a ridiculously high vcore to only get up to 3.2GHz with your CPU.....are you 110% sure that you can't do it with any less? I guess you just got stuck with a bunk overclocker. :p
     
  32. HighwayAssassins

    HighwayAssassins [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,210
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    ive got shit memory too...that may be why
     
  33. WeldZilla

    WeldZilla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    275
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Post your pcmark and aquamark scores

    WZ
     
  34. chrisf6969

    chrisf6969 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,014
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    I'll run some Sisoft benches from 3700 or above when I get home.
    Here's one I ran a while back for shits & giggles 3666 (the evil #)
    [​IMG]

    Its just that its useless b/c I cant run 3d apps, so whats the point of stupid screenshot if its not truely stable and you dont have any links to REAL (stressful) benchmarks.

    However, 3.6Ghz is perfectly stable for me.

    I can run at default voltage at 3600, but found that the IC-7 undervolts so, I crank it to 1.6v in BIOS which gives me 1.55v reading in windows.
     
  35. eViL_M@LuM

    eViL_M@LuM Crosshair's Nephew

    Messages:
    3,674
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
  36. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    eViL_M@LuM.....I hate you. :p

    Can you run any actual benchmarks at 3.8GHz or is it just a CPU-Z overclock?
     
  37. chrisf6969

    chrisf6969 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,014
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    If they dont post a link to 3dMark200x then its just a screenshot/sisoft overclock. not a [H]ard OC.

    I'm going to test again when I get home I think I can get screenshots up to 3.8Ghz+
    and probably run sisoft to around 3.7Ghz

    I'll also post a link to 3dMark2005 with the 66.72's when I get home. I'm shooting for 5250+ marks.

    BTW, everyone raves about 1:1 or even 5:4, all of my benches are with 3:2 ratio! not too bad huh? NO volt mods to anything, no BIOS volt mods to videocard, etc..
     
  38. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    I wouldnt go as far as to say that, but if it's just a CPU-Z overclock it's definitely not anything to actually brag about, brag about what you can actually show in action. ;) I will admit that I like seeing how far I can push my cpu and video card from time to time, just for fun....but ultimately I end up settling back on my 24/7 stable and artifact free overclocks whenever i'm boasting my scores. ;)
     
  39. Napalm_Fire

    Napalm_Fire [H]Lite

    Messages:
    88
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    well, actually, my board didnt die from OCing. I checked on abit's forums, and many people had this problem, some fixed it, some didnt, i am part of the ones that didnt fix it, lol...


    I get my 160GB SATA drive and new 9800 Pro today, then I can finally update my sig...
     
  40. Napalm_Fire

    Napalm_Fire [H]Lite

    Messages:
    88
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    got my new stuff, bad thing is its an R350 core, and cant OC core speed past 385MHz...