192.168.1.1 ? 198.162.1.1 ?

Chris

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
82
I have Lilnksys WAG200G ADSL Home Gateway, and always use 192.168.1.1 on web browser to access the router's settings. My friend also has the same WAG200G and same firmware, but he cannot use 192.168.1.1 to access the router. IE will always show "Page can not be displayed". Strangely, if he use 198.162.1.1 (instead of 192.168.1.1), he will at least get to the login screen. But then, even after supplying the correct username & password, the login screen keeps refusing him.

I tried 198.162.1.1 on my computer & modem, and it appeared to be working too, because I got the same login screen like when I use 192.168.1.1. However, I got the same login problem because my username & password were refused. When I used 192.168.1.1, the login screen accept my username & password. What is the difference between 198.162.1.1 and 192.168.1.1 ??? The only difference between the 2 login screens, is that 198.162.1.1 will present me the same login screen with an additional message "Level_15_access".

Researching 198.162.1.1 on the net, I can not conclude what this IP is all about. But it seems this IP is also frequently used /refered to in some Linksys routers. Some people seems to use 198.162.1.1 to access their LinkSys router's settings, and some others use 192.168.1.1. However, LinkSys claims that 192.168.1.1 is their default IP address to access the router's settings. I got totally confused. What is 198.162.1.1 then ???
It seems to work partially, at least upto the login screen.
 

berky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
2,233
198.162.1.1 is a public address. it is most definitely NOT your router.

OrgName: East Kootenay Community College
OrgID: EKCC
Address: 2700 College Way
City: Cranbrook
StateProv: BC
PostalCode: V1C5L7
Country: CA

NetRange: 198.162.1.0 - 198.162.1.255
CIDR: 198.162.1.0/24
NetName: EKCCNET
NetHandle: NET-198-162-1-0-1
Parent: NET-198-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
NameServer: COTR1.COTR.BC.CA
NameServer: DNS.GOV.BC.CA
Comment:
RegDate: 1993-05-17
Updated: 1999-11-10

RTechHandle: LAF-ARIN
RTechName: Farmer, Larry A.
RTechPhone: +1-250-489-2751
RTechEmail: farmer@cotr.bc.ca




for your friends' router, tell him to do an 'ipconfig' and see what his local address is. it could be a 10.x.x.x address or something else. regardless, his router IP will be his gateway address. tell him to use that.
 

heavenlykid

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
300
Ok real basic networking leason here. to see what the gateway of your router is, open a command prompt on any windows computer and type ipconfig

it will display something like this

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : personal.pvt
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.18
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1<---------this is the router login any time
your hooked to one unless some one has setup the network differently also note depending on what kind of router your using this number will be different. but in any case 9.9 times out of ten this is the address you type in to your browser to access your router.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.2.2<-------this one is diconnected becaue it has default windows ip
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :


ok now to make a long story short an easy way to rember is that the gateway is the gateway or entrance to your router. so now you can get on his pc see what his gateway is and that will tell you if it really is 192.162.1.1

as you noticed my router is different from both of yours mine has a 192.168.0.1 login
here is a list of all the router logins ive ever seen

192.168.1.1
192.168.0.1
192.168.2.1
192.168.100.1
192.168.8.1
10.0.0.2
10.0.0.1
10.0.1.1
192.168.11.1
192.168.62.1
192.168.0.30
192.168.0.50
192.168.1.245
192.168.254.254
192.168.1.225
192.168.1.226
192.168.1.246
192.168.1.251
192.168.0.127
10.0.0.138
192.168.2.25
192.168.123.254

this is jus the ones i have wrote done for different routers that i ran across in my career. so as you can see it could almost be anything

also remember 10. ip addresses and 192. ip address are private ip ranges they are not used in the internet thats why routers always use them. when i say they are private you should not ever be able to go to a webpage with the ip address 192.162.1.1 unless your behind a router that has that ip in it.
 

heavenlykid

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
300
198.162.1.1 is a public address. it is most definitely NOT your router.

OrgName: East Kootenay Community College
OrgID: EKCC
Address: 2700 College Way
City: Cranbrook
StateProv: BC
PostalCode: V1C5L7
Country: CA

NetRange: 198.162.1.0 - 198.162.1.255
CIDR: 198.162.1.0/24
NetName: EKCCNET
NetHandle: NET-198-162-1-0-1
Parent: NET-198-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
NameServer: COTR1.COTR.BC.CA
NameServer: DNS.GOV.BC.CA
Comment:
RegDate: 1993-05-17
Updated: 1999-11-10

RTechHandle: LAF-ARIN
RTechName: Farmer, Larry A.
RTechPhone: +1-250-489-2751
RTechEmail: farmer@cotr.bc.ca




for your friends' router, tell him to do an 'ipconfig' and see what his local address is. it could be a 10.x.x.x address or something else. regardless, his router IP will be his gateway address. tell him to use that.
not to bash but there is no way this could be a public address you should never be able to access any ip starting with 192. on the internet its a private ip range not used for the world wide web

here is supporting info
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_address
jus incase you think im pulling your chain cause im not
 

berky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
2,233
not to bash but there is no way this could be a public address you should never be able to access any ip starting with 192. on the internet its a private ip range not used for the world wide web

here is supporting info
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_address
jus incase you think im pulling your chain cause im not


dude, it's not 192, it's 198. it is a public IP. i'm very familiar with RFC 1918 addresses. the OP was trying both. i was saying the 198 address is public, which he thought was his friend's router address, which it's not.
 
D

Deleted member 133315

Guest
Ok real basic networking leason here. to see what the gateway of your router is, open a command prompt on any windows computer and type ipconfig

it will display something like this

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : personal.pvt
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.18
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1<---------this is the router login any time
your hooked to one unless some one has setup the network differently also note depending on what kind of router your using this number will be different. but in any case 9.9 times out of ten this is the address you type in to your browser to access your router.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.2.2<-------this one is diconnected becaue it has default windows ip
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :


ok now to make a long story short an easy way to rember is that the gateway is the gateway or entrance to your router. so now you can get on his pc see what his gateway is and that will tell you if it really is 192.162.1.1

as you noticed my router is different from both of yours mine has a 192.168.0.1 login
here is a list of all the router logins ive ever seen

192.168.1.1
192.168.0.1
192.168.2.1
192.168.100.1
192.168.8.1
10.0.0.2
10.0.0.1
10.0.1.1
192.168.11.1
192.168.62.1
192.168.0.30
192.168.0.50
192.168.1.245
192.168.254.254
192.168.1.225
192.168.1.226
192.168.1.246
192.168.1.251
192.168.0.127
10.0.0.138
192.168.2.25
192.168.123.254

this is jus the ones i have wrote done for different routers that i ran across in my career. so as you can see it could almost be anything

also remember 10. ip addresses and 192. ip address are private ip ranges they are not used in the internet thats why routers always use them. when i say they are private you should not ever be able to go to a webpage with the ip address 192.162.1.1 unless your behind a router that has that ip in it.
you forgot 172.16.0.1 etc

:)
 

goodcooper

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,772
not to bash but there is no way this could be a public address you should never be able to access any ip starting with 192. on the internet its a private ip range not used for the world wide web

here is supporting info
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_address
jus incase you think im pulling your chain cause im not
dude, it's not 192, it's 198. it is a public IP. i'm very familiar with RFC 1918 addresses. the OP was trying both. i was saying the 198 address is public, which he thought was his friend's router address, which it's not.
raffle... at you being doubly wrong... the 16bit block allocated for private networks doesn't just start out with a 192. it must start with 192.168... its the class C private network.... IPs starting with first two octets of 192.167 and 192.169 are also public

not to bash though
 

berky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
2,233
raffle... at you being doubly wrong... the 16bit block allocated for private networks doesn't just start out with a 192. it must start with 192.168... its the class C private network.... IPs starting with first two octets of 192.167 and 192.169 are also public

not to bash though

i'm assuming you were talking about the other poster, because I never said that all of 192 was private.

192.168/16 is private, as is 10/8 and 172.16/12 and a few others that are considered "bogon" addresses.
http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc1918.html
http://www.faqs.org/qa/rfcc-618.html


i think we're on the same page here...
 

Chris

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
82
Heavenlykid, thank you for the explanation. I find it very informative.

I still don't understand why 198.162.1.1 is considered public IP.
When I google for "198.162.1.1", I find lots of discussion from people who apparently use this IP address to access their router.

This page actually shows how Siemens ADSL C-010-I modem also use 198.162.1.1 to access the settings.
http://www.azureuswiki.com/index.php/Router_configuration

or this link to Netopia modem's manual :
[PDF] User's Reference Guide
Note: On a Netopia R3100 the factory default IP Address serving settings are: ...... the default IP address of the router, 198.162.1.1. ...
www.netopia.com/support/hardware/manuals/isdnref.pdf

So there is no way that 198.162.1.1 is East Kootenay Community College
 

lifeinchains

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
311
The ip address 198.162.1.1 is indeed public. This is a whois search on that ip address, http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=198.162.1.1, and as you can see the information is exactly as berky typed. Those links you provided are just typos, there is no way a company who manufactures modems or routers would use a public ip to access the box. For example, in the Netopia manual, the text may say 198.162.1.1 but if you look at the screenshot right below it, you will see that it indeed uses 192.168.1.1.

The only ip ranges that are allowed to be used as private ips are the following:
A 24 bit block from 10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255
A 20 bit block from 172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255
A 16 bit block from 192.168.0.0 -192.168.255.255

Here is the wikipedia entry for Private Networks, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network.

The large majority of routers and home networking equipment use the 192.168 range, anybody who tried to use the 198.162 address did so as a typo. Most of the results from a google search show this to be accurate.
 

YeOldeStonecat

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
11,330
Heavenlykid
I still don't understand why 198.162.1.1 is considered public IP.
When I google for "198.162.1.1", I find lots of discussion from people who apparently use this IP address to access their router.

This page actually shows how Siemens ADSL C-010-I modem also use 198.162.1.1 to access the settings.
http://www.azureuswiki.com/index.php/Router_configuration

or this link to Netopia modem's manual :
[PDF] User's Reference Guide
Note: On a Netopia R3100 the factory default IP Address serving settings are: ...... the default IP address of the router, 198.162.1.1. ...
www.netopia.com/support/hardware/manuals/isdnref.pdf
Those are most likely "typos, people with numeric dyslexia". Confused when typing IP addresses. Netopia ships with 192.168.1.xxx....I've had a few, and if you look at the manual...yeah the proof reading crew at Netopia needs to be smacked in the head a few times...as if you look at the pictures in the PDF manual you linked..you'll see it's actually 192.168.1.1.
 

Chris

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
82
I see. Thanks for clarifying.
I'm really surprised how many people have mistaken 192.168 to 198.162 on the net, even in the modem manuals. It creates so much confusion.
 

heavenlykid

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
300
dude, it's not 192, it's 198. it is a public IP. i'm very familiar with RFC 1918 addresses. the OP was trying both. i was saying the 198 address is public, which he thought was his friend's router address, which it's not.
my mistake its a habit becase 192 is used so often
 

heavenlykid

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
300
raffle... at you being doubly wrong... the 16bit block allocated for private networks doesn't just start out with a 192. it must start with 192.168... its the class C private network.... IPs starting with first two octets of 192.167 and 192.169 are also public

not to bash though
hey im human i 2 make mistakes. theres alot of stuff to remember with ips, subnets and so on.
 

berky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
2,233
my mistake its a habit becase 192 is used so often
it's no problem, i wasn't trying to bash.

i completely understand why it's easy to misinterpret, and i just wanted to make sure you noticed that difference with what the OP was talking about.
 

goodcooper

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,772
nor was i.... its all good, i don't think anybody cares enough...


but usually when i want to refute some information that somebody is providing for help on a forum like these, i make sure i read up on it and understand it first... (for example, your own wiki link pretty much proved that your point was wrong)

its easier and less confusing for everybody if we just get the facts straight from the get-go... correcting people who are trying to correct people is tiring...

by all means, i don't want to discourage you from helping, but make sure you're actually helping

we're all smarter now :D
 

les_garten

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
326
Hello,
I read this post because I just had to see what was in it. I'm not going to go over all the RFC info that has already been posted here about Private networks. There is obviously tons of typos out there on the Internet banging on this poor sites router. That appears to be a Cisco Router of some type asking for Enable level privileges(Level 15) for access to it's built-in Http server., didn't anybody notice that part of the login window???? Bet that admin has no idea why his Cisco gear keeps getting locked up by all the Noob's tying up his internal webserver that he has imprudently decided to expose to the Entire planet.
 

goodcooper

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,772
Hello,
I read this post because I just had to see what was in it. I'm not going to go over all the RFC info that has already been posted here about Private networks. There is obviously tons of typos out there on the Internet banging on this poor sites router. That appears to be a Cisco Router of some type asking for Enable level privileges(Level 15) for access to it's built-in Http server., didn't anybody notice that part of the login window???? Bet that admin has no idea why his Cisco gear keeps getting locked up by all the Noob's tying up his internal webserver that he has imprudently decided to expose to the Entire planet.
i don't think it was doing that before, but yea.... i see it now...

it may be set up to only allow a few connection attempts at a time though....

what makes you say it is a cisco router? i think that authentication message is used on several different models of router/server
 

les_garten

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
326
i don't think it was doing that before, but yea.... i see it now...

it may be set up to only allow a few connection attempts at a time though....

what makes you say it is a cisco router? i think that authentication message is used on several different models of router/server

Thats a common method to setup http access on a Cisco Router. Level 15 is explicitly "enable" level access. Cisco routers have 16 levels of access privilages with 15 being the highest. If you've ever worked on a Cisco Router, that login would have leaped out at you as a Cisco Http Login. What other routers/switches/etc have you worked on with 16 levels of access??? And I'm sure it was doing it before...
 

berky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2001
Messages
2,233
Thats a common method to setup http access on a Cisco Router. Level 15 is explicitly "enable" level access. Cisco routers have 16 levels of access privilages with 15 being the highest. If you've ever worked on a Cisco Router, that login would have leaped out at you as a Cisco Http Login. What other routers/switches/etc have you worked on with 16 levels of access??? And I'm sure it was doing it before...

yeah, it did that when i tried it right before i posted my first response. i pretty much assumed it was a cisco and not a 'soho' router, but it didn't "jump out at me" since i never use the gui to configure (except asa's)
 
Top