144 hz option won't show up for me

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by etegv, Apr 17, 2019.

  1. etegv

    etegv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    220
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Hi, this is my issue. The 144 hz simply wont show up for me. I can only do 59 hz and 60 hz.

    ASRock z87 killer
    Ati Radeon 6950
    Ben q 144 hz monitor
    Dvi dual link cable
    Windows 10

    I reinstalled the drivers.

    Is there a reason why this is happening? Is the 144 hz option limited to certain cards? I know I have the right monitor and cable. I am not sure what I overlooked.

    Thank you very much for the help.
     
  2. Pantalaimon

    Pantalaimon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    The HD6950 might be the culprit. At least I don't think it supports FreeSync.
     
  3. noobferguson

    noobferguson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    459
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    What resolution?

    If you're talking about getting it to work at 144hz (regardless of Freesync), it's most likely the cable. Some 6950s also don't output dual-link DVI on both DVI ports, have you tried both?

    If it were me, I would be using the DP/mini-DP anyway since dual-link DVI is close to its limit at 1920x1080@120hz.
     
    AlphaQup, etegv, Armenius and 4 others like this.
  4. elite.mafia

    elite.mafia Broke Back [H]

    Messages:
    11,126
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    What cable are you using? HDMI most likely won't work, DVI single link won't work, etc.

    My guess is the cable is faulty

    more than one monitor?
     
  5. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,440
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
  6. whateverer

    whateverer Gawd

    Messages:
    980
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    You need to tell us the resolution of the monitor. Assuming It's 1440p, the max resolution of the 6000 series is 1440p at 60hz.

    https://community.amd.com/thread/202400

    It does not support full-speed DP 1.2.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  7. etegv

    etegv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    220
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    this is for 1080p

    So this was the solution. I didn't know that only one port works with 144 hz, lol. I am sure why I couldn't find this info on google.





    The Issue was that only one port could do 144 hz. I assumed both ports were compatible with 144 hz because it was like that with my r9 290.

    Thank you everyone so much for the help. You guys got me out of a jam, thank you. I was pissed off last night, lol.
     
    Pieter3dnow likes this.
  8. elite.mafia

    elite.mafia Broke Back [H]

    Messages:
    11,126
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Ah, I didn't realize that card had 2 dvi ports. Glad you found the solution.
     
    etegv likes this.
  9. whateverer

    whateverer Gawd

    Messages:
    980
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Yeah, this was quite confusing when it happened. Basically, AMD abandoned Dual-link DVI early because they assumed you could use the DisplayPort. Back when DP to DVI dual-link adapters were $100, and were extremely picky devices, and only the most expensive 144hz 1080p monitors supported HDMI 1.4 or DP 1.2.

    Switch DVI ports, or use the DP connection (if your monitor supports it).
     
    etegv likes this.
  10. FedericoUY

    FedericoUY n00b

    Messages:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    You anyway can get HDMI cables capable of transferring data for 144hz. Good quality ones are hard to find tough. Display Port cables are the most common.
     
  11. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    16,538
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Any HDMI cable is capable, you just have to be aware that the more saturated the bandwidth the shorter the cable you need to keep signal integrity without a repeater. 1920x1080 144 Hz is enough to use all the bandwidth of HDMI 1.4, and 2560x1440 144 Hz is enough to use all the bandwidth of HDMI 2.0. But some output devices simply didn't support the required TMDS clock rate for refresh rates higher than 60 Hz despite the HDMI certification. Regardless, I would never try to use a cable longer than 3m/10ft for standard HDMI cables where I was going to saturate the bandwidth, or 2m/6.6ft for High Speed cables.
     
  12. DejaWiz

    DejaWiz Oracle of Unfortunate Truths

    Messages:
    18,548
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Radeon 6950 has the older HDMI 1.4a and DisplayPort 1.2 specs.

    The DP 1.2 should be fine for 1080p @ 144Hz, but that could also be limited/prohibited by the GPU's output set by the manufacturer.
    HDMI 1.4a supports 1080p @ 120Hz, but again, may be limited/prohibited.

    My recommendation is using miniDP to DVI...or DP, if the monitor has native DP inputs of at least v1.2