1366 x58 Xeon Enthusiast overclocks club

geok1ng

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
2,129
decided to try CAS 7 at 167 BCLK:
upload_2019-4-20_9-30-19.png
 

geok1ng

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
2,129
upload_2019-5-4_20-35-12.png

upload_2019-5-4_20-35-39.png

upload_2019-5-4_20-35-55.png


gave up on turbo, memory latency is off the charts. it is slower for main usage scenario (chess engines), but quite a bit faster for gaming.
upload_2019-5-4_20-39-45.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2019-5-4_20-39-46.png
    upload_2019-5-4_20-39-46.png
    228.6 KB · Views: 0

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,094
I still have water blocks I can add to my board yet but that's a lot of work to map out in a build .. I have it tuned to this with only Corsair memory as voltage is set to 1.65v as green on my board for 1600Mhz speed as it's trading blows with a 1600 .

https://valid.x86.fr/bench/lnwl1p/1

but 65watts on 1600 was the WoW factor as why I have one .
 

JRZoid

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
91
I still have probably a good x5650...but no good mobo...lowly 5520 oem board..cannot OC...
You need the Sabertooth still or I think one of the gigabytes...They do and had/came out with bioses for them I believe should easily get it up to 4.2 dude.
 

FLECOM

Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar
Staff member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Messages
15,739
Do we have a list of supported PCIe SSD storage devices on x58? been looking to upgrade my 128GB plextor and not sure if any of the newer plextors have boot roms like the older ones?
 

JRZoid

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
91
It's unreal how badd that looks now/ddr3 I know...you might be able to go higher...I don't know what kit you have...like 1732mhz.
 

Thevoid230

n00b
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
62
Do we have a list of supported PCIe SSD storage devices on x58? been looking to upgrade my 128GB plextor and not sure if any of the newer plextors have boot roms like the older ones?
You only need those old drives for booting. Nvme drives work fine in windows, for example I tried a 1tb 660p and it showed up in windows no problem.
 

geok1ng

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
2,129
Do we have a list of supported PCIe SSD storage devices on x58? been looking to upgrade my 128GB plextor and not sure if any of the newer plextors have boot roms like the older ones?

Samsung 950 PRO; Plextor m6e and m8pE. Those boot from the drive.

All the others require magic like modding uefi bios or booting from a usb uefi hack
 

Bill1024

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,567
I had a HyperX predator that was able to boot. Faster than a regular SSD, not at fast as the Samsung 950pro
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,094
I understand now how I was clocking back in the day .. turbo sets the multiplier as the only way for me to gain access to 23x and 24x so as not to run everything else at max value and keep memory speed lower as the base core clock is rised with turbo .

https://valid.x86.fr/bench/w2fzt8/12
 
Last edited:

FLECOM

Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar
Staff member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Messages
15,739
You only need those old drives for booting. Nvme drives work fine in windows, for example I tried a 1tb 660p and it showed up in windows no problem.

ya that's what I meant to ask but didn't ask the question properly, but ya I am using a 1TB crucial I picked up cheap off amazon a while back as an apps/steam drive without issue even though it's obviously not bootable

Samsung 950 PRO; Plextor m6e and m8pE. Those boot from the drive.

All the others require magic like modding uefi bios or booting from a usb uefi hack

good to know the m8pe will work since those seem to pop up more than the m6e at this point, for the 950 PRO is there a specific model or all the 950 pros? I know the SM951 will not boot (at least the one I got a while back doesn't)

gonna keep this x58 going for a while I think, but gotta get better cooling

https://valid.x86.fr/bench/mzwyex/12
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,094
https://valid.x86.fr/bench/d73k4e

This is off the wall set up .. using speed spectrum , set multiplier to 23 and FSB 187 Mhz with voltage at 1.27 v with v droop and it turbo boost to that score easy and you keep your down clocks for normal lazy desktop action .
 

buttons

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 12, 2011
Messages
2,080
https://valid.x86.fr/bench/d73k4e

This is off the wall set up .. using speed spectrum , set multiplier to 23 and FSB 187 Mhz with voltage at 1.27 v with v droop and it turbo boost to that score easy and you keep your down clocks for normal lazy desktop action .

wow! I just got an i7-920 d0 today to use at work. I was able to get 3.9ghz so far and 363 score. my ryzen 1700 @ 3.7ghz gets 425
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
785
I just ended up picking up another X5650 for 8 shipped on eBay. Going to throw it on the last X58 mobo I have that still has an i7. lol

It's getting crazy how dirt cheap the lower models are becoming. I wish the higher X5680/5690 would creep down in price tho for my Dell T5500.
 

CruisD64

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
2,235
I just ended up picking up another X5650 for 8 shipped on eBay. Going to throw it on the last X58 mobo I have that still has an i7. lol

It's getting crazy how dirt cheap the lower models are becoming. I wish the higher X5680/5690 would creep down in price tho for my Dell T5500.

man...I wish the motherboards were 8 bucks too!
 

Susquehannock

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
4,012
It's getting crazy how dirt cheap the lower models are becoming. I wish the higher X5680/5690 would creep down in price tho for my Dell T5500.
The fluctuations are weird. Got an X5690 for my T5500 for $56 back in January. Too bad the W3680 are not compatible. Drop one of those in a T3500 for $45 and it's and it's an easy OC to 4ghz. Before everyone realized they are unlocked W3680 were down below $20.
 

FlawleZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
1,406
X58 loves tight timings, try to find some old ddr3 if you don't need a ton of capacity.
Nice speeds! Elpida Hypers? Reminds me of what the legendary Corsair Dominator GT kits were capable of.
 

Attachments

  • DDR3-2250-CL6-HyperPi32M-thumb.jpg
    DDR3-2250-CL6-HyperPi32M-thumb.jpg
    159 KB · Views: 0

Farkle

Lurker
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
1,606
X58 loves tight timings, try to find some old ddr3 if you don't need a ton of capacity.

--snip--

That's pretty sweet. 1.5v CPU scares me though. My old (mostly retired, rarely booted) audio workstation isn't as performant, and won't even post with 1T, even if I give the RAM 1.65v:

GkW2qff.png


I pretty much kept everything stock voltage (including core and IOH voltage), and disabled all of the watt saving/turbo features after a while, as I was seeing no real savings in electricity at the UPS when it was on. That CPU will max out at 4.4GHz@1.425v (48 hours Prime95 balanced, and RealBench for 6 hours verified), and will post at 4.6GHz then make it into Windows 10 probably 60% of the time, but it takes a lot of volts to get there: 1.495v for core, plus increases across the board, plus LLC enabled, and goes from 69-72c at load straight to 81.5-82c. I've got other X5675's that do far worse, and hit 72-75c at stock in turbo modes, relegated to T3500, T5500 and gathering dust in drawers duty. I'm always tempted to revisit memory timings, because the RAM that is in that system can actually do 7-8-7-24 2T in MemTestx86+ for 9 hours, but it will eventually fail with Prime95 balanced; which is why I just said to heck with it and let XMP profile take over. There's also the matter of for some reason a lot of the CPU I've tested have IMC on them that simply can't handle more than 3 DIMM with XMP timings.

Any tips on getting tighter alpha timings stable in Windows?

I've also had no luck trying the four sticks of RAM in tri-channel mode on this board, or the Sabertooth X58 board I've got -- it posts, it just won't ever actually boot Windows 10, just a loop with USB peripherals never initializing and having to power either machine down. I'm starting to think that feature never worked properly, or was intended for non-matched memory sizes as a budget option.

I sure wish I could find a golden sample CPU that will hit 4.6 GHz at an acceptable 24/7 voltage, and take 4 or 6 DIMM at tight timings without complaining, at that point I wouldn't mind going back to X58 as my daily driver just on principle.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
243
Yup, Hypers, tho not as good as yours heheh. I don't know what they can actually do, as I haven't given more than 1.665v. With that I get 800 6-6-6-20 1T, 900 7-7-7-21 1T, 1000 8-8-8-24 1T. I pretty much only get 1 divider to play with. I would like to replace my X5690 with an i7 or a W series just so I can play with more speed. I also have a bunch of BBSE and some pretty decent PSC.

As for vcore, you can pretty much run what you want, as long as you can keep it cool. Don't forget, stock voltage tops out at 1.35, I say 1.375 because that's where the i7s top out for stock volts. 1.375 gets me 4300. Things start to warm up a bit at 1.4 which is 4.4 on mine, 4.5 comes in at 1.45, 4600 at 1.5, 4700 at 1.55, and 4800 comes in at pretty much 1.6v iirc. As for tips.. no not really.. you'd have to play with it.

X58 can be a bit finicky as you are finding out..
 

FlawleZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
1,406
Not mine just an example if what they were capable of from one of the guys on XS. I would like to try a kit on my X79 to see if the IMC is any better.
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
243
Its pretty much only forums will you find that stuff I think. I've looked a few times on and off nd came up empty. Not recently though. But there is way better stuff than what I have, but at least I can run cas 6 so in the end I cant complain much.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
It's honestly surprising how well this platform has lasted to be honest, im still running my rampage 3 gene with an X5660 at 4.1GHz daily, can do 4.4 daily with 1.4v and 4.6GHz for benching with 1.55v but i need a fan on the heatsink for anything past the 4.1GHz daily clock which doesn't work so well since i move this system around a lot as the system at the other halves shat the bed a few weeks ago (they only live down the road so it's not so bad) im actually eyeing up an X5680 off of aliexpress for like 30 quid which would get around the needing high bclk problem, do we have a rough idea as to what they clock like?

also as a secondary question, is running say 1.45v daily for these safe? like i don't mind running 1.45 daily on the X5660 since those are like 12 quid so no big deal if it dies, but i'd rather not have to buy two X5680s if i can avoid it, unless i also got a W3670 or something local as a backup
 

crazycrave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,094
I have the water blocks for it I never got around to installing .. now that I have my Ryzen 3600 running I may molt ball it again lol .

but I am not finish yet as it will be at 4.5 soon as I have a lot of voltage never used yet over 1.35v
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
243
I spent a couple of grand on my x58 setup when it was new, and honestly it has been the longest I have ever kept a computer. I used to upgrade every time something new came out, for like 10 years lol. But when I built my x58 I certainly didn't think I would run it for 10 years. But kids, life, bills all that happens, and next thing you know.. your not upgrading like you used too.. But this year will probably be her last year of service. She doesn't owe me anything. I did blow a fan header, but outside of that she is still fully operational, and still clocks the shit out of my old x5690 e.s. She will probably sit on the shelf next to the original Rampage Formula, which also has a blown header from the same fan lol. I loved that board, but not as much as I wuved my R3F. My wife and kids can fight over my z77 which also has a blown header.. from the same fan and I will build something new.. I have built high end AMD systems that last 2 months lol. Always had problems with mobo longevity, until I tried intel when Conroe was fresh. Never looked back until recently.. but I will probably just roll with what I know..
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
I spent a couple of grand on my x58 setup when it was new, and honestly it has been the longest I have ever kept a computer. I used to upgrade every time something new came out, for like 10 years lol. But when I built my x58 I certainly didn't think I would run it for 10 years. But kids, life, bills all that happens, and next thing you know.. your not upgrading like you used too.. But this year will probably be her last year of service. She doesn't owe me anything. I did blow a fan header, but outside of that she is still fully operational, and still clocks the shit out of my old x5690 e.s. She will probably sit on the shelf next to the original Rampage Formula, which also has a blown header from the same fan lol. I loved that board, but not as much as I wuved my R3F. My wife and kids can fight over my z77 which also has a blown header.. from the same fan and I will build something new.. I have built high end AMD systems that last 2 months lol. Always had problems with mobo longevity, until I tried intel when Conroe was fresh. Never looked back until recently.. but I will probably just roll with what I know..

it really has been a really long lasting platform hasn't it, I didn't start on X58 from new, my first X58 build was back in 2016 but it's always been the cornerstone of fun to overclock and not terribly expensive for the performance even to the point that i still use it to this day, really solid platform and it's still possible to pump out some decent scores, i recently scored 17.1k in firestrike with my X5660 at 4.6GHz, 24gb ram and my RX vega 56
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
243
Nice man. Yeah its been good. I didn't use a quad for very long, my only quad was a 965xe es that I ran at 4 or 4.1, and I think it maxed at 4.2, being a C0. Moved to a 970 and it was buttery smooth, but it clocked just like the 965 did. I knew someone with a 970 and had very different results. I ended up trading that cpu and 500us for the xeon. My hypers were probably the cheapest component heh. But I think this platform was definitely meant for hex's. Its just so smooth. But my brother hooked me up with his old z77 system and its been my daily driver for about a year and a half now. The kids fight over the roblox box now, and I just maintain it.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
Nice man. Yeah its been good. I didn't use a quad for very long, my only quad was a 965xe es that I ran at 4 or 4.1, and I think it maxed at 4.2, being a C0. Moved to a 970 and it was buttery smooth, but it clocked just like the 965 did. I knew someone with a 970 and had very different results. I ended up trading that cpu and 500us for the xeon. My hypers were probably the cheapest component heh. But I think this platform was definitely meant for hex's. Its just so smooth. But my brother hooked me up with his old z77 system and its been my daily driver for about a year and a half now. The kids fight over the roblox box now, and I just maintain it.

some of the quads were nice, i've used an E5640 and a few X5570s in the past and those were nice, for the 12 quid i paid for my X5660 you really can't go far wrong with that, and yeah this platform really was built from the ground up for hex cores too imo, these things fly with hex units, this is probably going to be my daily for the next year too or when im able to work again, whichever comes first :p but these are really lovely platforms for the money, my X5660 is a bit of a bad bin though mind you so im eying up a nice X5680 or something along those lines so i can run higher clocks without having to push the board too hard (with this being a mobile system i can't really have a fan pointing at the heatsink so much) but i reckon once I'm done with this I'll likely have it be my secondary as a permanent rig at the other halves place or just a backup or something
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
243
If you were going to do that, spend the few extra bux and get a W series. At least you have the option of playing with fast ram without having to run a high bclk. I might get one just to play with. I would sell my x5690 but its an E.S. so probably not worth the hassle.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
If you were going to do that, spend the few extra bux and get a W series. At least you have the option of playing with fast ram without having to run a high bclk. I might get one just to play with. I would sell my x5690 but its an E.S. so probably not worth the hassle.

yeah a W3680 is tempting but I could get a pair of X5680's for not much more (60 for a pair vs 50 for a W3680) and I always prefer to keep a pair handy in case I kill one when pushing bench numbers, that and with the X5680 I could be cheeky and grab a few hwbot first places ;P
 

freeagentt

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
243
Have you killed one yet? I may have tried a little a couple of times in frustration, but it didn't die. I think you will probably be ok.. 5ghz with air or water is a bit of a stretch, but anything under 1.6v should be ok if you can cool it.. might be tough to do.
 

tsubasa hanekawa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
170
Have you killed one yet? I may have tried a little a couple of times in frustration, but it didn't die. I think you will probably be ok.. 5ghz with air or water is a bit of a stretch, but anything under 1.6v should be ok if you can cool it.. might be tough to do.

I've killed a few in the past when pushing for HWbot #1 scores so it's not impossible, but i have awful luck so I don't want to take any chances there, though what I'm likely going to do is get one X5680 for £32 off of aliexpress and one W3670 for £22 both including shipping, the W3670 has a large multi still and would do as a spare I reckon
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
Messages
1,005
Nice man. Yeah its been good. I didn't use a quad for very long, my only quad was a 965xe es that I ran at 4 or 4.1, and I think it maxed at 4.2, being a C0. Moved to a 970 and it was buttery smooth, but it clocked just like the 965 did. I knew someone with a 970 and had very different results. I ended up trading that cpu and 500us for the xeon. My hypers were probably the cheapest component heh. But I think this platform was definitely meant for hex's. Its just so smooth. But my brother hooked me up with his old z77 system and its been my daily driver for about a year and a half now. The kids fight over the roblox box now, and I just maintain it.
It's that triple-channel memory that helps them run so sweet, there's alot of bandwidth there that we just don't get to see because of the other bottlenecks. Load these babies down wil lots of ram, minimize the disk bottleneck, and it'll rock hard.
 
Top