1366 x58 Xeon Enthusiast overclocks club

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by primetime, May 30, 2014.

  1. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
  2. geok1ng

    geok1ng 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,135
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    decided to try CAS 7 at 167 BCLK:
    upload_2019-4-20_9-30-19.png
     
    slayer3032 likes this.
  3. geok1ng

    geok1ng 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,135
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    upload_2019-5-4_20-35-12.png
    upload_2019-5-4_20-35-39.png
    upload_2019-5-4_20-35-55.png

    gave up on turbo, memory latency is off the charts. it is slower for main usage scenario (chess engines), but quite a bit faster for gaming. upload_2019-5-4_20-39-45.png
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jrobdog

    jrobdog Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
  5. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    I still have water blocks I can add to my board yet but that's a lot of work to map out in a build .. I have it tuned to this with only Corsair memory as voltage is set to 1.65v as green on my board for 1600Mhz speed as it's trading blows with a 1600 .

    https://valid.x86.fr/bench/lnwl1p/1

    but 65watts on 1600 was the WoW factor as why I have one .
     
  6. JRZoid

    JRZoid [H]Lite

    Messages:
    71
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    I still have probably a good x5650...but no good mobo...lowly 5520 oem board..cannot OC...
    You need the Sabertooth still or I think one of the gigabytes...They do and had/came out with bioses for them I believe should easily get it up to 4.2 dude.
     
  7. FLECOM

    FLECOM Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,583
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Do we have a list of supported PCIe SSD storage devices on x58? been looking to upgrade my 128GB plextor and not sure if any of the newer plextors have boot roms like the older ones?
     
  8. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
  9. JRZoid

    JRZoid [H]Lite

    Messages:
    71
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    It's unreal how badd that looks now/ddr3 I know...you might be able to go higher...I don't know what kit you have...like 1732mhz.
     
  10. Thevoid230

    Thevoid230 n00b

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    You only need those old drives for booting. Nvme drives work fine in windows, for example I tried a 1tb 660p and it showed up in windows no problem.
     
  11. geok1ng

    geok1ng 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,135
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Samsung 950 PRO; Plextor m6e and m8pE. Those boot from the drive.

    All the others require magic like modding uefi bios or booting from a usb uefi hack
     
    FLECOM likes this.
  12. Bill1024

    Bill1024 Gawd

    Messages:
    966
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    I had a HyperX predator that was able to boot. Faster than a regular SSD, not at fast as the Samsung 950pro
     
  13. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    I understand now how I was clocking back in the day .. turbo sets the multiplier as the only way for me to gain access to 23x and 24x so as not to run everything else at max value and keep memory speed lower as the base core clock is rised with turbo .

    https://valid.x86.fr/bench/w2fzt8/12
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2019
  14. FLECOM

    FLECOM Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,583
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    ya that's what I meant to ask but didn't ask the question properly, but ya I am using a 1TB crucial I picked up cheap off amazon a while back as an apps/steam drive without issue even though it's obviously not bootable

    good to know the m8pe will work since those seem to pop up more than the m6e at this point, for the 950 PRO is there a specific model or all the 950 pros? I know the SM951 will not boot (at least the one I got a while back doesn't)

    gonna keep this x58 going for a while I think, but gotta get better cooling

    https://valid.x86.fr/bench/mzwyex/12
     
  15. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    https://valid.x86.fr/bench/d73k4e

    This is off the wall set up .. using speed spectrum , set multiplier to 23 and FSB 187 Mhz with voltage at 1.27 v with v droop and it turbo boost to that score easy and you keep your down clocks for normal lazy desktop action .
     
  16. buttons

    buttons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,027
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    wow! I just got an i7-920 d0 today to use at work. I was able to get 3.9ghz so far and 363 score. my ryzen 1700 @ 3.7ghz gets 425
     
  17. Reanimation_LP

    Reanimation_LP Gawd

    Messages:
    778
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    I just ended up picking up another X5650 for 8 shipped on eBay. Going to throw it on the last X58 mobo I have that still has an i7. lol

    It's getting crazy how dirt cheap the lower models are becoming. I wish the higher X5680/5690 would creep down in price tho for my Dell T5500.
     
  18. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    I still have my i7- 930 from 9 years ago I bought new with my board around here some where lol.. and an update https://valid.x86.fr/b85ddy

     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  19. CruisD64

    CruisD64 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,069
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    man...I wish the motherboards were 8 bucks too!
     
  20. freeagentt

    freeagentt n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    X58 loves tight timings, try to find some old ddr3 if you don't need a ton of capacity.

    878.PNG
     
  21. Susquehannock

    Susquehannock 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,283
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    The fluctuations are weird. Got an X5690 for my T5500 for $56 back in January. Too bad the W3680 are not compatible. Drop one of those in a T3500 for $45 and it's and it's an easy OC to 4ghz. Before everyone realized they are unlocked W3680 were down below $20.
     
  22. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Nice speeds! Elpida Hypers? Reminds me of what the legendary Corsair Dominator GT kits were capable of.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Farkle

    Farkle Lurker

    Messages:
    817
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    That's pretty sweet. 1.5v CPU scares me though. My old (mostly retired, rarely booted) audio workstation isn't as performant, and won't even post with 1T, even if I give the RAM 1.65v:

    GkW2qff.png

    I pretty much kept everything stock voltage (including core and IOH voltage), and disabled all of the watt saving/turbo features after a while, as I was seeing no real savings in electricity at the UPS when it was on. That CPU will max out at 4.4GHz@1.425v (48 hours Prime95 balanced, and RealBench for 6 hours verified), and will post at 4.6GHz then make it into Windows 10 probably 60% of the time, but it takes a lot of volts to get there: 1.495v for core, plus increases across the board, plus LLC enabled, and goes from 69-72c at load straight to 81.5-82c. I've got other X5675's that do far worse, and hit 72-75c at stock in turbo modes, relegated to T3500, T5500 and gathering dust in drawers duty. I'm always tempted to revisit memory timings, because the RAM that is in that system can actually do 7-8-7-24 2T in MemTestx86+ for 9 hours, but it will eventually fail with Prime95 balanced; which is why I just said to heck with it and let XMP profile take over. There's also the matter of for some reason a lot of the CPU I've tested have IMC on them that simply can't handle more than 3 DIMM with XMP timings.

    Any tips on getting tighter alpha timings stable in Windows?

    I've also had no luck trying the four sticks of RAM in tri-channel mode on this board, or the Sabertooth X58 board I've got -- it posts, it just won't ever actually boot Windows 10, just a loop with USB peripherals never initializing and having to power either machine down. I'm starting to think that feature never worked properly, or was intended for non-matched memory sizes as a budget option.

    I sure wish I could find a golden sample CPU that will hit 4.6 GHz at an acceptable 24/7 voltage, and take 4 or 6 DIMM at tight timings without complaining, at that point I wouldn't mind going back to X58 as my daily driver just on principle.
     
  24. freeagentt

    freeagentt n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Yup, Hypers, tho not as good as yours heheh. I don't know what they can actually do, as I haven't given more than 1.665v. With that I get 800 6-6-6-20 1T, 900 7-7-7-21 1T, 1000 8-8-8-24 1T. I pretty much only get 1 divider to play with. I would like to replace my X5690 with an i7 or a W series just so I can play with more speed. I also have a bunch of BBSE and some pretty decent PSC.

    As for vcore, you can pretty much run what you want, as long as you can keep it cool. Don't forget, stock voltage tops out at 1.35, I say 1.375 because that's where the i7s top out for stock volts. 1.375 gets me 4300. Things start to warm up a bit at 1.4 which is 4.4 on mine, 4.5 comes in at 1.45, 4600 at 1.5, 4700 at 1.55, and 4800 comes in at pretty much 1.6v iirc. As for tips.. no not really.. you'd have to play with it.

    X58 can be a bit finicky as you are finding out..
     
  25. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    790
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Not mine just an example if what they were capable of from one of the guys on XS. I would like to try a kit on my X79 to see if the IMC is any better.
     
  26. freeagentt

    freeagentt n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Its pretty much only forums will you find that stuff I think. I've looked a few times on and off nd came up empty. Not recently though. But there is way better stuff than what I have, but at least I can run cas 6 so in the end I cant complain much.