1366 x58 Xeon Enthusiast overclocks club

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by primetime, May 30, 2014.

  1. CyrIng

    CyrIng n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    di-9FNMEJ.png
    Rock stable: 12 GB on Asus Gene II ÷ Xeon W3690
    => 6 Corsair Dominator sticks 2 GB 1600 MHz CL 8-8-8. IMC configured tripple channels. Dimm @ 1.65V
     
  2. Big_Rig_Stig

    Big_Rig_Stig Gawd

    Messages:
    977
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    But are either of y'all running the Asus P6T_Deluxe *specifically*? I keep seeing people with issues populating the second banks on those boards.
     
  3. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,622
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    No...X58 sabertooth
     
  4. bal3wolf

    bal3wolf Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    263
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    I have the asus x58 p6x58d-e with a x5675@4.4ghz with 6 slots filled still not the board you have/getting but really any x58 should run 6 slots it usualy comes down to the cpu's imc and how much qpi voltage you need to push and what speed you want to run your unicore at. I had mine running 4.4ghz with unicore at 4000mhz using 1.45 vcore and 1.40 qpi volts memory also was clocked at or close to 1800mhz ran stable for atleast a year and fairly warm was lazy to pull it apart to do a new paste install and dust it out. I looked at both my board and yours and really only thing jumps out at me is mine had a usb3.0 added thru marvel and a sata 6 added thru marvel.
     
  5. Xa3phod

    Xa3phod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    I am running an X5670 (Have a X5690 sitting on my desk) on an ASUS Rampage III formula. Its stable at 4.562Ghz with 1.45Volts. Would love to see some settings out there to get it higher or tweak the performance. My best Cinebench was 1038. I think that's a great score, would love to get to 1100.
    Also, running 24 gigs of 1600 ram in triple channel.
     
  6. shaolin95

    shaolin95 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,785
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Dang that is NICE. I wished I had pushed mine harder before I sold it to see how far it could go. :)
     
  7. Xa3phod

    Xa3phod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    At this point that is what I am doing. Its not my main rig, its my experimental/hobby rig. I don't care if it blows up. Just an escuse to buy something else. :)
     
    shaolin95 likes this.
  8. shaolin95

    shaolin95 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,785
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Dang it! I sold part of my ram and mobo..maybe I will keep my other 12GB of RAM and x5650 and find a cheap mobo to play with it :D
     
  9. thesecond

    thesecond [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    I have an odd issue thats been popping up. I've had my e5649 running solid at 3.8ghz for a few years, but over the past 12 months or so i cant overclock it all. I tried for a tiny overclock of 150 bclk and locking the core voltage at 1.25v, it corrupts windows when i try to boot. Takes a solid 5 minutes to load windows and then wont load my windows profile properly.

    Think my chip is dead? time for 100$ for a 990x? ahhahaha
     
  10. McDork

    McDork Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    I'm getting an RTX 2070 (it was gifted to me) and I'm currently running an I7 920. Will my processor be a bottleneck to this card? If so I was looking at a W3690 Xeon (overclocking it) and was wondering if that too would be a bottleneck. Any help would be appreciated as I don't want to have to go to the expense of building a new system right now. Thanks
     
  11. McDork

    McDork Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Also I was pricing the W3690's on Ebay and noticed most of the sellers are in China. Is it safe to buy from these sellers ( as they are in another country)?
     
  12. ziddey

    ziddey [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,393
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    save your money and get an x5670 for $20 instead. 22x200=4400 if you can keep it cooled. otherwise, x5650/5660 are even cheaper but it'd help if you have a motherboard that can reliably use the turbo multipliers (not sure if gb can or not) if you're aiming for an aggressive overclock.
     
  13. McDork

    McDork Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    I've got a Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R REV.1 it won't support the 5xxx Xeons only the W3xxx (according to their website). The W3690s are only about $60, which to me is OK. My worry is with dealing with sellers in China, and if the update is enough to mitigate a bottleneck with my new Graphics card.
     
  14. Makaveli@BETA

    Makaveli@BETA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,312
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Since IPC is basically the same from Nelahem and Gulftown/westmere you will only see an improvement in work flows that use more than 4 cores and that will apply to games also. The Battlefield series of games will get a boost as they can use all 6 cores. Other games you will have to investigate.

    I'm running the V2 version of that board. And using 6x2GB for 12GB of Ram.

    The only issue i've seen is sometimes on a cold boot it will drop to 10GB's of ram and then I have to go into the bios revert to stock clocks reboot it then see's all channels then I go back into the bios and reapply my overclock and its fine.

    That happens 50% of the time off a cold boot which I don't do very often so not really a shower stopper for me. And more so since i'm going to retire this rig for Zen 2 in Q2 of this year.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
  15. ziddey

    ziddey [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,393
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Should support it fine? As it turns out, I have the same motherboard heh. Not sure if mine is rev1 or what though.

    Sure IPC is the same, but 32nm means less power consumption and higher clocks. I'm running 4ghz with 1.25v set via offset. No LLC so actual load volts is around 1.15vish iirc. If it weren't in a 24/7 server application, I'd push it harder.
     
  16. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,385
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    I don't pay much attention to manufacturers support lists.

    Usually if it fits you can make it work.
     
    scobar likes this.
  17. McDork

    McDork Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Will the processors of this generation be a bottleneck to the RTX 2070?
     
  18. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,385
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    I think that will depend greatly on the game.

    My sense is that we are getting to that point though.
     
  19. bacon612

    bacon612 n00b

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    I'm running a GTX 2080 with a Xeon 5650 on water. 4.4ghz 24/7. I game in 4k for the most part and I can say that there is no bottleneck. In fact most games consume ~20% of all cores under load (far cry 5 max settings). Which other games are you curious about, I'll try them.
     
    ewb302 and Susquehannock like this.
  20. McDork

    McDork Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Thanks bacon, that is good to hear. I'm just thinking down the road a bit, wondering when it will be time to do a new build. I think I will just see how it goes when I get the 2070.
     
  21. ewb302

    ewb302 Gawd

    Messages:
    720
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    More evidence that I'll be keeping my existing setup for the foreseeable future. I think this must be a record for the longest usable motherboard I have ever had.
     
  22. Factum

    Factum [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,440
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Yeah, I never had a system go on as my main system for +9 years before....come Decemeber it will be 10 years old :O
    Upgraded the CPU once...and the GPU...4 or 5 times.
    And sports 6 x SSD's...HDD's are banned in my rig.
     
  23. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,385
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Right?

    My habit is to skip several generations and try to pick good ones. On the Intel side I was still running the P3 Tualatin (actually STILL running, but it is just the keeper of the audio archive now) when I was reading about the upcoming Nehalem core with the memory controller on die. I was like "yep, this is it".

    Was not wrong.

    Have not seen anything even close to making me want to upgrade the Intel boxes yet, especially with the locked down UEFI bullshit they are all saddled with now. Fuck sakes, I do not need fancy UI in my BIOS, and the ability of industry to limit my OS options, even if they have not exercised it...yet...is a deal breaker.

    They are going to have to do better to get my money.
     
  24. bal3wolf

    bal3wolf Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    263
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Well after 9 years of service my x58 board went up in smoke and died melted the 8pin aux to the board.
     
  25. Bigbacon

    Bigbacon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,212
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007

    at 10 years on mine, got it 1/24/2009....I'm about to get rid of it :(

    Sucks too because I don't think I really need to but games are starting to require CPU extensions the xeon just doesn't have. It is such a solid machine. Only thing wrong is the onboard NIC died.

    Just upgraded to a 1080TI also. Board as seen SLI 280s, 480s, 980s, and now this. 2 CPUs, A few ram configurations, 2 sound cards, and whatever else. Longed PC part I have ever used in my main machine for sure. Not bad for a somewhat budget board.

    the 920 i had was overclocked until it died in 2016 i think and I picked up the 5675 or whatrever it is. Both water cooled.
     
  26. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,622
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
  27. bal3wolf

    bal3wolf Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    263
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Funny my onboard nic also died on my x58 i orderd some pcie intel gigabit cards worked great.

    cool ty but im using my p67 and 2600k right now.
     
  28. diceman2037

    diceman2037 n00b

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Turing is only known to work in the following x58 motherboards so far
    The first 8 are reportedly bootable, the rest it is not sure if a uefi loader or second card to boot off is required.

    Rampage III Extreme
    Sabertooth x58
    P6T
    P6t Deluxe
    P6t Deluxe v2
    P6T7 WS SUPERCOMPUTER
    P6X58D-E
    P6X58D PREMIUM

    Alienware 0H869M
    Alienware 04VWF2

    EVGA 131-GT-E767
    EVGA EVGA Classified SR-2
    EVGA X58 SLI FTW3

    G1.Assassin
    X58A-UD3R (Revision not specified)
    X58A-UD5 (Revision not specified)


    Unbootable in
    Rampage II Extreme
    Rampage II Gene
    P6t SE


    Potentially unlikely to work in any motherboard with Phoenix bios and compatibility issues are also a possibility with Award and AMI bios prior to 2011.

    x58 revision is not the issue, the p6t deluxe v2 is a Rev12, and there are Rev13 versions of the RIIE that are unbootable.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  29. McDork

    McDork Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Is this in relation to the RTX 2XXX graphics cards? I hope not as I have an RTX 2070 coming and my mother board is a Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 1002.
    Where did you get this information? I just checked on PC Part picker and my motherboard is listed as compatible with the RTX2070.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2019
  30. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,385
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    I have to admit I am skeptical. Has that whiff of FUD. Let us know McDork.
     
  31. diceman2037

    diceman2037 n00b

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    threads already exist tracking x58 compatibility with turing.

    Partpicker doesn't have any background knowledge on what is and isn't actually functional, its just listed based on the pci-e capability.

    It looks like you are in luck and there are 3 working Gigabyte boards known so far, but whether these are booted with a uefi loader or work directly is unspecified.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  32. McDork

    McDork Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Diceman... did you notice if my particular board was listed as being compatible with the 2070?
     
  33. diceman2037

    diceman2037 n00b

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    going by user reports and whether 3dmark results exist.

    a 3dmark result exists with a 2080 on the X58A-UD3R but the revision is not specified in the result.
     
    McDork likes this.
  34. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,419
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    I have 12gigs of ddr3 1600 and x5670 and thermalright 120 extreme for more or less pay for shipping if someone is in need...my stuff usually goes quick in my FS threads since i price stuff to sell quick. Could be handy for building a pc for family/friend in need. (got 2 pms already so might already be gone)
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  35. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,385
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    PM sent...sigh
     
  36. McDork

    McDork Gawd

    Messages:
    519
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Can you give me a link to this info?
     
  37. ta addict#2

    ta addict#2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    487
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    got two Xeons from ebay,5690,came from CA and 5660,NY ($98,$14),tried the 5690 in a Asus P6T workstation board and the good last bios but get no boot,have a P6X58D PREMIUM to try too
    really would like this setup to work

    didn't try the other memory brand I have,tried the muskin 2G modual and not Gskill 2G
    made the list

    the 5660 has function in the workstation board,good enough
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  38. branana

    branana Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    260
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Are i7 970s considered some of the worst hex core X58 silicons? I see everybody with X5650+ get lower voltage and high frequency. My 970 does 4.3 (187x23) at on 1.4v on R3F. Maybe I need to ditch this and pick up a X5675. Hoping for 4.5ghz