1366 x58 Xeon Enthusiast overclocks club

jimthebob

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
837
Do you find the 24gb faster, equal too, slower, or just better because more memory versus 12gb in triple channel Mode?

12gb vs 24gb won't be any faster unless you need the extra 12gb. I went from 12gb of triple channel on my X58 platform to 32gb on my current X79 2011 system and noticed zero performance difference. If you aren't using 12gb, don't bother going higher unless your epeen needs a boost.
 

Napoleon

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,071
12gb vs 24gb won't be any faster unless you need the extra 12gb. I went from 12gb of triple channel on my X58 platform to 32gb on my current X79 2011 system and noticed zero performance difference. If you aren't using 12gb, don't bother going higher unless your epeen needs a boost.
I was at 6 and went to 24 instead of 12 more because I could for an extra $30 than any other reason, last upgrade to an old platform :). Plus, doesn't 24gb just sound more extreme?
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
lol never know when you need that 24 i remmber when i was trying out running ark servers it eats up a ton of memory 18gigs waset enugh for mutiple servers.
 

SSimmons05

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
202
lol never know when you need that 24 i remmber when i was trying out running ark servers it eats up a ton of memory 18gigs waset enugh for mutiple servers.
Something like that I could see, but the two most intense things I play (Dcs A10-c) & (Command: Modern Naval/Air Warfare) max out around 7-8 gigs used including system, that's with everything loaded in DCS and 300-500 units in Command going at it.
 

jimthebob

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
837
I was at 6 and went to 24 instead of 12 more because I could for an extra $30 than any other reason, last upgrade to an old platform :). Plus, doesn't 24gb just sound more extreme?

Oh I'm not saying I wouldn't have done the same thing, just that it won't get used that often :happy:
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
Something like that I could see, but the two most intense things I play (Dcs A10-c) & (Command: Modern Naval/Air Warfare) max out around 7-8 gigs used including system, that's with everything loaded in DCS and 300-500 units in Command going at it.

never know tho i retired my x58 to be my server so then it got used for alot of differnt things have ran mutiple game servers on it for friends.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
19
Anyone here have experience running high QPI voltage (1.4V-1.5V) for 24/7 use? Yes, I understand that this in excess of Intel's absolute maximum. I think it might be justified given my situation.

The problem is that I've got an ES X5650 with the B0 stepping. On both the ASUS P6X58E-WS and MSI X58M motherboards, the uncore multiplier is locked at 20x. On the ASUS, I can change the uncore multiplier in the BIOS but the speed reported by CPU-Z implies 20x uncore mutliplier regardless of BIOS setting. On the MSI, I cannot even change the uncore multiplier in the BIOS. It seems to me that the uncore is locked on the B0 but not the retail B1. The implications of this are pretty simple: My X5650 overclocks like crap and is basically worthless.

I have an i7 980X that runs at 4.3GHz, but I want to sell it before Ryzen releases. Once CPU prices in the market adjust (decrease) following the Ryzen release, I might buy a proper 1366 chip again or even get Ryzen. In the meantime, I want to keep my X58 rig up and running and get performance as close to my 980X as possible. Because I don't care about hurting my CPU as long as it lasts 2-3 months, it should be fine, right? I guess my main concern is that I don't want to kill either of my motherboards by running a high QPI voltage. Does anyone know if running a high QPI 24/7 poses significant risk to the motherboard?

In order to hit 20x200, I need a 4000MHz uncore, a tall task indeed. I have managed to pull off the following OC:

CPU Vcore = 1.35V
CPU QPI/DRAM = 1.45V
CPU PLL = 1.80V
VDIMM = 1.65V

BCLK = 184
Memory Ratio = 8
Uncore multiplier = 20x

Base CPU clock = 3680MHz
Memory Frequency = 1472MHz
Uncore Frequency = 3680MHz

I have ran IntelBurnTest on the standard setting 5 times and was stable with temps at 76C on air. However, ~3.7GHz just isn't good enough for me. At this point, I'm debating going even higher on the QPI and trying 1.5V. If I wasn't worried about my boards I'd just go for it and happily report back with whether this thing degraded itself to oblivion or blew altogether.

Lesson learned: Stick to retail B1 stepping 1366 Xeons for overclocking.
 
Last edited:

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
i ran 1.40 for years with a 930 then for a few months with my 5670 till it got to hot with summer.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
19
Turns out that I was able to get an aggrressive memory overclock thanks to having to run high QPI voltage. I ended up with a 10x memory multiplier at 1.4625V QPI.

184*20 = 3680MHz on the core and uncore
920*2 = 1840MHz on the memory with 9-10-9-27 1T timings on 3x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600MHz @ 1.65V

5 runs on IBT stable, 18 hours stable on Memtest86+

Any higher uncore frequency requires a ton of QPI voltage (nearly 1.5V just to get to 190MHz) and temps skyrocket. Guess I'll stop here.

I'm going to run 1.4625V QPI 24/7 for a few months. I'll report back if anything goes wrong.
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
you likely can run higher clock i was able to do 1900+ on my memory on my asus board.

heres a screenshot of my 5675 running 4400.

x5675_4400.png
 

Luka

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
130
I wish 2011 was overclockable like 1366 platform. 1366 platform was correctly designed.
 

Gasaraki_

Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
617
I wish 2011 was overclockable like 1366 platform. 1366 platform was correctly designed.

The x58 was a true enthusiast platform. People who spent the extra money were rewarded especially now because the cpus are still competitive when overclocked.
 

Luka

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
130
The x58 was a true enthusiast platform. People who spent the extra money were rewarded especially now because the cpus are still competitive when overclocked.

If i could find evga sr-2 motherboard i would build system around it in no beat. it would be an ultimate gaming / pro workstation with 4.0+Ghz two cpu totalling 12/24 cores setup. Triple channel of DDR3 is still enough since DDR3 speed reaches DDR4 speed with better timings.
 

wareyore

Hard DC'er of the Month November 2021
Joined
Jan 1, 2014
Messages
958
SR2's show up eBay regularly. I know of an SR2 that may find it's way on eBay soon. Currently, it has a pair of x5690's sitting in it. I can't find a reason to upgrade as most consumer solutions would be more like a sidegrade at best and possibly even a downgrade.
 

Napoleon

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,071
I'd love to get a chip doing 4.5+, but I'm pretty sure the gamble on another chip would not be worth the potential performance increase over my current 4.2ghz chip. Why, why must I listen to logic?!
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
What cooler are you using ?

I believe i was still using my SilverStone Heligon HE01 at the time of the screen shot. I switched to a cm master liquid a friend gave me but thinking of switching back to my HE01
 

~ever~

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 6, 2000
Messages
2,256
I got a predator 360 and my x5660 is at 20x200 at 1.35v and it's reaching around 98c and then my system shuts down. I thought it would be more than enough for this CPU.

I'm thinking my water block is not making good contact.
 

Eric1285

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
1,516
I got a predator 360 and my x5660 is at 20x200 at 1.35v and it's reaching around 98c and then my system shuts down. I thought it would be more than enough for this CPU.

I'm thinking my water block is not making good contact.

Yeah, definitely re-seat and re-apply your TIM, cause that's way too hot.
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
I got a predator 360 and my x5660 is at 20x200 at 1.35v and it's reaching around 98c and then my system shuts down. I thought it would be more than enough for this CPU.

I'm thinking my water block is not making good contact.

ya somthings not right the cm master liquid is only a thin 120mm rad and i can push 1.45 and hit 89-93c on the hottest core in ibt.
 

Gasaraki_

Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
617
I got a predator 360 and my x5660 is at 20x200 at 1.35v and it's reaching around 98c and then my system shuts down. I thought it would be more than enough for this CPU.

I'm thinking my water block is not making good contact.

Something is definitely wrong.
 

Gasaraki_

Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
617

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
well im kinda in the same boat i got the smart idea to change back to my air cooler from the clc and had worse temps so went back to the clc and cant get my temps i had back lol tho i have been able to push 1.43 and stay under 90c on ibt. My aio is just a thin 120 so yours def should be cooling much better unless maybe you have got a very hot cpu i remmber my old 930 i had was a hot sucker no matter the volts on a full custom loop with a 360 and 240.
 

SSimmons05

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
202
I got a predator 360 and my x5660 is at 20x200 at 1.35v and it's reaching around 98c and then my system shuts down. I thought it would be more than enough for this CPU.

I'm thinking my water block is not making good contact.

Just get a cheap water cooler, my 5690 has the corsair hydro 60 on it, and under full load on all 6/12 cores it never goes above 45c
 

SSimmons05

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
202
I have an

ASUS P6T6 WS Revolution mobo
12GB RAM
Xeon x5675 overclocked to 4.0GHz

I came from a i7-920 to a i7-960 then now 2 months ago went to the x5675.

the processor was so cheap I couldn't resist. But now my lack of SATA3 or other newer tech is holding me back. I guess I could just buy upgrade cards.

That was my deal, so I just picked up a 4 port controller card for my 3 256gb SSDS. You can find some decent brands for around $80 to $100, but even the $30 to $40 ones work great, I just couldn't for some mental block put the SSDs to any controller under $75 lol. Then add in a USB 3.0 card, and your good, for at least another year till Ryzen version 2.0 cpus and mobo come out, and Intel has more price slashes as well, will finally be the right time to put the 10 year old girl to bed, the 10 year old computer I refer to as "girl" that is.
 

SSimmons05

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
202
This was given to me long ago.....and its on page 1 btw lol...


These are Max Safe settings AFAIK
Looks like your PCIE is over the line to me? For what its worth i could swear the RIII3 doesn't benefit from raising PLL voltage? Im not sure i understand you bios settings..Is your QPI really at 1.35 or 1.31? I know mine needs higher dram voltage, but i guess we use different ram? Are you using highest multi with lowest blck for 4.2ghz? If not you should be.What memory speed and what not could be a factor? its best if you list ALL settings that could effect stability....anyway this is what im using, but i think are boards like somewhat different settings....so this is just fyi..

cpu voltage 1.35
pll voltage 1.9
qpi/dram 1.35
dram 1.65
all spread spec disabled
dram speed 1531
qpi link 6893
overclock xmp
dram time all default
i use highest multi for me 22
speedstep disabled
c-states all on
blck 191

Windows 10 runs PERFECT on mine....transfer speeds are very fast! Probably just need to figure out what settings you have wrong. I think theirs still a few people here using that board so you might need to give people time to check in and they get you sorted out.

All the reviews I've seen, and boards handled for 1366 PLL voltage never affected anything.
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
7,302
Anyone here actually halfway considering upgrading to the 1700x? Who would have thought AMD finally come out with a new cpu that almost doubles (sorta like 1000 vs 1800) with CINEBENCH R15 or most ANY other cpu mulithreaded benchmark scores.
 

bal3wolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
471
my x58 is my backup rig so no for me i thought about it for my gaming rig but likely will still stick with intel amd has quite a few bugs to work out still months down the road.
 

Napoleon

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,071
Nah I'm planning on a 1080ti on my X58, gonna play with my overclock to see if I can get anymore MHz out of it without ridiculous vcore. TBH, I've thought about higher voltage knowing it only needs to last another 1-2 years before a platform upgrade, I just like to be safeish. Thermally I could handle a ton more heat, just not sure that 200mhz is worth much
 

ewb302

Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
727
I'm still using my old Gigabyte X58-UD3R with an i7 930. Been reading about this xeon upgrade for a long time. Currently I have 6 GB or memory in tri-channel. If I also upgrade memory, do I stick with tri-channel or, will the motherboard/cpu work in a dual channel configuration?
 

Napoleon

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
1,071
I'm still using my old Gigabyte X58-UD3R with an i7 930. Been reading about this xeon upgrade for a long time. Currently I have 6 GB or memory in tri-channel. If I also upgrade memory, do I stick with tri-channel or, will the motherboard/cpu work in a dual channel configuration?
I have the same board, I stuck with triple channel because ram was cheap and I wanted over 16gb (3x4 or 3x8 were my options). That said, dual channel will work 2x8 if you want. Not sure if you have SSD but that plus Xeon and some ram and you'll feel like it's a new computer

I have 3x of these, but bought for much cheaper almost a year ago (I believe there is a ram shortage right now). https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-Ball...sr=8-2&keywords=crucial+ballistix+low+profile
 
Last edited:

DogChainX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 8, 2004
Messages
2,037
Anyone else going to, or better yet has jumped from x58 to AMD Ryzen? 4.4GHz x5660, 24GB 1600MHz, Rampage Extreme III

I don't need the PCIe lanes of x99, nor do I want the cost associated. I also want to support AMD this round and I'm very much loving the benchmarks of the 1700 overclocked. I could get away with CPU/RAM/MOBO upgrade for about $650-800, about HALF of what an x99 system I wanted would cost, and still sell my current setup for about $400+. An inexpensive upgrade.
 

caltech31

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
140
Anyone else going to, or better yet has jumped from x58 to AMD Ryzen? 4.4GHz x5660, 24GB 1600MHz, Rampage Extreme III

I don't need the PCIe lanes of x99, nor do I want the cost associated. I also want to support AMD this round and I'm very much loving the benchmarks of the 1700 overclocked. I could get away with CPU/RAM/MOBO upgrade for about $650-800, about HALF of what an x99 system I wanted would cost, and still sell my current setup for about $400+. An inexpensive upgrade.

I don't have the heart to part with my x58 setup. While it is curretly collecting dust as a "media/backup" computer, I will still occassionally run benches at 4.6ghz to see how it compares with Broadwell E etc.

If you can get $400 for your current setup, a Ryzen 1700 is almost a no brainer. But gosh it would be hard to let go of the last great overclocking platform.

Still a monster platform, but the chipset limitations (lack of Sata 6, USB 3 etc) is why I ultimately relegated it to backup duty.

P.S: If any of you are interested, a Westmere at 4.6Ghz using 3.5ghz UNCORE is as fast as a stock 6800k. 144 Cinibench Single Threaded, 1078 Multi Threaded, and 16000k physics score in Firestrike.

P.S #2; PCI E 2.0 does slightly hold back a GTX 1070 at 1440p. I ran my 1070 in both my Haswell and Westermere systems (specs in sig) and the Firestrike graphics score is about 1000 points lower on the Westmere. I scored 20600 Graphics using my Haswell, and 19400 using the x58, both using identical clocks on the video card. Something to consider.
 

legcramp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
12,320
So I have been upping my overclock from 4.0ghz on my system lately just for fun.

I am able to get it stable running Realbench for 4 hours with the following settings:

  • X5650 @ 4.4Ghz
  • DDR3 1600 @ 8-9-8-24 1T (1.65v)
  • QPI: 7.2Ghz
  • Uncore: x13
  • 1.392 Vcore
  • 1.355 VTT

When I am running the Uncore @ 16x, which gives me 3200mhz, Realbench will fail within 2 hours. What do you guys suggest I can do to keep the uncore running at the higher speed?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stu
like this

shef

n00b
Joined
Mar 20, 2017
Messages
1
New to the forum. Just found this thread. I'm upgrading an old i7-920 on a ASUS P6T to a W3670 that is in the mail right now while I ponder if I want to jump on the AMD bandwagon next year when they've ironed out the wrinkles.

I'm finding one of the hardest things on my current setup is the 6GB of ram. I totally wished I had bought 12GB at the onset, but who knew I was going to keep this rig for this long!

Anybody on these forums have any OCZ Gold OCZ3G1600LV6GK 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 PC3-12800 CL 8-8-8-24 Triple Channel that is gathering dust in a shelf somewhere that they want to part ways with?

Ian
 
Top