10TB WD Easystore + 32GB USB $180

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by BlueFireIce, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. UZ7

    UZ7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    164
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Got one from Best Buy when it was $169 w/ the 32GB flash drive.

    So far so good, doing a Surface test (26 hours).

    10TB Easystore WD100EMAZ-00WJTA0
     
  2. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,063
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Bought 8 last time. I need to get 10 more. I’ll have to check tomorrow if it’s still available.
     
  3. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,261
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    You need to casually go buy 100TB like no big deal?
     
  4. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    913
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Thats pretty standard I bought 9 during the January deal, why are you weird and only buying one or two :p?
     
    d50man likes this.
  5. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,063
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    I need it, what can I say?
     
  6. elite.mafia

    elite.mafia Broke Back [H]

    Messages:
    11,271
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    I ordered one from best buy for next day shipping, $148.74 after tax. Not bad for 8tb
     
  7. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,261
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
  8. drescherjm likes this.
  9. blade52x

    blade52x 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,951
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
  10. 86 5.0L

    86 5.0L [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,773
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    drescherjm likes this.
  11. 86 5.0L

    86 5.0L [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,773
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Nvm looks like the promocode is dead when the box doesnt show up
     

  12. Yep. You normally put it in when you go to the cart.

    No promo code box now.
     
  13. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,610
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    That's a lot. The Plex is strong with this one.
     
  14. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,063
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    My Plex is only 2-3 tb. The rest is family videos and pictures, computer back ups for my whole family, (this is probably the largest one probably 8tb total) and files for my consulting side business.
     
  15. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,522
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    My plex is a modest 30tb and growing. I’ve decided to only buy 10tb+ from now on though.
     
  16. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,610
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    16x4tb here. Next time I upgrade, I will use 8 or 10tb drives. I would like the price to drop just a bit more on them. I don't want to shuck a bunch of drives.
     
  17. lightsout

    lightsout Gawd

    Messages:
    829
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    You guys got me beat, I am only add 3x8tb with 4x2tb for redundancy in snap raid. Odd setup I know, but I upgraded from 2tb drives. This has enabled me, at least for now to not have to buy a 8tb and not use the space because its a parity drive. Would love to get a few more. But I have 10tb free and filling it slowly.
     
  18. Hashiriya415

    Hashiriya415 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2019
    What gains are there when using 7200rpm over a 5400?
    For most part I'm planning to store media to watch. Might do light video editing but I guess that would use primary SSD. I'm trying to understand what circumstances do you go for 7200?..
     
  19. alaricljs

    alaricljs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    264
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    You gain a small number of iops. So it's only truly meaningful when you have a large enough number of spindles and an appropriate raid layout where that small number aggregates into a meaningful value.
     
  20. Hashiriya415

    Hashiriya415 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2019
    Can you please explain it in simpler English for me? :happy: I don't understand a single thing.
     
  21. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    913
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Basically when you use raid it can provide increased performance because while the small speed increase of 15-20Mbps in a single drive is negligible, linking 5+ of the faster drives in raid can be a substantial performance difference.
     
  22. Hashiriya415

    Hashiriya415 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2019
    I was reading it like "if the hard drive has enough spindles". No wonder I couldn't understand it.
    But running just one and using it 95% for just playing movies. 5400 vs 7200 wouldn't show any difference?
     
  23. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,511
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    You will notice no difference at all, even witrh 4k files.
     
  24. rmd3003

    rmd3003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    317
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    In your case ("store media to watch") there will be no difference at all. 5400 is more than enough. Well, unless multiple people access your media at the same time.
     
  25. Hashiriya415

    Hashiriya415 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2019
    Two people might watch at same time. Three would be super rare.
     
  26. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,511
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    If you're using something like Plex to do this, I think you'll be fine. It queues up chunks of data at a time, rather than stream the little bit of data constantly. Make sure you keep the plex media server program data on an ssd, and you should never have problems. Also a good idea to keep the transcode directory on another drive (mechanical not ssd,) but not as important. Your internet upload speed will likely be a limiting factor long before the drive's capabilities.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2019
  27. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,286
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    I'd recommend not keeping your transcode directory on an SSD. That's the only way I've ever killed one but it did still last 6 years. If you do go that root, dedicate one to it so when you do have to replace it, it's a simple swap with nothing else installed on that drive. Doesn't have to be large, but the writes will eventually kill it.
     
    arnemetis likes this.
  28. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,522
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Where do you change the transcode directory?
     
  29. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,286
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Settings - Transcoder - Transcoder temporary directory
     
  30. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    913
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Settings->transcoder and then change the temp directory.
    I gave my plex 64 gigs of ram so I could allocate a 48gb ramdisk transcode directory, thats on top of being SSD base, it queues and plays insanely fast.

    (it also keeps transcode from eating up writes on my SSD)
     
  31. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,511
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    You're absolutely correct, I did not make that clear. The transcode directory works just fine on a mechanical drive, it's what I myself do. Just the Plex Media Server data benefits from being on an ssd. I edited my post to clarify.
     
    ND40oz likes this.
  32. Hashiriya415

    Hashiriya415 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2019
    How do you guys have this setup? Like what kind of build do you have? I feel like I should start another thread for this.?
     
  33. Joust

    Joust 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,610
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Yes.
     
    Hashiriya415 likes this.
  34. Fritzz

    Fritzz Gawd

    Messages:
    681
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    If you make one link it. Wouldn't mind seeing how others have Plex setup too.
     
  35. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    913
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
  36. UZ7

    UZ7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    164
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Penguincomp likes this.
  37. Penguincomp

    Penguincomp Racer [H]

    Messages:
    10,195
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
  38. rmd3003

    rmd3003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    317
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Interesting what's inside of "Elements" - red, white, blue? "Easystore" 10TB has white drives inside.
     
  39. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,286
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Been trying to order for the past few hours, can't get shoprunner to work...and out of stock. Typical Newegg.
     
  40. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,366
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Typical in what way. I have ordered 10's of thousands worth of computer parts from Newegg. If you mean typical in that I get what I ordered and have returned wrongly ordered parts w/out issue. shrug

    But if you mean you're having an issue or they are having an issue or "Shoprunner" is having an issue.. ... .. shit happens
    If people could not order from newegg I doubt they'd still be in business.