10TB WD Easystore + 32GB USB $180

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by Deleted member 184142, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. Blazestorm

    Blazestorm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,940
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Most of the BestBuy sales have been pretty short, I setup Slickdeals alerts for it, waiting for 8TB @ $130
     
  2. Donnelltech

    Donnelltech [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    I just got an email from Bestbuy with early access for the president's day sale and the 10TB with 32GB Flash drive are at $169.99. I'm currently chatting with an agent to get my price adjustment from the ones I bought 2 weeks ago.
     
  3. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,458
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I guess I'll have to wait for the sale to go active. I didn't see early access in my e-mail...oh well.
     
  4. Donnelltech

    Donnelltech [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Its posted on Slick Deals as well. I just had to sign in to my account to see the pricing.
     
    kirbyrj likes this.
  5. chizow

    chizow Gawd

    Messages:
    870
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Yep this is a My BestBuy Early access for Elite/Plus members, but it should go live for everyone starting tomorrow. Don't overlook the 32GB EasyStore drives either, which are really just rebadged Sandisk Cruzer Glides. Great for your Windows Media Creation tools Win10, Server 2016, entire bootable OS etc.
     
  6. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,060
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    upload_2019-2-14_9-59-4.png

    Confirmed I'm elite plus from all the 8TB drives I bought last year :p
     
  7. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,458
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Now I got it. Thanks. Picked one up. $180 with tax.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  8. mlcarson

    mlcarson Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    314
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    $183.59 with tax here in tax crazy Kalifornia. Not sure if I needed but worse case, it replaces 3x3TB older HDD's.
     
  9. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,458
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Mine arrived yesterday and it has a rattle inside the enclosure. What a PITA. I plugged it in anyway and am testing it to see if the drive is good as I'm just going to shuck it anyway.
     
  10. rmd3003

    rmd3003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    It's still $169 as of now. Interesting that many stores around are out of stock. Maybe BB just unloading them. It's just too low.
     
  11. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,060
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Possible, but its a new product too.
    Maybe they’re selling out the combos with the flash drive to make room for a package with just the drive.
     
  12. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,562
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Is a 10TB supposed to show up as 9.09tb in windows?
     
  13. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,060
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    After formatting that sounds about right 9.0949TB ~ 9313 gigs
     
  14. Absalom

    Absalom Gawd

    Messages:
    676
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Yep, they are still advertising in multiples of 1000 instead of 1024.

    So, 10TB in marketing terms = 10 * 10^12 bytes.

    1 TB by any legit OS will be calculated as 1024^4 bytes.

    So divide 10 * 10^12 by 1024^4 and you get 9.094957.... TB.

    So, yes, Windows is correct.
     
  15. It's not from formatting, and it's not marketing. It's SI units, which is a IEEE/IEC standard manufactures follow. Decimal vs Binary, SI units are base 10, while Windows uses Binary which is base 2.

    IEC Prefixes.
     
  16. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,060
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    I didnt say it was due to formatting, not disagreeing with you, but thats the usable space...after you format it :p thats kinda required to be able to use it in windows.
     
  17. nightfly

    nightfly 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,341
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    So, what file system will give us 10TB out of that 10TB device? And is it something we can actually use, say, on a common NAS? Or is the 10TB just like a quarter pound hamburger, but only if you eat it raw will you ever get a quarter pound of meat out of it?
     
  18. GamerAddict76

    GamerAddict76 n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    You will always lose some in the formatting. Just like your quarter-pounder.lol
     
  19. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,458
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I figured out what was rattling inside mine. The one plastic clip holding the mounts snapped off. I snapped it back in and it's good as new (for another drive since I shucked that one).
     
  20. Read the link I posted. You are not losing or gaining space, the size on disk does not change. In SI units it's base 10, so 1000 bytes to a KiB, 1024 bytes to a kB. What you are doing is looking at them as the same, which they are not, it's like seeing a ruler and wondering why one person says it's 12in and someone else claims it's 30cm. There is no actual reason to use base 2 for HDD, for other memory types such as RAM it's addressed by physical binary address, so using base 2 is a natural fit. Some Linux uses base 10 for HDD and network and base 2 for RAM etc, iOS also does this, Windows however uses Base 2, so 1024 sizes for the file system.

    Nothing is lost. :banghead:
     
  21. nightfly

    nightfly 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,341
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    &
    Okay, okay, nothing is lost. I just wish MdDonalds would stop formatting my quarter pounders in base sixteen, because I KNOW I'm losing something there.
     
  22. UnknownSouljer

    UnknownSouljer [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,956
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Can anyone comment on the performance of these drives? Looking for a cheap massive options to RAID and video edit off of.
     
  23. Blazestorm

    Blazestorm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,940
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
  24. SolidBladez

    SolidBladez [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,274
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Mine get about 220 MB/s sequential read and write. With software RAID-0 (Windows) I get nearly double that. If you use them in the USB 3.0 enclosure your random writes and reads will suffer a bit.
     
  25. UnknownSouljer

    UnknownSouljer [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,956
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    The plan is this:

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076C72RX2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_DTnCCb97RXG1J

    And probably software raid 5. If I can afford more than one enclosure, I'll probably run one with straight raid 0 across the four drives.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2019
  26. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,570
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    There was around an hour last night where WD Elements 10TB was $145 at B&H with limit two, but I found it too late - right as the SD droolers had run it out of stock. Then price went to $159.99 with backorder. I believe it can still be backordered for $159.99

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1433062-REG

    To my knowledge, lowest they've ever been.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  27. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,570
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
  28. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,562
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Would these be ok for Plex. Would be a lot of reading. Not much writing.
     
  29. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,475
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    They would be great for Plex. I would keep them as externals until at least the warranty expires.


    Must resist. Must resist...
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  30. Livewyre

    Livewyre n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Im in for 2 at this price.
     
  31. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,684
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    As long as you're careful shucking them, no reason to not just keep the external enclosures in a box for warranty purposes (this is what I did with the 8x in my server.) If I have a failure, it will be easy enough to put it back into the enclosure, I didn't do any damage at all to any of my enclosures.
     
  32. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,060
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    This, I shucked all 12 of mine with no issue and have the enclosures in a box in my garage.
     
    kirbyrj likes this.
  33. rmd3003

    rmd3003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    So what is inside of 10TB Elements? I know 10TB Easystore are white drives.
     
  34. NGX

    NGX Gawd

    Messages:
    563
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    They are also whites. People are reporting getting either WD100EMAZ-00M9AA0 (air filled) or WD100EMAZ-00WJTA0 (helium filled).
     
  35. rmd3003

    rmd3003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Both amazon and B&H are backordered. People are like locust - a few minutes and everything is gone ;)
     
  36. asheron42

    asheron42 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    I've shucked several of these, haven't gotten a helium filled one yet.
     
  37. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,444
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    I've have 1 Easystore from Best Buy and 3 Elements from Amazon and they've all been WD100EMAZ-00WJTA0.
     
  38. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,570
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    upload_2019-2-28_12-16-22.png
     
    Lateralus, rmd3003 and eclypse like this.
  39. rmd3003

    rmd3003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    LOL - Walking Shuckers (Season 2019)
     
    Lateralus and eclypse like this.
  40. Makeroflostsouls

    Makeroflostsouls 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,547
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    I picked up 2 on the b&h deal. Back ordered but all well. Server is down right now as I just moved any way.