10TB WD Easystore + 32GB USB $180

  • Thread starter Deleted member 184142
  • Start date

lightsout

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,181
can someone enlighten me as to the difference between WD "my book" "elements" and "easystore" branding?
They have different warranty's. I think at this point at 8tb the drives are pretty much the same.

I think some are also easier to shuck than others.
 

Spartacus09

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2018
Messages
1,878
can someone enlighten me as to the difference between WD "my book" "elements" and "easystore" branding?
Easystore is a Bestbuy exclusive so it's only sold there and through their ebay store.
The elements and mybook series are global and sold at various stores and retailers.

The easystores have been predictable what drives are in them because of this the elements/mybook can vary on which drives are inside in the past, but most of the time now they have the white label drives (theres a chance its an older model though always best to check before shucking).

To expand on lightsout comment, the easystore and mybook have 2y warranties, the elements has a 3y warranty.
 

lightsout

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,181
Easystore is a Bestbuy exclusive so it's only sold there and through their ebay store.
The elements and mybook series are global and sold at various stores and retailers.

The easystores have been predictable what drives are in them because of this the elements/mybook can vary on which drives are inside.

To expand on lightsout comment, the easystore and mybook have 2y warranties, the elements has a 3y warranty.
I thought the elements was the cheap version and only had 1 year? Interesting sounds like I need to look into that more.
 

lightsout

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,181
Easystore is a Bestbuy exclusive so it's only sold there and through their ebay store.
The elements and mybook series are global and sold at various stores and retailers.

The easystores have been predictable what drives are in them because of this the elements/mybook can vary on which drives are inside in the past, but most of the time now they have the white label drives (theres a chance its an older model though always best to check before shucking).

To expand on lightsout comment, the easystore and mybook have 2y warranties, the elements has a 3y warranty.
Elements only 1 year. It's the budget model.
 

Luke M

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
501
can someone enlighten me as to the difference between WD "my book" "elements" and "easystore" branding?

Elements & Easystore are the same, but Easystore is Best Buy exclusive. My Book is the "premium" version with a longer warranty and a few frills.
 

vibe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
1,491
oh this is interesting, re: /r/datahorder

Elements and Easystore have WD100EMAZ which are helium filled

My Book has WD100EZAZ which is air filled
 

mikeo

Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
660
In for one, no plans on shucking it, but will work well as an occasional backup drive that stays unplugged and powered off unless it's being backed up to.
 

Luke M

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
501
oh this is interesting, re: /r/datahorder

Elements and Easystore have WD100EMAZ which are helium filled

My Book has WD100EZAZ which is air filled

Huh? I don't think WD (or anyone) makes an air 10TB drive.
 

gdonovan

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
1,818
Picked up a 10T unit on Friday night for my media back up needs... slow going with USB 2.0 but that is expected.
 

fore1337

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2004
Messages
1,416
Putting 6X of these into a new media server. Any suggestions on a new power supply that will work with these? thx!

Edit: I'm building a regular i7 PC, not using an off the shelf commercial nas.
 
Last edited:

chizow

Gawd
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
939
Put 6x of these into a new Synology, FAST and QUIET!!!!

No issues at all in the NAS units I've tried them in, PSUs and such for media servers YMMV.
 

lightsout

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,181
Put 6x of these into a new Synology, FAST and QUIET!!!!

No issues at all in the NAS units I've tried them in, PSUs and such for media servers YMMV.
Thats a sweet little setup with a lot of storage, whats the actual usable space? Assuming some parody.
 

chizow

Gawd
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
939
Thats a sweet little setup with a lot of storage, whats the actual usable space? Assuming some parody.
I went with RAID10 to minimize CPU overhead and maximize performance as they are all same disks and sizes so roughly 29TB addressable or something like that. I could've gotten 40TB with Synology Hybrid RAID or RAID6 but SHR is meant more for different disk sizes and the ability to append the array later with new disks, while RAID6 carries 2 parity bits for each write so carries a significant overhead. The 4-core Atom is pretty capable, but I plan to run at least a few apps (Plex, HD Homerun DVR etc) so I don't want to bog the CPU down too much and even a 50MB/s copy from my old NAS was putting it into the 10-15% utilization range.
 

lightsout

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,181
I went with RAID10 to minimize CPU overhead and maximize performance as they are all same disks and sizes so roughly 29TB addressable or something like that. I could've gotten 40TB with Synology Hybrid RAID or RAID6 but SHR is meant more for different disk sizes and the ability to append the array later with new disks, while RAID6 carries 2 parity bits for each write so carries a significant overhead. The 4-core Atom is pretty capable, but I plan to run at least a few apps (Plex, HD Homerun DVR etc) so I don't want to bog the CPU down too much and even a 50MB/s copy from my old NAS was putting it into the 10-15% utilization range.
What did the NAS run you, they always feel pricey when I look at them, but I have just always re-purposed old hardware for my file server.
 

chizow

Gawd
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
939
What did the NAS run you, they always feel pricey when I look at them, but I have just always re-purposed old hardware for my file server.
It was the Synology DS1618+ that went on sale for $600 at Amazon, Newegg over the Thanksgiving to Cyber Monday sale period.

Good NAS units are definitely pricey, but an enclosure with this many bays, expandability, performance with the Synology OS and apps for $100 per bay is pretty awesome. Cheap NAS units you get what you pay for, there's always something you aren't happy about and overall the performance or web/cloud capabilities are just lackluster. I had 2 older NAS units that I couldn't justify putting $1200 worth of new HDDs into, so I bit the bullet and put them all into this Synology.

Rolling your own file server has its pros and cons as well, but the last thing I wanted to do was add another large chassis (you can't really skimp on chassis when going with 4+3.5" drives), large footprint, and heavy touch file server to configure. I do run a HyperV server with all my VMs but it is VERY lightweight in size, power, and local storage and I plan to use a 10GbE card from that microATX rig to my NAS which can also upgrade to 10GbE with a network card.
 

lightsout

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,181
It was the Synology DS1618+ that went on sale for $600 at Amazon, Newegg over the Thanksgiving to Cyber Monday sale period.

Good NAS units are definitely pricey, but an enclosure with this many bays, expandability, performance with the Synology OS and apps for $100 per bay is pretty awesome. Cheap NAS units you get what you pay for, there's always something you aren't happy about and overall the performance or web/cloud capabilities are just lackluster. I had 2 older NAS units that I couldn't justify putting $1200 worth of new HDDs into, so I bit the bullet and put them all into this Synology.

Rolling your own file server has its pros and cons as well, but the last thing I wanted to do was add another large chassis (you can't really skimp on chassis when going with 4+3.5" drives), large footprint, and heavy touch file server to configure. I do run a HyperV server with all my VMs but it is VERY lightweight in size, power, and local storage and I plan to use a 10GbE card from that microATX rig to my NAS which can also upgrade to 10GbE with a network card.
Thanks for the info, I'll grab one one of these days. Yeah another full tower sitting around isn't my favorite but it gets the job done.
 

fore1337

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2004
Messages
1,416
It was the Synology DS1618+ that went on sale for $600 at Amazon, Newegg over the Thanksgiving to Cyber Monday sale period.

Good NAS units are definitely pricey, but an enclosure with this many bays, expandability, performance with the Synology OS and apps for $100 per bay is pretty awesome. Cheap NAS units you get what you pay for, there's always something you aren't happy about and overall the performance or web/cloud capabilities are just lackluster. I had 2 older NAS units that I couldn't justify putting $1200 worth of new HDDs into, so I bit the bullet and put them all into this Synology.

Rolling your own file server has its pros and cons as well, but the last thing I wanted to do was add another large chassis (you can't really skimp on chassis when going with 4+3.5" drives), large footprint, and heavy touch file server to configure. I do run a HyperV server with all my VMs but it is VERY lightweight in size, power, and local storage and I plan to use a 10GbE card from that microATX rig to my NAS which can also upgrade to 10GbE with a network card.
That's a well thought out setup. Thanks for sharing all of the details. I took a hard look at purchasing a unit like yours. It just so happened that I have an HTPC available, to repurpose as a server: i7-2700k 32Gb Memory and SSD HD for the OS. So really, I'm just spending $ on a nice case, a new PSU, and a RAID expansion card (Mobo can only handle 8 SATA devices).
Man, RAID cards get pricy fast when you start getting into the higher quality ones, with 4+ ports.
 
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
That's a well thought out setup. Thanks for sharing all of the details. I took a hard look at purchasing a unit like yours. It just so happened that I have an HTPC available, to repurpose as a server: i7-2700k 32Gb Memory and SSD HD for the OS. So really, I'm just spending $ on a nice case, a new PSU, and a RAID expansion card (Mobo can only handle 8 SATA devices).
Man, RAID cards get pricy fast when you start getting into the higher quality ones, with 4+ ports.

Thats why most people get used server pull RAID cards (LSI or the like if I remember). I know people here have a list of the best newer ones, but the ones people were getting before were in the $40-80 range, they are SAS cards, supporting 8-10 drives each. Popular thing is a off lease workstation or something off ebay, often around $200-250, with an i7 or Xeon, 32GB RAM, get the SAS card, and new case for the setup with enough drive room, so for about $350-400 you have a much more powerful and expandable setup than any off the shelf NAS, great thing about some of the off lease work stations is many don't even need new PSUs, as lots of the work stations already come with a 500-600W PSU, so lots of power for a number of drives still.
 

Justintoxicated

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
14,500
I just use these with an old C2D quadcore MB that had a bunch of SATA ports (it broke so currently have a micro ATX board installed in it's place) But now it needs an upgrade because the PCIE slot won't work when I install 8GB of ram for some reason. Then I use stablebits drive pool for a JBOD drive pool. This make is easy to buy a bunch of different drives and ensure data integrity and redundancy. You lose some performance but not that big of a deal for a household file server. The only downside is I need to figure out a way to identify from software which drive is attached to which port on the MB. That would make replacing old drives with larger capacity ones easier. (typically I just remove a drive front the pool, and then add the new drive to the pool and let the software balance the data :)

Not a fan of raid arrays since you can lose 2 disks and be screwed, plus you should have matching drives etc. I like to just replace drives as I need more space. And you get folder level redundancy.

Meaning I can copy pictures to the drive and set redundancy level to 3 or 4 for a particular folder to ensure data from just that folder is copied onto multiple disks, while leaving less important files to not be duplicated, or duplicated less etc.
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,426
That's an interested setup you have on the c2d. So basically you just need a lot of ports for drives and drive pool handles the rest?
 

Justintoxicated

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
14,500
That's an interested setup you have on the c2d. So basically you just need a lot of ports for drives and drive pool handles the rest?
Yea it could use an upgrade, but a MB with a bunch of sata ports is best. You can add more with cards, which is what I had to do when my DFI lanparty MB died. hah! Pulled apart an old foxcon PC I wasn't using and it's been working off that mb ever since.

It will get upgraded to my 4770k when the time comes to upgrade. The one drawback to this setup is that older hardware draws more power, might be more prone to failures (HD typically lasts a long time though), but then I'm just re-purposing my old MBs. One nice thing about keeping the office PC in a full tower case.

In my case this C2D is custom liquid cooled too, this way I can also pass down my water blocks. I'm using WSE2012 to do nightly backups of my laptop and office PC too. Nice in case of HD failures, etc, you can boot off the network and restore. Last time I just popped a new HD into my laptop and restored the system off the network to the new 2TB SSD. No new install of windows necessary :)

The Stablebits JBOD Drivepool software infor is here:
https://stablebit.com/DrivePool/Screenshots

Stablebits is easy, WHS2012 R2 is kind of a pain in the ass though sometimes:)
 

SamirD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
5,426
Thank you for the feedback. I've read their site up and down and really like their product as it eliminates one of the biggest problem in NAS/SAN/Fileservers--needing the NAS/SAN/FS to access the data.
 

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,637
I bought 8 yesterday and shucked and surface scanned 4 so far. The thing I notice the most is that these seem to run a lot cooler than my old WD red 3tb drives, those were a constant 43c these 10tb drives are more 30-35c.
 

Spartacus09

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2018
Messages
1,878
All depends on your airflow and usage, mine generally sit at about 43c in QNAP NAS enclosure.
 
D

Deleted member 184142

Guest
It's back, in case you missed it. No idea for how long.

I was kinda expecting it, New Years sale and all.

People who were mad about missing the first two rounds, now is your chance!
 

NIZMOZ

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
2,120
I bought this yesterday after seeing it on slick deals. Been looking for a 10tb drive to backup my Synology 1515+ NAS local instead of the cloud. I had too much data to keep using the cloud as it was getting too expensive.
 
Top