1070 SLI or Single 1080

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by thenjduke, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    I am sure this has been talked about but I purchased two of the following cards about three months back.
    ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 8GB ROG STRIX OC Edition Graphic Card STRIX-GTX1070-O8G-GAMING

    I have them in SLI Configuration but I notice alot of games do not take advantage of SLI and I am trying to make a decision if I should sell them and purchase a 1080 FE card? I really want to start messing around with VR

    Thoughts from everyone?
     
  2. SickBeast

    SickBeast [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    An upgrade to a GTX 1080 will be meaningless. An overclocked GTX 1070 can pretty much match a stock GTX 1080. Overclocked versus overclocked the two cards are much closer than you might think.

    My advice is this. You could get top dollar for those GTX 1070 cards right now, and then upgrade to a single GTX 1080 Ti.
     
    motqalden, eclypse, Chimpee and 2 others like this.
  3. DrLobotomy

    DrLobotomy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,256
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Here is/are my 2 cents worth.....

    1. Don't support games that don't use SLI/Crossfire.

    2. SLI 1070 with a supported title will SMOKE a 1080 or a 1080 Ti.

    3. No clue about VR with SLI but I bet Kyle does.
     
  4. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Thanks everyone. I may just see how much more I can push the overclock on these cards. I have not pushed it much as I know they come overclock already.
     
  5. DrLobotomy

    DrLobotomy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,256
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Overclocking SLI is almost pointless. Prolly only get 3% increase if any. Just an FYI
     
  6. 87dtna

    87dtna Gawd

    Messages:
    819
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    A 1070 to a 1080 isn't enough change, you'd have to upgrade to a 1080 Ti to be worth it.

    Right now it's going to be quite difficult to find any 1080 Ti's in stock anywhere though because of the mining craze. I'd just stick with what you have for now.
     
  7. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Ahh is that why Video Cards are going so much higher?
     
  8. 87dtna

    87dtna Gawd

    Messages:
    819
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Just supply and demand. Demand is crazy because of crytocurrency mining.
     
  9. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    yeah reading about it now. Not for me so not too worried on getting a different card :)
     
  10. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    But I bet a miner would trade him the 2 1070s for a 1080ti lol.

    I'd say sell the 1070s on eBay for max dollars and wait till more 1080ti's come back into stock!

    Btw.. ice always been a all guy since the beginning with voodoo 2s!!

    Just sold 1 of my 1080s I had in SLI as I've upgraded to a single 1080ti. No looking back!

    All support is way down from what it used to be.
     
  11. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007

    I am actually debating on just holding on the 2 1070 and use one for other computer and sell my 1060 3GB that I got for free when I did work for my uncle.
     
  12. SickBeast

    SickBeast [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    SLI doesn't work in VR except for one game.

    SLI 1070 is not that much faster than a GTX 1080 Ti once you overclock it.

    Have you used SLI lately? I have. Actually I just went from SLI 1070 to a GTX 1080 Ti about a month ago. There is no going back. A good 30% of current games don't support SLI at all. And even when games do there are all sorts of bugs and problems. Actually I find that even if my 1070 SLI setup has a higher framerate, my single GTX 1080 Ti card feels smoother.

    Honestly SLI just sucks the fun out of gaming right now. Just to share my recent experience:

    - Assassin's Creed Origins - no SLI support and it's completely unplayable on a single GTX 1070 at 4k resolution
    - COD: WW2, same as above, albeit slightly more playable with a single card
    - Battlefront 2 - it has SLI support but it's actually slower with SLI enabled compared to a single card
    - COW: IW - similar to COD: WW2; no SLI support

    The list goes on. Let me tell you that it really sucked to pre-order many of those games only to find out that SLI was not supported, and never will be.
     
  13. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Battlefield 1 works in sli.. I always could count on cod,titanfall,bf to be sli enabled.. not with there last 2 releases. :/ bf yeah but was on and off and had graphic glitches with it enabled for the longest time..

    Then got into 4k. Only need 60hz to run that and a single 1080ti can handle That! Sold!
     
  14. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Nice. I just going to leave what I have in SLI for now. I like the cards.
     
  15. VanGoghComplex

    VanGoghComplex Gawd

    Messages:
    774
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    1. Get the fastest single card you can budget for, and then play whatever game you want.
     
    AlphaQup and SickBeast like this.
  16. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    I am actually going to keep the 1070 and split them up between my Intel and Amd Rigs. I get pretty decent overclock with the two cards. Question is there a way to flash bios with the overclock like use to be able to in the past?
     
  17. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,305
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    There are no open modification bios flash capabilities on modern NVidia cards.
     
  18. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,656
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    1. Get the fastest single card you can find in stock, probably only a GTX 1050 Ti. :(
     
  19. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Well if he's happy t hrn he has no issue with current stock problems!

    Good thing is that he even has a back up encase one take a a crap.

    Though if this crap keeps up for another few weeks.. smack yourself and sell the 2 fast!! Buy 2 1080tis with the profits "if they ever come back into stock later on". Haha

    I'm tempted to sell my son's 1080 classified for $700+ right now since he's busy with his new Xbox one x. Wife would be on board no doubt..

    Sell it and when the new cards hit, give him my ftw3 elite 1080ti.
     
  20. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Too bad. As you can tell been a long time since I have overclocked a video card. So anyone have a good article to overclock these cards?
     
  21. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007

    Trust me really thinking about it but I could see it lasting for awhile.
     
  22. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    I am thinking about it but do not want to take the plunge because I will be without video card knowing my luck :)
     
  23. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Here's a start..

     
  24. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,656
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Nvidia.com has Titan Xp is stock ($1,200 for original model, or a bit over $1,100 for the Star Wars one). On ebay you can get $700 at least for each GTX 1070.

    I think you know what you need to do. It's a gamble, sure, but I think worthwhile. If you have a credit card, buy the Titan on credit first, and when you have confirmed the order, put the 1070s on ebay.
     
    Archaea and eclypse like this.
  25. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Thanks I will give it a try see how far I can push it
     
  26. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    It is but going to over lock these and split them out for my intel and amd systems
     
  27. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Thanks for this! It helped out a lot! I will post my results later tonight
     
  28. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Here are my results with Valley Benchmark after overclocking the Asus 1070




    [​IMG]
     
  29. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
  30. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    I may be able to push it a little more too. Trying that now.
     
  31. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    This is as far as I was able to push it. How is this overclock?
     
  32. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
  33. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    What other programs can I benchmark with that will test the graphics cards. I use to use 3D by Future mark but not sure if it is used anymore.
     
  34. cybereality

    cybereality 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,656
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    You can try Unigine Superposition. That's a nice one. I also really like Catzilla, and I once held the record of 13th place.
     
  35. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Yea 3dmarks firestrike and timespy.. can get that through steam.

    Scary seeing the fans set to auto.

    Try grabbing msi afterburner version 4.2.2.

    Setup a good fan curve... like aggressive fans when it's runing games or benchmarks. So like 40c set the fans for 70% and higher at 45c at 75% and 85% at 50c.

    Get those fans working as high as you can bare to keep the card clocks high.. as they will drop as the card heats up.
     
  36. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Actually I do have fan curve on it let me show you. I just did not have it set in the profile. I made sure now.

     
  37. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    I think I finally max it out. It took a bit of tweaking but I am happy with results. Nice boost I must admit. Now just curios do you all leave your settings boot up with windows or apply them when you just game?
     
  38. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,452
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Boot up.. but ya better be sure it's stable first. Cause ya may have issues getting into windows if its not! You would have to get in safe mode first to prevent it from booting I believe.
     
  39. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Thanks for all the help everyone. It is really appreciated. It has been a long time since I been in forums. I use to participate back in the day when PC Perspective was AMD Motherboards. I still have account over there called thenjduke. If anyone remembers me.
     
  40. ssnyder28

    ssnyder28 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,627
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    I'd suggest you either:

    A) Keep one 1070 if it is enough for your needs and sell the other 1070, people are paying crazy prices for these
    B) Sell both both 1070s and pick up a 1080ti. Yes the 1080ti price is also inflated but selling both 1070s will cover the cost and you should have some cash left over.
     
    cybereality and eclypse like this.