100.xx Performance, yes, Vista...NO FLAME.

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by TheRapture, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. TheRapture

    TheRapture [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,871
    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    First of all, if you don't have an 8800 card, and are not running Vista, please, don't ruin the thread. Let's stay ON TOPIC.

    I want to hear from the few people (apparently) that are running Vista AND an 8800 card, that have actually ran some benchmarks. Screenshots are welcome!!!! I will be posting some this evening after I get home from work.

    I am having a problem getting the performance rating to show that I actually have a proper driver, even after updating/refreshing the score, I am getting a 1.0 in graphics, although Aero runs smoothly and games are at about 80% of XP speed. Also NTune5, although it supports Vista and has the overclocking options, will not let me overclock. If I bump the speed even 1mhz past stock speeds, it "fails" the test and won't allow the overclock. Any others?


    Again, let's get some input on this. I am leaving work soon and will get to benching when I get home.:p I will also post my XP -- Vista comparison scores in Far Cry, Source, Doom3, CoD2, and a couple others, maybe even some 3DMark05 and 06.
     
  2. captaincaveman

    captaincaveman n00b

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Amen!

    I am looking forward to the benchmarks!

    I would love for people to comment on the functionality of AA, AF, tipple buffering, and Vsync, from the control panel (NOT in game settings).

    Currently my 7900 in vista does not support control panel options. (i know it's not the same)
     
  3. seanmcd

    seanmcd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,430
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    8800 GTS (default clock), Opteron 165 @ 2.8ghz, Vista Enterprise (the real deal)

    Seems to work fine so far.
    13,880 3DMark2K5 score (23 more than the XP install, so in 3dmark terms - pretty much even)
    8,261 3DMark2K6 score (about 60 points less than my default score on win XP, so in 3dmark terms - pretty much even)
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=2566307
    Games/Apps Tested:
    Ntune 5 that someone linked in the other thread: no worky for me
    Day Of Defeat Source: Works fine, except the distance haze/fog issue is still there as it is in XP with the 8800 cards... (**EDIT** - Valve updated the Source engine this morning and a few claim that this has been fixed - I have not played in so long I can't tell what looks right now... It seems like it's been improved but not entirely fixed)
    Battlefield2142 - crashed the very first time I started a game but I was using an odd screen res. After that I used my custom shortcut from XP to force 1680*1050 - game played great, just as smooth as in XP. (you suck EA for not adding ws resolutions to your games by the way)
    (more to come)
    Need For Speed Most Wanted: installed and ran, but the game completely freezes for like .25 - .5 seconds randomly. I think some may call this "hitching" ? It was playable but annoying enough to consider it not working. Might be a driver issue there

    [​IMG]

    It's not video related - but man it seems like it takes for ever for my harddrive to stop working after starting up Vista... (2gb ram in machine)
     
  4. dderidex

    dderidex [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,313
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Wow, only a 5.3 score for an Opteron at 2.8ghz? Ouch!
     
  5. Domini

    Domini 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,079
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
  6. TheRapture

    TheRapture [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,871
    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    OK, I am home and fixing to dig in. seanmcd: Did you do anything special when you installed the driver? I can't get my performance score to update still. The benchmark is not "seeing" that I have the drivers installed.....

    [​IMG]
     
  7. seanmcd

    seanmcd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,430
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    strange. I loaded the driver running the setup.exe after a fresh install of the OS. I got my driver from guru3d.com, not sure if theirs was any different than what was linked in the original post. I do recall that my score was still a "1.0" after rebooting, and I had to tell it to update the score. It still showed "1.0" after it went through it's "testing" - but I closed out and came back in and it was 5.3

    Is that RC2 or a final version of the OS? 32bit? Visited Windows updates? I got all the updates available (mostly things for my motherboard hardware)

    This is only going to end up locked if people don't follow the rules and recent warnings on thread crapping...
     
  8. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,808
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Actually, the hazing/fog issue on Counter-Strike: Source was fixed... is it not in DOD:S? Also, are you using the 32-bit or 64-bit version? Cool that it seems this alpha driver is working so well already!



    AMEN!
     
  9. J-Mag

    J-Mag 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,640
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Why did you underline the 640mb?
     
  10. seanmcd

    seanmcd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,430
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    I'm using the 32bit version. I have admin rights on a DOD server, I loaded up a handful of maps and immediately noticed the problem was still there. Did you sample several maps? Some maps look fine due to the way they were made, others look horrible.

    **EDIT:
    Well - I did my testing last night... They updated the Source engine this morning, and after just now trying the game it seems good again. Which is great! But what really pisses me off - is that they make no mention of the fix on their "news" page. I saw a few posts on their forums by people claiming the update fixed it as well... thank the lord that was annoying.

    ** more editing:
    I'm still not convinced it's fixed... damnit. I can't tell now... certain maps are definitely still screwed up
     
  11. TheRapture

    TheRapture [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,871
    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    seanmcd, I am getting the driver now from guru3d, it is slightly larger by about a meg, than the one I had from laptop site....


    Be back in a bit.
     
  12. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,808
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    I'll try cs_assault where I know I was seeing it, but cs_office was perfect.

    EDIT: Assault is in fact bugged, I guess it was just the one map. It seems like the distance it starts to haze/fog at is further, but that's not fixed.
     
  13. TheRapture

    TheRapture [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,871
    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Vista has some issues identifying my card, even though the 100.30's are installed, windows only sees the "standard vga adaptor". Now I am reinstalling fresh, the driver, ntune, etc.

    This driver is working for some, but right now I am having hell. 3DM06 won't complete, gets a D3D error, and CoD2 locks up after about 2 minutes of play.

    More to come...
     
  14. R1ckCa1n

    R1ckCa1n [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,355
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    anybody running Vista with a 8800GTX and 680i motherboard?
     
  15. J-Mag

    J-Mag 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,640
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Well the 640mb of your adapter was identified properly...
     
  16. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,808
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    (wonders if the 64-bit Vista would run HL2-engine-games such as CS:S properly or not)

    I want to try it when I can, but games compatibility is a major worry for me.
     
  17. TheRapture

    TheRapture [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,871
    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Just finished over an hours worth of CoD2, no crashes, wonderful. Things are looking better. Funny thing is, since I run dual displays, it won't work unless I disable the secondary display....


    Far Cry is still a bitch though, it will load a level and start, then it randomly freezes with a critical exception error, I can pull up task manager and kill the process, then Vista tells me the display driver stopped responding and then recovered.

    3DMark06 is a no go, loads like it is going to work, then it crashes with the same direct3d dll load error after it finishes the first run. Have not tried 05 yet.

    Doom3 is fine, just a bit slow, but no graphical errors, very playable. 87fps at 1680x1050 with 4xaa and 16xaf, ultra quality.

    Quake2 and GLQuake1 are very fast and error free, they should be, such old games.

    Well....at least Aero and Flip3D works, but this driver is NOWHERE near ready for prime time use under Vista. Can't wait for the 30th, or whenever they release a better driver. ;-)
     
  18. annaconda

    annaconda [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,926
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    I am having so many issues with these drivers. I cannot play Movies, Games, or HDTV. The driver bugs out, and gives me blue screen says nvvlld had problem. What is wrong?
     
  19. tesfaye

    tesfaye 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,419
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Annnnd as always YMMV. Sorry to read that. I'm having a wonderful time with Vista, 8800, 100.30's, and my CL Audigy 4Pro.

    I can't overclock my GTX because nTune, RivaTuner, and ATITool are unable to adjust the settings on the card.

    3DMark06: 8686
    HL2: Wicked smooth and looks great!
    CS:S: Same as HL2 but the AA video option now allows you to choose all of the supported AA modes including the CSAA ones.
    NFS Carbon: Looks great, plays smooth except for some hitching that I don't get under XP, it's wierd. I tried changing affinity to one processor for the NFSC.exe process but that didn't help. You need to rename the MOVIES folder or else the game will crash after the EA intro. Do not set compatibility to Windows 98/ME in order to see the movies unless you want to play the game with the ugliest textures you have ever seen (Although I think 6 or so years ago, this would be considered awesome). Oh what the heck, try it out to see what I mean. Forcing settings through nV CP doesn't help for me.
    Rainbow Six Vegas: Runs ok. I can play at max settings at 1920x1200 but there are some areas in the game where you get a little flicker but the smooth mouse movement isn't compromised too much. The game runs a bit smoother for me at 1600x1200. It's enjoyable so it doesn't bother me too much.
    Splinter Cell Double Agent: This game is unplayable until a patch is released for it. The game runs but EVERYTHING looks like shit. It's a known issue with 8800's and the game. People have the problem in XP as well.
     
  20. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,808
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004

    32-bit or 64-bit? Excellent post!
     
  21. tesfaye

    tesfaye 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,419
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    32bit, thanks. :)
     
  22. diablo111

    diablo111 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,734
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Finally a driver!! 64 bit if you please ;)

    Here is a screen shot...will post some more later...

    [​IMG]
     
  23. TheRapture

    TheRapture [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,871
    Joined:
    May 31, 2000

    Yeah, I was hoping to have better luck, but after all, this is a leaked driver...no big deal, I am keeping my Vista tucked in a dual boot until it gets some more drivers out.
     
  24. phide

    phide [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,695
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    An acquaintance of mine has tried to, but he's having some serious issues with his 680i boards in both XP and Vista. Both boards may be defective, however, despite the odds.

    Better or worse than your previous results in XP?
     
  25. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,808
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Nice :D! Does it run Half Life 2 properly in 64-bit mode, or does it crash like with XP64?
     
  26. grizzed

    grizzed Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    171
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    8800 GTX on a crosshair board running RC1

    Driver install went well - no problems.

    Ran Company of Heroes standard settings - Graphics were great!

    I'll try fear and EQ2 to see how well this performs, but don't plan on doing much until offical vista release.
     
  27. annaconda

    annaconda [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,926
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    I am having problems with the drivers. Every now and then there is an error massage pops up saying "nvddmkm had problem and video drivers stopped working" some times computer freezes and some times blue screen. I cannot play movies, games, and watch hdtv.

    Please help?
     
  28. Yreka

    Yreka [H]Lite

    Messages:
    95
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Definitely interested in that. Please LMK how it goes.
     
  29. seanmcd

    seanmcd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,430
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    So far 3dmark2k5 and 2k6 produce the same scores as it does in Windows XP for my hardware... (default video card clock)
    Only tested Day of Defeat source and it has acted completely normal so far...

    Not one problem so far for me
     
  30. seanmcd

    seanmcd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,430
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    what exactly are you comparing this pretty much meaningless score to? From the several times that I've installed Vista RC1, RC2, and now the final on this PC and my laptop (HP NW8240) - the score has been completely inconsistent...
     
  31. ellover009

    ellover009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,846
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Running 8800gtx, E6600, x-fi plat and vista 32bit, I have only encountered two problems so far.
    Half Life 2 Episode 1, whenever I try to save it crashes the game, that problem does not happen in lost coast and HL2.
    Battlefield 2 Special Forces will run fine with everything maxed out, then randomly after a min or a few seconds the game will crash for no reason.
    Gaming on vista is questionable at this point, hopefully they fix this.

    BTW the fog problem in HL2 has improved a lot, you still see a little fog in the characters if they are a bit far but much better than before, it's less of an issue.
     
  32. Nirad9er

    Nirad9er 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,447
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    I've got the 100.30 drivers installed on vista 32bit ok running on an eVGA 680i SLI board. I have a few issues with games and cannot overclock as well with them.

    Company of heroes runs good while im playing except it crashes when i try to exit to windows.

    Battlefield 2142 runs about the same as XP except the games crashes while loading a new map.

    Counterstrike Source runs perfect for the time I played it.

    Splinter Cell Double Agent the graphics are garbled.
     
  33. R1ckCa1n

    R1ckCa1n [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,355
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Did Vista install the chipset drivers or did you find them somewhere (if so, link please)?

    Ah what the hell,,,,,,, just go done installing Vista and all seems to work OK from the desktop percpective. Will try some games soon.
     
  34. Nirad9er

    Nirad9er 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,447
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    The chipset drivers for the 680i are integrated into vista. The only thing I really had to install myself were the realtek audio drivers for vista.

    Here are the audio drivers I installed for my eVGA 680i SLI board.
    ftp://202.65.194.18/pc/audio/Vista_R155.exe
     
  35. ellover009

    ellover009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,846
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    I tried to install the newest Need For Speed Carbon Demo. Everything is fine the game boots as it finishes the EA logo and it takes me to the main screen in the game the whole game crashes. I don't know if it's the beta drivers for nvidia or the O/S. What I can say is that things ran a lot better in XP, I noticed that some games don't run as smooth as they could on vista, on XP they seem to run a little smoother with no hitch.
    Valve games have ran exellent maxed out with the exeption of Episode 1 crashing when I save the game. I ran SIN with everything maxed out, the highest resolution, ran smooth for 2hrs straight, then I called it a night.
    My thoughts on Vista are. The main reason I would jump to Vista is that it would add Direct X 10 in the future. Things I like is the Gadgets, I can check the temperature outside, see how my pc is throttling it's ram and cpu use, I can look at stocks, I do like Aero but It is not that impressive, I'm not an apple person but I must admit they had it for the last 7 or so years why can't Microsoft Wow me with something so cool it's not even funny.
    There is inconsistency between the windows trims, Ultimate cost's an arm and a leg. Whenever I install some things some will start right away, another time it will think about the program for a few seconds then decide to run it. I do like that there's a lot less crap running when you go to task manager. The could have added better clocks to the gadgets, maybe even a digital one or some sort of really cool clock, maybe even a sundial. Could have added temperature tool to gadgets.
    In conclusion, I like Vista, it's pretty but pretty doesen't always get the job done, It's really good, stable but gaming at this time is SO SO, it either works or it doesen't, there is still quite a bit of inconsistency between games that run fine and games that don't. In XP I never had issues, we'll have to wait till the OS release before we can tell if it's good or junk. I have RC1, I have until around June before my copy becomes invalid, then I can tell if it stays or goes.
     
  36. CptFalcon

    CptFalcon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,980
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006

    Dude, remember gaming when XP came out, OH MY GOD! :(
     
  37. ellover009

    ellover009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,846
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Lol I remember it was a ball of mess. I'm still wondering how long it's going to take before Nvidia, MS and DX get together and make everything work together good, it would suck if vista comes out and my copy of BattleField2 still does not play nicely and my 8800gtx is not running at full potential.
     
  38. tesfaye

    tesfaye 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,419
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    I noted in my earlier post that to play NFS:Carbon you need to rename the movies folder or set win98 compatibility on the game executable. The issue is with movies but one thing I noticed is that the game gets a little hitchy here and there so WinXP is best for running this game, on my rig at least. The situation was the opposite with my ATI card. I had hitching in XP and not in Vista. Anyhow, the movies are the issue in both the demo and the full game.

    Your post reminded me that I have to try out Episode One. I have it but haven't played it becuase I never finished the HL2.

    I'm back in XP again by the way. I can't resume from hibernation with these 100.30 drivers in Vista and RB6:Vegas has a problem where the screen starts flashing for no reason. The Creative drivers are shit as well. Sound stuttering is still an issue and is intermittent. This is not acceptable. I may wipe my Vista install and try again and this time I'm not installing any drivers that are not specifically for Vista and see how things work out for me.

    I'm not mad or disapointed at this point but I will be however, if Vista is released and the official Vista drivers for my various hardware products aren't up to par.
     
  39. tesfaye

    tesfaye 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,419
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Yeah, a trip down memory lane that I don't want to take. :(
     
  40. ellover009

    ellover009 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,846
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    I had no stuttering issues with my sound card. you should try SIN if you can get a deal on it. I found it for $7, interesting game, addition fee is reasonable.