10" tablet that I can install Linux onto

Discussion in 'Computers & Gadgets' started by Barometer, May 9, 2019.

  1. Barometer

    Barometer [H]Lite

    Messages:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Anyone installed Linux on a tablet? I understand it's not hard to do.
    If so, which ones?
     
  2. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,219
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Maybe you just want to root an android tablet to give you direct access to the linux OS.
     
  3. Barometer

    Barometer [H]Lite

    Messages:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Maybe.
    Does that mean any tablet that runs Android could be changed to a Linux tables simply by over writing the OS?
    I was under the impression that the Linux OS that we typically see on PC's for example is based on a certain architecture being present.....such as probably doesn't exist on tables?

    But then, I really don't know
     
  4. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,219
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Android is a customized version of linux. If you root it you can get full access to the OS.


    The tablets are usually ARM cpus.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
  5. RazorWind

    RazorWind 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,184
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Microsoft Surface?

    This is basically a tablet-shaped x86 laptop, unlike most other tablets, and as a result, it's very simple to install Linux on it.
     
  6. daglesj

    daglesj [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,023
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Dell does a load of 10" or so tablets that have Windows on them. My other half has one with a i3/4GB/120GB SSD in it. Great thing is the battery and SSD are upgradeable too.
     
  7. Barometer

    Barometer [H]Lite

    Messages:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    How easy is it to replace Windows on a tablet with Linux like Ubuntu ?
     
  8. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,219
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Should be easy if there is a bios option to disable secure boot.