New Smartphones Are Probably Not As Good As Phones From A Decade Ago

Megalith

24-bit/48kHz
Staff member
But…but…it runs Candy Crush…

The research, conducted in controlled lab conditions on a selection of popular smartphones and non-smart phones currently on the market, found that on a 2G network the cheaper handsets were much better at picking up weak signals. Some smartphones require a minimum signal 10 times stronger than the best non-smart phone before they can make or receive a call, according to Ofcom’s research.

Makes sense. Phones from then were designed to make calls. Now, that isn't high up on the priority list.

Makes sense. Phones from then were designed to make calls. Now, that isn't high up on the priority list.

Yeah, but they still need to connect to the cell network for data.

I wonder if they tested any Motorola devices. Motorola's antennae are fantastic.

uhm, i'm not an expert, but how is making an antenna a great engineering feat that makes motorola antennae stand out?

It's more than just a metal stick.

Point being, you spend a lot of time in the mobile device community and you start hearing fans of other manufacturers say, "I wish Motorola made our antennae. They don't have these reception issues."

Why I have two phones. One is just wifi and the other is an ancient samsung that works anywhere for calls and text.

Why I have two phones. One is just wifi and the other is an ancient samsung that works anywhere for calls and text.

And people doing this to start with was the cause of this. People didn't avoid the phones with shit signal (iPhone) instead they praised it being the best thing ever and then had two phones to actually be able to make calls and get text.

My brother finally got a smartphone and has complained nonstop about signal issues. He used a rugged Casio flip phone and never dropped/missed calls. It's an LG G2, not the best radio IMO, but he shouldn't be having as much issues as he is with it.