Video Game Developers: What To Do When You Are Laid Off

HardOCP News

[H] News
GameDevTalk has a handy check list of things you should know and things you should do if you've been laid off from your job in the game industry.

I’ve been working as an animator since 1998, and I’ve been laid off from studios of all sizes. I’ve even done some layoffs of my own. I’m still standing and still making games. There’s life after layoff. What do you do if you’re on receiving end of a layoff? Don’t freak out! It’s a very common thing in the videogame industry, much too common.

When I was younger I always thought it would be awesome to work in the video game industry. I even got as far as the first round interviews for a game tester in EA Vancouver. But now after observing the industry I won't even touch it. So much restructuring, so many good studios now closed and many positions are hired solely for the duration of the development of the game.

There's nothing too glorious with my current career in IT support for the company I work for, but it's stable, and with all the shit breaking my job will never go away, lol.

One guy I knew went from being a Java back office developer to working at EA during the peak of their shitty work practices. He fell off the face of the Earth. He might be dead.

they should all ban together and make competing free (but ad supported) games that are far better than the shit their former companies made.

After getting laid off:

1) Find a new job.

There, now you don't hafta read the article. :)