Internet Tax Bill Targets All Digital Downloads

HardOCP News

[H] News
Remember how we said this whole internet tax thing was a slippery slope? Here's your Vaseline coated giant slalom. I wonder where they will go next with this?

The U.S. Senate is set to vote Monday on a tax bill that would levy new fees on people who download digital products including movies, music, apps, and even WordPress themes.

I make my living designing and selling themes. I guess my prepackaged themes will be taxed. For my one-off custom jobs, well . . .

I wish I had the power to wave a magic wand and kick every tax-loving asshole out of the country.

This won't change a thing. People will still buy online vs local cause you have more products available online than you do locally. And pricing will probably still be cheaper online even with taxes.

At what point do we start realizing things are so fucked up, it's not funny anymore. I just watched the 80's movie Popeye starring Robin Williams, and it got me thinking about how the Tax Man taxing the shit out of everyone and everything for every conceivable reason...

So sick and tired of this shit. The money just disappears into a bottomless pit and never put to any good use.

The current language for the bill states that businesses with online sales under $1 million per year are exempted. eBay is lobbying to change the minimums to the definition of "small business", which is 50 employees and $10 million per year. This is a gigantic annoyance for those of us who purchase from major online retailers, but it's much less of a problem for most "small online sellers".

I hope it fails. It doesn't seem to have support in the House, but that could change if there is negotiation of the one hand washes the other kind. Everyone has a price. :-/

Also, this is not a federal tax. If you feel your state wastes sales tax revenues, well there are elections pretty often. :p

LOL!

Wait...someone needs to kick you in the nuts for even thinking that. :eek: