Pioneering Scientists Turn Fresh Air into Gasoline

CommanderFrank

Cat Can't Scratch It
Now this may be a lot of hot air, but you never know. A British company claims to have been able to produce gasoline from carbon dioxide and water vapor, taken straight from the air. Through revolutionary technology, the gasoline production process also removes CO2 from the environment, scoring a hit on two fronts.

"We've taken carbon dioxide from air and hydrogen from water and turned these elements into petrol," said Peter Harrison, the company's chief executive, who revealed the breakthrough at a conference at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers in London.

Well I'm only in first year chemistry, but using the formula for octane I come up with: 16CO2 + 18H2O = 2C8H18 + 25O2. Although the octane rating depends on which isomers of C8H18 are produced, and could range anywhere from a rating of 0-100. I'm guessing that plays a role in why this hasn't been done before.

Wikipedia shows the combustion of gasoline (combustion is always a form of CO2+H2O btw) as the exact opposite of the formula I came up with, so I guess my math is right :)

Scientists can make gold out of other elements too by whacking the shit out of it to knock neutrons free... but it's hardly energy efficient to do so.

Well, clearly this is an energy negative process. They are using electricity to add the energy necessary to change the CO2 and H2O into long chain carbohydrates similar to those found in gasoline.

The amount of energy that goes into the process is greater than the energy you will get from burning the product. Since electricity is a higher quality energy (meaning it is more useful and efficient than gasoline), this process is pointless, which is why you have never seen it done.