Tech Gone Wrong?

HardOCP News

[H] News
I'm no expert, but the idea of sticking people in a human sized microwave just doesn't sound right. I'm probably overreacting but this quote from the article doesn't calm my fears any:

The premise is simple: use low-power microwave radiation to kill the malaria parasites that wreak havoc in a person's blood stream. The parasites feed on blood cells, giving them a higher than average iron concentration than the tissue that surrounds them. The microwave energy heats up the microscopic parasites, causing them to explode and die instantly.

Basicaly shoot yourself up with a 1 year equivalent of X-Rays in less than a second.

Makes me think of the wood heat treating machine that they stick the guy in from the movie Kick Ass. Same thing happens to him that supposedly going to happen to the malaria:rolleyes:

@NickJames - The article (and even the summary, since this is the Internet I have to assume you didn't RTFA) uses the words "microwave radiation." Microwaves are NON-IONIZING radiation; primary effect is heating and no chromosomal/DNA effects result. X-rays are IONIZING and have the ability to damage DNA/chromosomes.

I spent plenty of time in a "human-size" microwave - it's called a stirred mode chamber. I worked in the electromagnetic interference industry (primarily in an anechoic chamber but also in outdoor facilities) for 6.5 years before transitioning to a different role in my organization. Plenty of people sized antennas being pushed by 1 kW input power in human-sensitive frequencies. Not at all unusual.

Research is still ongoing, and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation has pledged money to a second round of testing.

I never actually believed the BSOD could become real. :p

Doctor Doctor!! the patient is sick! what should we do??!

Nuke him for 30 seconds, and put him in with some hot pockets... i'm hungry...