Need assistance with ram upgrade

polynut

n00b
Hi guy's, last year i build a new PC with the following specs : CPU: Ryzen 5600x, motherboard: MSI B550 A pro, Ram: 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4 3600MHz PC4-28800 CL18 RGB Dual Channel Kit (2X 16GB). Cl 18 22-22-42

So now since I am a game developer 32 GB is not enough for my daily work in UE5 and I need to upgrade to 64 GB so my question is can I order the same 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo and expect it to work at 3600 like my 2 sticks presently?

I ask the question after a full day reading and many mention 4 sticks of dual channel ram will lead to instability or even not booting at all or it will need to be lowered to run a t 3200 instead of 3600.

It would cost me less to order the same kit than to buy another 64 GB kit (2x32) so that why i need to know if it will work. I know i can order and return it if it doesn't work but i would like to save the hassle of returning it.

Thank for any help i can get to clarify this issue

The 4 stick thing is more of an issue with DDR5; also with the first couple Zen generations. I think you might be OK with a 5600X, and if you do have to drop speeds, it really isn’t going to make that much difference.

The 4 stick thing is more of an issue with DDR5; also with the first couple Zen generations. I think you might be OK with a 5600X, and if you do have to drop speeds, it really isn’t going to make that much difference.
Thank for the reply and for me the most important point is to have more than 32 GB since when rendering world partition in UE5 with large terrain it is crashing with 32 GB.

It shouldn't "crash". Wjat exactly does "crash" mean here?

It shouldn't "crash". Wjat exactly does "crash" mean here?