Game discs and PS5

Liver

Supreme [H]ardness
I’m new to console gaming. I bought a PS5 and I bought a game on disc.

Now I need the disc every time. Is there a legal way around that requirement?

In the future it seems I should only buy digital download games to avoid using the disc. Is that correct?

I have fiber, so there doesn’t seem to be any reason to buy physical discs.

Like I said. I’m new to this.

Edit. I’m asking because I’m thinking about getting Baldur’s Gate 3. I can get it download version or use my game stop discount for a disc.

I’m new to console gaming. I bought a PS5 and I bought a game on disc.

Now I need the disc every time. Is there a legal way around that requirement?

In the future it seems I should only buy digital download games to avoid using the disc. Is that correct?

I have fiber, so there doesn’t seem to be any reason to buy physical discs.

Like I said. I’m new to this.

Edit. I’m asking because I’m thinking about getting Baldur’s Gate 3. I can get it download version or use my game stop discount for a disc.
Just think of a console like a PC. When PC games were still coming on disc you'd need the disc in the drive to play it as a form of DRM. Consoles have gone the same way. If you don't want to juggle discs then buy digitally.

Just think of a console like a PC. When PC games were still coming on disc you'd need the disc in the drive to play it as a form of DRM. Consoles have gone the same way. If you don't want to juggle discs then buy digitally.

True. I was hoping things had improved by now.

I think it's an Anti Piracy feature is the only thing I can think of. Reselling hard copies is also a good feature instead of just buying a game for a single use code making the disks worthless for reselling. If the disks get damaged oh well then your screwed

Last edited: