Dota 2 Host Fired By Gabe Newell Tries To Explain Himself

Megalith

24-bit/48kHz
Staff member
I am no expert at Dota 2 nor eSports, but my take is that Valve wants a clean, professional act—yet that doesn’t correlate with the actual attitude of the fan base and its promoters. Gabe seemed annoyed enough to publicize this personally on reddit.

It’s hard to evaluate Harding’s view of events given that Valve have offered so little detail about their reasoning behind his firing, beyond Newell’s Reddit post. Watching the panel segments from the two days that Harding hosted, there are certainly a lot of things that Valve could have found objectionable: Harding was also fairly provocative throughout his time with the tournament, from his bizarre opening segment to his repeated declarations that he no longer follows nor knows anything about Dota, which could read as disdainful or indifferent toward the event he was supposed to be covering.

James defense is laughable "i was told(by my friend) to be myself!"...

No dude, no, even if your online persona is an ass, you should know that there are things that you shouldn't do, and showing disdain to the product that you are representing and mocking the production, even if it was true that it was troubled and also got sacked, is not something that you should do.

Act like a big boy, suck it up and move on, take this as experience about how there are always professional limits that you must keep.

I know nothing about dota, but this James guy sounds like a pretty fun commentator. ESPN-esports are boring.

In the Fighting Game Community, he's the rule and not the exception: no wonder we'll never get the valve treatment.

The most surprising part of this... His compensation was $12K for the event and he still couldn't manage to be a tiny bit professional.