IPCONFIG question

Paithar

[H]ard|Gawd
I am a noob when it comes to networking. I have used the command ipconfig only a couple of times and then only because some tech support person suggested I try it but I've never seen an explanation as to what this command actually does. I was going to google it but decided that I like the explanations that I get for things from people here on the [H]ardforums better.

I've used ipconfig /flushdns but that's all. I know there are other options for ipconfig but I really have no idea what any of them are for including the flushdns option. So, if someone could explain at least the /flushdns option and the /renew option and possibly when a good time to try those two commands would be I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Paithar

Paithar said:
I am a noob when it comes to networking. I have used the command ipconfig only a couple of times and then only because some tech support person suggested I try it but I've never seen an explanation as to what this command actually does. I was going to google it but decided that I like the explanations that I get for things from people here on the [H]ardforums better.

I've used ipconfig /flushdns but that's all. I know there are other options for ipconfig but I really have no idea what any of them are for including the flushdns option. So, if someone could explain at least the /flushdns option and the /renew option and possibly when a good time to try those two commands would be I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Paithar

As they say in the linux world, RTFM!! :p