Pat?

yabadaba

n00b
I'm relatively new to overclocking and haven't got to grips with all the terminology/settings yet. So, can anyone help me and tell me what PAT is? Should I enable it & how to do so?

My system consists of the following:

Asus P4C800E-Deluxe
Intel P4 3.0gb (800mhz)
Mushkin 2 x 512 3500 L2
Leadtek FX5950

Thanks.

pat is a technology for 875 mobos that increases overall performance by 3-5%. the 865 implements a technology known as gat, or gaming accelaration tech.
It's for DDR400 (PC3200) or greater, in conjunction with a 800 mhz FSB CPU. It allows the RAM and CPU to run synchronously at 1:1 with the RAM on a 2x multiplier and CPU on 4x multiplier.

Thanks for that jamestime88.

Anyone know how to enable/disable it on the P4C800-E Deluxe? There are two bios settings that look like they may be related...'Performance Mode' and 'Performance Acceleration Mode'.

Performance Acceleration Mode

To clarify, not all i865PE chipsets have 'gat', and some have it under a different name.

Originally posted by yabadaba
Thanks for that jamestime88.

Anyone know how to enable/disable it on the P4C800-E Deluxe? There are two bios settings that look like they may be related...'Performance Mode' and 'Performance Acceleration Mode'.

If you have a P4C800, then I don't think there is a way to disable PAT since it is an automatic function of the chipset. The p4C is based on the i875P chipset which natively supports PAT. The P4P series is based on the i865P chipset which does NOT natively support PAT, but through some nice BIOS tricks the different manufacturers have come up with it (or something very like it) can be enabled through bios options (Asus is calling it MAM - Memory Acceleration Mode. Abit calls it GAT - Game Accelerator Tech., etc...)

why would you want to disable it if it gives a performance boost????

Originally posted by nst6563
why would you want to disable it if it gives a performance boost????