Square Enix, Microsoft, NVIDIA Show DX12 Demo At Microsoft BUILD

HardOCP News

[H] News
During the keynote address at Microsoft BUILD 2015 earlier today, Square Enix gave a demonstration of the power of DirectX 12 on a system running four NVIDIA GeForce TITAN X video cards. Take a look.

I have been playing video games for almost 35 years, and one thing I have learned is to not get excited about tech demos and dx version changes. It's going to be a long time before 1. mainstream graphics cards can render these scenes and 2. developers make use of the improvements in the latest dx version. Sometimes the features of dx are never even used in lieu of better or newer technology.

Now if they could just work on getting audio, especially speech, to sync up correctly with the animations...

Now if they could just work on getting audio, especially speech, to sync up correctly with the animations...

To be fair it's Square Enix the animations are gonna be sync'd to the original Japanese dialogue more so than the dubbed English.

It's a nice looking demo, but it appears to be locked at 30fps. With early drivers and possibly unoptimized engine, it still doesn't matter because the number of users for a game that requires 4 Titan X cards to run at 30fps can be counted by an average Sesame Street watcher.

I have been playing video games for almost 35 years, and one thing I have learned is to not get excited about tech demos and dx version changes. It's going to be a long time before 1. mainstream graphics cards can render these scenes and 2. developers make use of the improvements in the latest dx version. Sometimes the features of dx are never even used in lieu of better or newer technology.

Except in this case just about every game currently in support is planned to update to DX12 simply for the massive boost in FPS a lone. So it's worth getting excited about, especially scaling for multi GPU/CPU and independent GPU memory usage alone.