Senators Propose a Tax Holiday Tech Companies Would Love

CommanderFrank

Cat Can't Scratch It
Let’s say that you owe back taxes to the IRS for the past 15-20 years and the government offers you a repayment plan at a huge reduction and no penalty. You would jump on the deal like a duck on a Junebug. :D That is basically what a proposed bill would do for major corporations that presently have all of their cash stockpiled outside of the US.

The Boxer-Paul plan stems from Congress' opposition to raising the gas tax, which has traditionally gone towards the Highway Trust Fund.

Actually I have no problems with money made in other countries not being taxed in the US. Apple sells iPhones in Japan, then let Japanese taxes deal with all sales there. THat said, 6.5% tax on something I think shouldn't be taxed and they actually like it? Well the hell yeah!

Although not sure how one would consider what money was "brought home" it's not like banks have borders.

I'm not a tax expert nor do I understand business law. My question would be why would a company even take advantage of this deal? Let's pick on Apple. I know they have a boat load of cash elsewhere.
Advantages to bringing it to the US (I'm thinking out loud - I'm not a business person and shouldn't even try to play one on TV):
1. Could invest it in the US. Otherwise, I spend it outside of the US. For an international company, do I care where I invest it? Stability, skilled workers, and technology a major plus to where I open new plants/research/office buildings.
2. Other countries will want to tax the money or make me a deal to get me to build in their country.
3. Avoid litigation from the US. Even if I come out "clean", I've spent a lot of money on legal fees fighting Uncle Sam. Still wonder - will other countries not want some of Apple pie?
4. Presumably, Apple (and other companies) have a nice cash pile in the US already. A bigger cash pile is generally never a bad thing.