Professor Of New Media Bans Technology Use In Class

HardOCP News

[H] News
I graduated from college long before this was an issue so I want to know what do you guys think of a professor that bans the use of tech in his class?

I teach theory and practice of social media at NYU, and am an advocate and activist for the free culture movement, so I’m a pretty unlikely candidate for internet censor, but I have just asked the students in my fall seminar to refrain from using laptops, tablets, and phones in class.

This is news-worthy? When I was in school if you had stuff out that wasn't class-related it was confiscated until the end of the class, no press release necessary.

Does this professor also explicitly require students to attend class and sit in their seats as long as we're covering the "things you should've learned in kindergarten" portion of the curriculum?

Yeah, sorry about the double post, would've preferred to edit...

His class, his rules. I don't see a problem with it. Get a pen and some paper and take notes like the good old days. You know like ten years ago.

I'm sure it will produce the desired results of people actually focusing, but kinda fails to train people to focus in the real world. You wouldn't pull out your cellphone/laptop and start surfing facebook while training on the job, so why would you during class? Because you feel you can get away with it in one place and not the other. If someone is screwing around at work the problem will sort itself out and they will be fired. So if someone wants to screw around in class, let them fail.

some actual learning might happen in the class.

As I see it the problem arises from most classes use of the curve.

My gut instinct is to say "in college students are paying for their own education, if they want to slack off and text and browse the internet during class, that's their choice", problem is because of curves, this drags down the entire educational level.