Skulduggery. skinflint case mod

Swarfman

n00b
Hi, I'm a newb here so thought I would start by posting a work log of my latest project called "Skullduggery"

Skulduggery:
Underhanded or unscrupulous behaviour; also : a devious device or trick.

As usual, my budget is to spend as little as possible so I will be using an old case and turning it (literally) into a more modern style case with the case/motherboard turned through 90 degrees and with some paint and graphics to reflect the name Skullduggery.

Afraid there wont be many shots of new shiny PC parts as I will be using the hardware from my present PC, i5-2500k @4.4GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3 mobo, 8GHz Corsair Vengeance LP RAM, MSI GTX 780 Twin Frozr OC, the mobo is a bit dated and basic but the system plays Skyrim with an ENB plus loads of other mods at 60fps which is all I need at the moment so I can't complain.

Welcome to Skullduggery.

aerocool2s.jpg

One of the few new parts I'll be using is an Aerocool Touch fan speed controller

aerocool3s.jpg

aerocool4s.jpg

It looks well made and the metal side mounting brackets are quite thick and substantial, the controller also has USB3 ports so I won't have to mount a USB port bracket on the case.

01Thermatake-1s.jpg

I'm using a big old fugly Thermaltake case which was the first case I ever bought for my first PC build, think it was around 2001-2,

02Thermatake-2s.jpg

03Thermatake-3s.jpg

04Thermatake-4s.jpg

I've been using this case as a test bed for a while which is why it has a rather lost looking micro ATX motherboard in it :)

05Thermatake-5s.jpg

The fact that this case is quite high at 52cm means it can be rotated 90 degrees (the front of the case now becomes the base of the case) so it will have the proportions that I what, slightly longer than it is higher.