Comcast Sent 625K Copyright Alerts To ‘Pirating’ Customers

HardOCP News

[H] News
Wow, 625,000 notices, over seventeen hundred a day, from a single ISP? :eek:

The MPAA, RIAA and five major U.S. Internet providers launched their six-strikes Copyright Alert System last year, and today we can reveal additional details on the scope of the anti-piracy measures. Information obtained by TorrentFreak shows that Comcast has sent over 625,000 anti-piracy warnings to its customers since the program launched.

A couple months ago, I had someone begin hacking into my wireless network and leaching my bandwidth. I'd notice from my DHCP lease list. (I'm a systems admin, and I practice and learn by frequently rebuilding my server that serves out DHCP and DNS. I often will switch between OSes, Windows 2008, 2012, Ubuntu, RedHat, FreeBSD, in order to learn how to do things with each. I know my devices quite well, and I know when someone else is on my network because of all this.) I couldn't locate specifically which other apartment it might be coming from, but I was able to get him to quit by having my network frequently down. I now only turn on my wireless network when I need to connect my tablet to the internet, which isn't all that frequent now. About 2 months after it started and about a week before I encouraged him to quit hacking my wireless, I got one of these notices from Comcast. It's just not fair that I had to get this because some other a--hole was hacking my wireless.

How were they hacking into your network? Were you using WEP? I haven't read any WPA/WPA2 hacks that are wide in circulation or easy to do. Would be interested to know.