Online Piracy Surges After Music Festivals

HardOCP News

[H] News
Spotify recently released research results that show online piracy spikes after music festivals. What's your theory on why this happens?

New research released by Spotify shows that music festivals appear to cause a spike in piracy, while streaming and digital sales remain unaffected. The findings suggest that festivals increase demand for artists’ music, but that festival goers mainly sample through unauthorized channels.

I am not an expert on the situation but I have been to my share of concerts / music fests. Could it be that, after a weekend of spending all your money on high priced food, beverages, travel costs, tickets and $40 t-shirts, concert goers don't have any money left to buy the tunes they heard at the show. ;)

I am not an expert on the situation but I have been to my share of concerts / music fests. Could it be that, after a weekend of spending all your money on high priced food, beverages, travel costs, tickets and $40 t-shirts, concert goers don't have any money left to buy the tunes they heard at the show. ;)
That would make too much sense.

This. $250 to go to the local big festival, individual shows $20-150 depending on popularity. Ugh. Whats worse is that i'm never there to see the headliners. One of the best performances I've seen in recent years was a "first of the day" 9am show.

Don't artists generally receive a higher percentage of the money from ticket sales than they do from online music sales anyway? They should be happy people are going to these ridiculously expensive concerts.

Theory: People are cheap moochers and want the music they heard without paying for it.

if I just paid 150 dollars for a ticket to some band -- not to mention parking/food/booze blah blah blah
I wouldn't feel too bad about downloading a few of their songs. At that point I've already supported them more than a fair share through ticket sales.

Just how many times are they allowed to rape you?