Recommendation For Four New Monitors

xavierq

Gawd
I'm looking to buy four new monitors for my desktop setup (which currently only has one, somewhat old monitor I'm looking to replace). I'm not looking to game across all four or anything crazy, I don't have Eyefinity.

I'm thinking two monitors stacked vertically with a portrait on either side portrait. I don't care if they make a perfect square or anything. One I will use for gaming (FPS, MMO, Diablo 3, MOBA, I play a range of stuff). One I will use for movies (if one monitor does both those tasks well, that's fine). The other two will be used for web browsing and coding (I'm a developer).

The two main ones will run off a GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 448, the other two off the onboard Sandybridge ports on a Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H.

The main monitor I care the most about obviously. The others I'd like to be somewhat less expensive, since they'll be doing lighter duty so I think I can get away with spending less. Obviously I don't want crap either, though. I have some money to spend on this, but don't want to spend more than I have to either.

I've read the sticky and several posts in the forum, so I'm familiar with the technologies, but I'm still not clear on exactly what the right way to go would be, or which monitors will lend themselves best to these tasks. I'm assuming most decent monitors come with the ports I'd need to achieve this with the setup I have, but I could be wrong.

The portrait monitors should be MVA or IPS due to their better viewing angles. Since you won't be gaming on the portraits MVA is viable and cheaper than IPS. I'm using MVA on my upper secondary monitors and they look great, no problems at all. For the gaming monitor it's a matter of personal preference, a fast TN with low input lag may be more desirable.