Dolby Headphone / virtual 7.1 suck?

Devastadus

Weaksauce
Hey I'm an audio noob so forgive my noobness. I recently got a Xonar STX with some audio-technica ATH-A900X headphones and they sound amazing. I've been playing with the STX control panel and turning on Dolby headphones and also tried the 7.1, but it makes everything sound far away and echoes. Especially if you listen to music or TV shows. Playing games it's okay but i still think it sounds bad compared to Bi-pass.

I thought i might have set it up wrong but i went to my friends house who had Corsair 1500 USB headset that also has 7.1 virtual and Dolby headphones. Since its USB its pretty idiot proof to setup and i still hear the same effects and echoes. To me it when trying team fortress 2 and tomb raider it kind of makes things sound far away but I can't notice anything directional, I also think it distorts the sound too much and makes it sound unnatural. Am I doing something wrong or is this how it suppose to work?

DH and that 7.1 virtual DOES sound like that.

Go straight stereo with what you have and see how much better it is.

The best sound card for directional sound is the Creative Z series with SBX pro and scout mode enabled for fps games.

Don't use it for stereo material. Make sure games/movies are configured to output 5.1 or 7.1 sound or it will sound odd. If there is no surround sound, turn it off... that's not what it's for. Dolby headphone isn't made to "upconvert" stereo to surround, it's to provide a virtual surround field when given surround input using only two speakers.

Don't use it for stereo material. Make sure games/movies are configured to output 5.1 or 7.1 sound or it will sound odd. If there is no surround sound, turn it off... that's not what it's for. Dolby headphone isn't made to "upconvert" stereo to surround, it's to provide a virtual surround field when given surround input using only two speakers.

Bingo. Lots of people screw this up.