FreeNAS vs drobo vs other linux solution options? advice needed..

markm75

Gawd
I'm just beginning to look into some alternative solutions to buying more expensive dedicated NAS hardware like the Drobo 5N, to go along with 3, 4TB Seagate 5900 rpm sata III drives which in a traditional raid 5 or beyondraid config give me around 8TB of usable space for Windows mappings..

So I ran across info suggesting FreeNas as one option, or perhaps Linux based options.. i'm primarily a windows person, so this area is very foreign to me, though I've heard good things about FreeNas and ZFS file systems.
I came to realize though, that with ZFS there is no expansion option for adding another drive and increasing the size, like with Drobo or other solutions (are there any in linux in general)?

So hardware wise for this, this is what i've come up with so far.. i'm assuming a dual core 1.6 is better than 1.0 in most cases, in raid 6 especially..

8 ports on motherboard FM2 AMD A85X Hudson D4
With
AMD A4-5300 Trinity 3.4ghz socket FM2
For combined around $140

Now ram.. 8GB of Gskill for $52

Originally I considered a 1.0ghz or 1.6ghz combo board from newegg.. but i'd have to add a sata card to one of them eventually, bringing the cost closer to the above.
(amd e-350 1.6ghz)

I'll probably put all this in the rack size case i have handy, a supermicro sc825tq-560lp, which granted is only sata II, but shouldnt matter for gigabit ethernet and using sata III drives.

So all that said..

With freenas, no way to expand the array? What would the ZFS single parity equivalent to raid 5 be here? Does the freenas have a gui for managing remotely and sending alerts on failures?

If growth is desired, should I consider any random flavor of linux with the multi-disk manager Mdadm and mdadm gui instead? Or some other option? (FlexRaid?)