Building a PC for gaming.

Innomine

n00b
Right, so I'm planning on building my own PC for gaming. I have never done this before, so I'm after a bit of help, just to make sure that I haven't screwed any of this up.

Basically, overall I have around $1800~ to spend all up. So far my build prices out to around $1750~, with everything included. My basic goal is to be able to run all games at max settings. To make this a realistic goal in my price range, I'm going for 1080p, not 1440p.

I've seen a few other threads around here on the same subject, but everyone has their own needs, so I'm making one of my own. Here is my list of parts. I'm going to be buying this from the website www.pccasegear.com, so all the links go there.

Let's start with stuff I know nothing about:

Corsair Carbide 300R Compact Gaming Case $109

Ok, so I did quite a bit of research into the case. According to some reviews I looked at it's very good in terms of both fitting everything in there, keeping everything relatively cool, and not being noisy as hell. I also like the idea of having something small and not flashy that doesn't have 10 LEDs glowing blue all over the place. I like it's relatively simplicity, and that fact that it doesn't look like all that much. It seems quite subtle. So basically, am I missing something? Is there a reason I shouldn't get it?

Corsair TX-650M Modular Power Supply $129

I have no idea whatsoever about this. I think I just stole someone elses suggestion from another thread. Comments?

ASUS P8Z77-V LK Motherboard $165.

Same as above. I honestly know less than nothing about motherboards. Does this support all of the other things I'm buying? Should I be buying something better? I honestly don't understand what they do, apart from the fact that they're the thing you plug stuff into. All I know is that it's compatible with my CPU, my case says something about ATX, and so does this.

CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler $36