Assault Rifle Made With a 3-D Printer

Bet it'll be made illegal shortly. I fully expect Haveblue to have some men in black SUVs or his local Sheriff's office to pay him a visit real soon.

So ABS plastic is strong enough for containing the explosion of a .223? Barrel? It's impressive. Never would have thought it would be possible.

He made the lower receiver which was unserialized, ATF will be on him for that alone, never mind licensing, or tax.

Just the lower, which according to the ATF, is all that matters, rest was factory.

I'm not a gun expert, but what I'm reading is that he can only make some minor parts of the gun with the 3D printing. Would hate to see 3D printing make whole pistols/rifles, and see the plans shared like mp3s..but I'm thinking there may actually be no way to stop this. All depends on if the 3D printers can make all the parts, and my understanding is that you still need significant metal parts that 3D printers won't be able to make any time soon.

All he made was the lower... not the upper, not the barrel, nor the stock.
Could see the stock being made this way. But not much more with the currently available compounds available for 3D printers. The finished products can be pretty tough (depends on design). We have a couple here at work - WHEN they work right they are great for prototyping stuff. I could see a .22 weapon from some of the denser materials, with a good design that has no open spaces - 3D printers tend to have things rendered to them so that there are hollow spaces in the bits you don't see. You can over-ride this tho. Just takes longer to "print"

What a deceptive headline (from the original article, not really blaming [H]).

He made a working 22 LR handgun. Not that hard, since it's one of the weakest ammunition types.