Howto: Openindiana Growing / Resizing / Expanding a ZFS Root Pool in ESX / Hard Drive

ozra

n00b
If your Boot Disk on Openindiana is running out of space (napp it will send alerts etc) You can resize it in the following way:

Hope this makes sense as I cannot upload all my screenshots. IM me if you want a PDF.

I had a problem with my Openindiana Boot disk. I allocated 12G when I built it but napp-it generate alerts due to only 8% space free on it once OpenIndiana Text was installed.
This blocked my immediate disk failure emails (testing) due to their being a constant alert flagged by Napp-it on the 24hr cycle.

Being a noob, I had to dumb down the info I found so that I can use it.
Most info here: http://www.distrans.org/wiki/unixsystems/opensolaris/growing_root_pool

I am not responsible for any data loss you may incur due to this guide. It works for me.

Download Openindiana GUI/Workstation version Live CD and copy it to your vmfs store. Do the same for a Gparted Live CD.
You will be booting off these CD’s as you cannot edit your partitions if you boot off the VM as the partitions you want to change are in use!

1. Shut down your Openindiana VM or Machine.

2. Take a snapshot of your VM.
For Expanding to a bigger physical HD, Use Clonezilla to Image. Do not expand the partitions in Clonezilla. Remove old HD. Boot of new bigger HD and check to make sure everything is OK.
If you are EXPANDING the size on the current HD, definitely make an Image backup first.

3. Edit the VM Hard Drive settings. INCREASE the size of the VM Disk. For EXPANDING a physical disk, clear space (GPARTED Live CD – fdisk) directly AFTER the Solaris partition.

4. Boot from GParted CDROM. Choose Option 2, Enter command line prompt.

5. At the prompt, fdisk /dev/sda (pick your correct disk)

6. Press p to print the current partition table.

7. Make a note of the Start and End of the Solaris partition in case you have to restore it with Gparted fdisk.