ESXi 5 with an IBM m1015

MattGG

n00b
Setup:
cpu: core i7 2600
mobo: ASRock Extreme4 Gen3
ram: 16gb ddr3
hdd: 6x 2tb seagate green (already has zfs courtesy of FreeNAS)
raid card: IBM m1015

So I recently purchased an m1015 from ebay as recommended to me and since it has arrived I have hit a wall trying to get ESXi 5 to install. Before I had this card I had no problems installing. It hangs up on "Loading module megaraid_sas ...".

I just tried to install ESXi 4.1 update 2 (IBM customization, just to see what happens) and it hangs in the exact same spot. I'm new to virtualization but anyone have any advise?

Try installing with the hba pulled out. I assume you will pass it thru to freenas using vt-d? If so, you will need another drive (on mobo sata port?) for esxi local datastore (e.g. this is an all in one?) if not, it's not clear to me how the existing zfs data pool will be useful in any way, since esxi won't grok it.

I wonder if someone had previously tried to flash that card and gave up when they couldn't finish. That sounds very similar to the problems I had when I was having trouble flashing the firmware/ROM back on after I cleared it off.

I since got it working by buying a different motherboard that let me flash the card properly, and then it worked in the original system again.

I would start by updating to the latest firmware, I had a similar problem and that was the fix.

Thanks for all the replies. I had already flashed it to latest firmware. Though, I was able to pull out the m1015 and install ESXi 5 then put back the hba. I was even able to mark it as passthrough and installed FreeNAS as a virtual OS. I then edited the settings for it in vSphere and passed it as a PCI device. However, after all that, FreeNAS sees no disks.

I did notice that the raid card, while booting up, shows 5 JBOD and 1 unconfigured bad drives. It should be 6 JBOD. Is the raid card configuration blocking my virtual FreeNAS from seeing the disks?