GameStop Sued By Employee Over Security Checks

HardOCP News

[H] News
I guess if you are going to check employees for stolen items, the least you can do is make sure they are on the clock when you frisk them. :D

Considering that so much of the retail theft that occurs each year is a result of sticky-fingered employees, some stores like GameStop have apparently instituted policies that require staffers to be checked for pilfered product when they go to take a break during the workday. But one employee at the video game chain says these breaks cut into the amount of time allotted for mandatory lunch and rest breaks — and he's suing to get paid for that time.

Mandatory rest breaks?

This guy works at GameStop, not a lumber mill. We have breaks at our office, but it is not required under Texas law for indoor "light activity" jobs, only a lunch break is.

And back when I worked in retail, I was friends with the loss prevention guy and he told me point blank that he has very little concern over customers and is there really just to make sure employee's aren't stealing the store blind as they are the ones that have easy access to high dollar items which on the floor have passive protection.

Mandatory rest breaks?

This guy works at GameStop, not a lumber mill. We have breaks at our office, but it is not required under Texas law for indoor "light activity" jobs, only a lunch break is.

And back when I worked in retail, I was friends with the loss prevention guy and he told me point blank that he has very little concern over customers and is there really just to make sure employee's aren't stealing the store blind as they are the ones that have easy access to high dollar items which on the floor have passive protection.

I've worked in all WA, OR, and CA and all three states require a 10 min break if you work at least 4 hours, mandatory 30 min if you work at least 5.5 hours, and two 10s and a 30 if you work at least 8 hours.