Does my 2500k really suck this bad?

Viper87227

Fully [H]
I just put this system together two weeks ago. It's the first system in my signature (except for the ram, which is currently a 1.6v Gskill Pi 1600mhz 4GB kit). Right now, 4Ghz is not stable ast 1.375v. I can prime for about a half hour before I get a hard reset. Temps max at 66/67/71/68, so a little warm, but I don't think unreasonable? I was told the threshold to stay under was 75C. I'm new to Intel, anyone care to take a look at my BIOS settings and see if something should be set differently?

jsbnn7.png

Need to get those temps under control. I'm sure you have other setting issues. I'm using the stock overclocking tool in the BIOS on my ASROCK, and can run 4.8 but prefer 4.6 for maximum stability. I don't break 70C at 1.40v - the default voltage my motherboard chooses.

I would also set your RAM to run at default everything, to rule that out, get your CPU stable and cool, then overclock.

Those temps are fine, but that is really too much voltage for that overclock. Try resetting the Optimal defaults, then while leaving everything on Auto, change the Turbo multipliers to 40 and see what happens. With overclocks under 4.5 or so, you should be able to get a stable system using Auto voltages - the voltage will be higher (normally) than you'd need manually, but it should be able to give you a good starting point to go from.

Edit: Try running the RAM at 1333 also, just to eliminate that as a possibility.

Those temps are fine, but that is really too much voltage for that overclock. Try resetting the Optimal defaults, then while leaving everything on Auto, change the Turbo multipliers to 40 and see what happens. With overclocks under 4.5 or so, you should be able to get a stable system using Auto voltages - the voltage will be higher (normally) than you'd need manually, but it should be able to give you a good starting point to go from.