Mini Worklog - Making the switch, P160 --> ATCS 840

patriot71

Gawd
I hope you enjoy my mini worklog. Unfortunately I'm not a pro, and it will show! Also, if anyone has any tips for removing spray paint from a driveway, please forward them my way. The wife is pissed!

My Antec P160 was a great case, but it has seen better days. Since I am no longer water cooling, I didn't have a need for the case in its current setup and I was really missing hard drive bays.

I was finally able to make a decision between the 800D and the ATCS 840. I chose the ATCS 840 because I really liked its look. The only cons of this case are that the interior is not black and there is no case window. The solution? Do it myself!

I was able to paint the interior of the case over the weekend and move into the case. I haven't had an opportunity to make the window, but that will be done within the next month or so. I need to scrounge my town for some acrylic. I am really hoping I will not need to order it online.

I would like to apologize in advance for the quality of some of the pictures. I only had my iphone camera availabe at times.

On to the pics!

Here is my P160 back when the water cooling was installed.
photo.jpg

My old X2 4200+ and Nvidia 7900GT treated me well, but when it was time to upgrade my water cooling system was not going to cut it. I didn't want to spend a fortune on upgrading water blocks, so I switched to air once I built the rig in my sig.
DSC01691.jpg

DSC01692.jpg

DSC01715.jpg

Once the 800D came out, I started jonesing for a new case. I really liked the 800D but I was not satisfied with its stock air cooling reviews. The $300 price tag also killed it for me. After much dilemma and reading, I decided on the Coolermaster ATCS 840 and I am not disappointed.

Delivery!
FrozenPC.com actually had to frankenstein two boxes together to ship this to me. Notice the directional arrows on the box.
IMG_0127.jpg

IMG_0130.jpg