MSI P55 GD65 only registers 4gb of ram

recursive

Weaksauce
This is my first build in a long time and my new i5 750 build with MSI P55 GD65 won't register my last 2gb of ram. I'm using Kingston HyperX 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 ram and it only registers 4gb.

I have no idea what's going on. Does anyone know what am I doing wrong?

Er....you're using triple channel memory on a dual channel board?

I don't know if that's bad or not...

By registering, where are you looking this up? The BIOS, Windows, CPU-Z?

I agree with Wazooty, why are you using three dimms on a dual channel motherboard? :confused:

I've heard of some of the Asus boards having the same problem. My board is displaying 8gigs fine though... Hopefully Asus and MSI release a BIOS update to fix this.

So I'm using 64-bit Windows 7, and windows performance/information screen says I have 8gb(3.99 usable), CPU-Z also recognizes 8gb. What does "3.99gb usable" mean? For what its worth, task manager also stats 4gb total.

Make sure memory remapping is enabled in the motherboard BIOS if you haven't already.

Assuming you're all having the same problem, if you open the resource monitor via the performance tab of the task manager, it should show the missing memory as "hardware reserved" under the memory tab.

This is because of the memory remapping as Dan pointed out. However, i cant seem to find a corresponding bios setting on my Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5. Can anyone point me in the direction of the relevant setting on the gigabyte x58 boards, because it'd be nice to get at least some of that 4gb of memory its holding back.

Assuming you're all having the same problem, if you open the resource monitor via the performance tab of the task manager, it should show the missing memory as "hardware reserved" under the memory tab.