Arkangyls Great Big Audio Post

Arkangyl

Gawd
Intro
For those of you new to this thread: Hello! I'm Arkangyl, I'm a Computer Engineer (which means I know Electrical Engineering too) and I've done quite a bit of reading & research into computer audio. This thread is meant to be an introduction into computer audio for all.

For those of you following update: I've tweaked the format to make it more readable, I hope I didn't cut out too much of my original sass & literary prose in process :-P

Part I: Sound & Speaker Basics
A basic primer in how audio works is probably the best place to start this whole thing since without a good basis of understanding it will be hard to explain the higher level concepts. First, we'll do this with bullets:
- Sound is air moving at a given frequency (general range: 0 to 25,000+ Hz).
- You process sound by your brain interperting how your eardrum vibrates.
- Loudspeakers (what we call speakers, same thing) make sound by using magnets to move some material (aluminum, paper, synthetic) which in turn moves the air thus creating a 'sound'

Now to break things down further, there are three basic types of loudspeakers: sub-woofers, woofers / drivers, and tweeters.
Tweeters are responsible for frequencies ranging from [typically] 2 kHz to 20 kHz(good tweeters will hit 24 kHz, the uber ones can break into the 30 kHz range). They are generally 1/4" to 1" in size and come in quite a few different variants, wikipedia (tweeters) covers the different types pretty well. All tweeters have the same general design and goal though: to move very, very quickly to create the 'high' notes typically this is done with a cone (1/4 to 3/4" woofer optimized for high frequencies) or a dome ('dome' of material over the magnet).