Proper Way to update ATI drivers

Nirad9er

2[H]4U
What is the proper way to update the ATI drivers? This is my first time back to ATI in a long time and wasn't sure the best method. Do I only uninstall the driver portion through the uninstall manager and then install the new driver? or do I just uninstall the entire Catalyst suite then clean the old stuff out, then install the new Catalyst suite.

Thanks

This has been discussed a lot lately just search the threads. Some say that you should uninstall drivers, reboot, DCP, reboot,install new drivers, reboot.

Some say do the same, but you don't have to use Driver Cleaner Pro.

Some just install over the top ( i don't)

I always used DCP in the process but now that I use ati cards and ati tells us to just uninstall with their software, reboot, and just install the new drivers thats what I do. I guess if I had problems doing it that way I would then uninstall using DCP after using the ati software.

Just my opinion. Search the forum for other answers

My Process:

Uninstall from manager
Reboot
Install
Reboot
Set Fan speed in overdrive
Get on with life

You'll want to read the Tweakguides entries for removal of old drivers. Removal of old ATi drivers (and proper installation of new ones) can be found here, while removal of nVidia drivers (which is what I assume you need to do) can be found here. He does explain how to do it manually as well as point you towards programs that will do it automatically.

It's very important to make sure old drivers are completely removed when switching between nVidia and ATi. Windows XP is not good about removing the old drivers; I don't know if they improved that in Vista.

My Process:

Uninstall from manager
Reboot
Install
Reboot
Set Fan speed in overdrive
Get on with life

Must be nice not to be obsessive-compulsive. :D I uninstall the driver and CCC, reboot to safe mode, use DriverSweeper AND DriverCleaner Pro, reboot and install the new drivers and CCC.