4870XF vs GTX 280 - My own hands on experience

Sheganks

n00b
Some might remember a writeup I posted 12 days ago which detailed my AoC specific experience with a GTX 280, being one of the first consumers in the world (I live in Hong Kong) enjoying the new Nvidia release.

My GTX 280 AoC Specific Review:
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1315672

So why have I wound up with a pair of ATi 4870 in Crossfire? No I’m not a child with rich parents, nor am I a bum blowing off taxpayers’ dollar on my own indulgence. I’m a derivatives trader who knows I still have the choice to flog the GTX 280 before the ATi becomes widely available, I’m literally still “in the money” and the fact that these cards coming out so much earlier in Hong Kong to the rest of the world gives me a huge pricing advantage.

This is a somewhat longwinded post, please bear with me as I’d like to fill you in with the information that NO HARDWARE WEBSITES OUT THERE BOTHER TO POST ANYMORE. Not sure about you, but most of my friends spend hard-earned money on parts not just for numbers and benchmarks, we want a trouble-free and quality PC experience.

Here’s my system spec that matters, so you can draw your bearings on my opinions:
  • Gigabyte X48 DQ6
  • Intel Q8400@4GHz (500FSB X 8)
  • 4G DDR2 Ram@ 1GHz (5-5-5-18)
  • Mtron SSD 16GBX2 Raid0 on Intel ICH9R (no bandwidth bottleneck as reported on the web with the latest Intel Chipset driver, people just don’t post followups to tell you when things are fixed)
  • Raptor 150GBX2 Raid0 on Intel ICH9R
  • Corsair HX620 Power Supply
  • Vista 32bit SP1
  • I play all games at my Eizo S2401W’s native 1900 X 1200
  • 177.40 driver for GTX 280 tests; 8.7 beta Catalyst driver (i.e., the Hotfix) for 4870 XF tests
I’ve been actively using the GTX 280 over the last 2 weeks before coming to a decision. Here’s a list of thoughts that irks me about this USD700 extravaganza: