[H]ard|Forum  

Go Back   [H]ard|Forum > [H]ard|Ware > Intel Processors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-06-2012, 05:23 PM
slee8251 n00bie, 1.1 Years
 
Status: slee8251 is offline  
how are there ivy bridges on ebay?

i was browsing through ebay and saw ivy bridges ie
Intel Ivy Bridge Core i5 3550

i'm guessing these are either fake or engineering samples...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2012, 05:27 PM
Tsumi [H]ardness Supreme, 3.2 Years
 
Status: Tsumi is offline  
It's ebay. Frauds are to be expected.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.3 ghz | 4x2gb Corsair Dominator 2133 Mhz 9-10-9-24 | MSI X79A-GD65 | 2x EVGA GTX 580 SLI | 240gb Kingston HyperX SSD | 240gb Corsair Force 3 SSD | 320gb Maxtor | 2tb Western Digital Green | Seasonic M12D 750 watt | Azza Genesis 9000 | Lamptron FC Touch

Custom watercooling
XSPC Rasa | DangerDen Fullcover 580 | MCP655 | XSPC D5 Tank Res-top | HWLabs GTX 480 | 4x Aerocool Shark Blue 120mm fans | 4x Scythe Gentle Typhoon 2150 RPM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2012, 05:32 PM
slee8251 n00bie, 1.1 Years
 
Status: slee8251 is offline  
one of the seller is a top rated seller and a buyer left a positive feedback for an "ivy bridge he bought"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2012, 06:25 PM
DejaWiz [H]ardForum Junkie, 8.1 Years
 
Status: DejaWiz is online now  
^ It's not hard for sellers to pad their rating and have positive feedback left. Criminal groups have been doing this since eBay started.
__________________
* i7-3770K
* Asus Maximus V Gene
* Xigmatek Loki + Nano Diamond
* 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 1.35V
* 128GB Samsung 830 + 1TB Hitachi 7K1000.D
* MSI GTX 570 TwinFrozr II
* Asus VW246H
* Rosewill Line-M
* Seasonic X-750
* Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2012, 01:26 AM
youghmama [H]Lite, 1.2 Years
 
Status: youghmama is offline  
Quote:
Originally Posted by DejaWiz View Post
^ It's not hard for sellers to pad their rating and have positive feedback left. Criminal groups have been doing this since eBay started.
They are called "shills" in a bidding war. They are people associated to the seller, or maybe even the seller himself using an AKA, and when they bid they try to stop before the real buyer loses interest. If they win, it just means that the seller keeps the item, gets a glowing reference, and has to try to resell the same item under another alias.

Ebay does everything it can, to hush this practice up (you wonder why "anonymity" is so important and you can only see back so many transactions to look for a pattern?), this is why. I left ebay and only buy local.

The only way to avoid shills is to snipe. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2012, 01:50 AM
vict0r Gawd, 7.9 Years
 
Status: vict0r is offline  
this one is an ES chip

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-Ivy-Br...item3cc4b4b33d
__________________
Asus Rampage Formula x48
Intel C2D E8400
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC6400
EVGA Geforce 9600GT
WD 700GB HDD
LG DVD Burner
Thermaltake Toughpower 700Watt PSU
in a noname made in China $20 case
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2012, 01:53 AM
PaperclipGod Limp Gawd, 1.4 Years
 
Status: PaperclipGod is offline  
Quote:
Originally Posted by vict0r View Post
how do you know?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2012, 02:11 AM
vict0r Gawd, 7.9 Years
 
Status: vict0r is offline  
I didnt put the question mark ...

I don't know, im just wondering just like all of u
__________________
Asus Rampage Formula x48
Intel C2D E8400
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC6400
EVGA Geforce 9600GT
WD 700GB HDD
LG DVD Burner
Thermaltake Toughpower 700Watt PSU
in a noname made in China $20 case
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2012, 07:13 AM
Tisca Limp Gawd, 2.7 Years
 
Status: Tisca is offline  
Hasn't there been IBs for sale in China for a while now?
http://www.obr-hardware.com/2012/03/...-for-sale.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2012, 01:59 AM
Tsaar [H]Lite, 3.4 Years
 
Status: Tsaar is offline  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tisca View Post
Hasn't there been IBs for sale in China for a while now?
http://www.obr-hardware.com/2012/03/...-for-sale.html
Some guy on the Anandtech forms said he was getting his retail box in from Honk Kong on Tuesday.

We'll see. He said he was going to do a write-up.

If the results aren't impressive just gonna pick up a 2500k combo from MC and be done with it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:53 AM
AnonymousUser Banned, 1.3 Years
 
Status: AnonymousUser is offline  
So does this mean Ivy CPU's can be expected to release in the next couple months?
Six core by any chance?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:59 AM
SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme, 4.7 Years
 
Status: SonDa5 is offline  
IB has been released in other parts of the world.
__________________
28nm GPU Pricing has broken my E P E E N.
Gaming RIG
MB MSI Z77 MPower
Water Cooled De-Lidded and fixed NO IHS I7-3770k with DT SNIPER BLOCK
Water Cooled Sapphire HD7950 950mhz OC Edition with HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl
1x420mm Alphacool UT-60 Radiator
Powered by Seasonic Platinum 860
RAVEN RV02 CASE
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2012, 08:23 AM
Tisca Limp Gawd, 2.7 Years
 
Status: Tisca is offline  
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonymousUser View Post
So does this mean Ivy CPU's can be expected to release in the next couple months?
Six core by any chance?
IB end of April, date has been set already.
6 core IB in 2013 (LGA 2011). 8 core consumer class IB (non Xeon) could be a possibility if they can keep the wattage low enough but as long as there is no competition they have no reason to release such goodies.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:55 PM
kpxgq Limp Gawd, 8.4 Years
 
Status: kpxgq is offline  
fake or engineering sample i bet
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-14-2012, 09:00 AM
blackacidevil Limp Gawd, 8.6 Years
 
Status: blackacidevil is offline  
Most likely an ES. The seller is legit...it's the same guy I bought my E8700 from actually.
__________________
:: Asus P5E w/ RF 0803 BIOS :: Core2Duo E8700 @ 4.2Ghz (10.5x400) :: Radeon HD6950 2GB:: 4GB Mushkin Redline DDR2 :: WD VelociRaptor 300GB (OS & games) ::
:: 400GB Seagate (data) :: X-Fi Extreme Audio PCIEx1 :: Lian-li PC-A71F :: Antec TPQ-850W :: LG SuperMulti DVDRW :: liquid cooling by Swiftech ::
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:40 PM
prtzlboy [H]ard|Gawd, 8.8 Years
 
Status: prtzlboy is offline  
Quote:
Originally Posted by youghmama View Post
They are called "shills" in a bidding war. They are people associated to the seller, or maybe even the seller himself using an AKA, and when they bid they try to stop before the real buyer loses interest. If they win, it just means that the seller keeps the item, gets a glowing reference, and has to try to resell the same item under another alias.

Ebay does everything it can, to hush this practice up (you wonder why "anonymity" is so important and you can only see back so many transactions to look for a pattern?), this is why. I left ebay and only buy local.

The only way to avoid shills is to snipe. Good luck.
Yep. eBay is just scammer central now. Too bad, really.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-14-2012, 08:07 PM
SixFootDuo 2[H]4U, 8.6 Years
 
Status: SixFootDuo is offline  
Large retailers could already have shipment of the new IB. Some people think the sky is falling when someone breaks the rules and drags someone that's been sheltered most of their life outside their closed off perfect world and they see something like this on eBay.

Wouldn't be the first time someone got a retail product before others and then sold it.

A handful of people on Xtreme forums already have retail boxed IB processors and everyone is saying the same thing, that they run hot. And if you know the community and the people in question, they are pretty respected people and their testing matches what others are saying across the web. And no, these are not ES IB cpu's.

It's also no mistake that everyone including Corsair has put their water coolers on sale. Corsair knows that any savvy pc enthusiast will have seen these early and what appears to be accurate reports of the new IB processors running hot while OC'd and lowered their prices to capitalize on this fact. So, don't get too excited just yet. Everyone is saying hang on to your SB cpu, and, for good reason.
__________________
3930K @ 4.8Ghz ~ ASUS P9X79 Workstation ~ H100 Corsair
Crucial M4 256GB ~ 32GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 9.9.9.24
X-Fire HD 7970s @ 1100 / 1550 ~ Asus 27" LED Eyefinity
Lian-Li x1000, Corsair AX850 PSU, LG 42LD450 LCD.

Last edited by SixFootDuo; 04-14-2012 at 08:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by Vbulletin - Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2000 - 2012 KB Networks, Inc.