Backing Up Linux Server

/usr/home

Supreme [H]ardness
So I have a little experience with Linux, but not like I do with Windows. I'm playing around with CentOS here and I'm wondering how can I back the server up so that it's easy to restore? Restoring a Windows server from a backup is simple. Say my hard drive in my linux server completely fails. Can I recover that Linux server easy and without a bunch of commands in CLI or redoing the partitions or anything?

Oh yeah, and that's free :p.

I wouldn't say it's as easy to setup the backups as it is on windows ( I use bash, tar, bzip and NASes ), but I would say that recovery is faster ( I can have a linux server back up and running in under an hour, data set notwithstanding ).

What I have done is write bash scripts to grab the interesting data, bundle it up and ship it off to my NAS device.

I don't really see a problem with the way Windows or linux does it. I can say that I have a higher degree of confidence in my linux backup solution than I do in the windows one, if for no other reason than it's far simpler.

Well you could use dd to make a complete disk image, or a complete partition image if you prefer, but this takes awhile and requires a lot of disk space.

Alternatively, I chose to write a script that uses rsync to incrementally backup my entire filesystem to a separate disk (or network location). Then I run the script in a daily cron job. I can post the script if you'd like to see if it's something you could get working. To restore I would partition my new disk, and rsync (copy) everything back to the new disk, then reinstall the grub bootloader.

I haven't tried some of the various GUI-based backup tools like Deja Dup, etc.

I wouldn't say it's as easy to setup the backups as it is on windows ( I use bash, tar, bzip and NASes ), but I would say that recovery is faster ( I can have a linux server back up and running in under an hour, data set notwithstanding ).